Abbey and the Mayor

From WikiCarpedia
Jump to: navigation, search
This page contains changes which are not marked for translation.


Abbey And Mayor C2 Box Cover.jpg

General info and comments

Expansion symbol

Abbey & Mayor was originally released for the New Edition by Hans im Glück in 2016. The 1st Edition (Major Expansion #5) was originally released by in 2007.

This expansions introduces new tiles including the special abbey tiles, that allow to close gaps in the game board. It also introduces new figures with special characteristics:

  • Mayors, a meeple that can only be placed in cities and has variable strength
  • Wagons, a meeple that can move to another feature after scoring
  • Barns, a figure that triggers field scoring

Contents

  • 12 new and tiles
  • 6 abbey tiles
Abbey tile
  • 6 mayors
Mayors C2.png
  • 6 wagons
Wagons C2.png
  • 6 barns
Barns C2.png

New land tiles

The new Land tiles are played like those in the base game.

Let us explain a few of the new tiles you will find in this expansion:

Abbey And Mayor C2 Feature Tile 01.png

There are two separate cities on this tile. The city with the coat of arms ends after the bridge in the lower field. This is important for field scoring.

Abbey And Mayor C2 Feature Tile 02.png

There are two separate cities on this tile.

Abbey And Mayor C2 Feature Tile 03.png

The road on this tile is unbroken. The top part of the road separates two fields, the lower part does not. This is important for field scoring. [1]

Abbey And Mayor C2 Feature Tile 04.png

This road ends in the field.

Abbey And Mayor C2 Feature Tile 05A 05B.png

The road on each of these tiles touches the city, creating 3 separate fields.

Abbey And Mayor C2 Feature Tile 06.png

The road does not end on this tile. Instead, it branches into 3 directions. [2]

Rules

Preparation

Each player receives 1 Abbey tile. If you are playing with fewer than 6 players, return the remaining Abbey tiles to the box. Shuffle the new Land tiles with those from the base game (and any other expansions you wish to use). Place them in multiple stacks, as usual. Then give each player the following 3 figures in their color: 1 mayor, 1 wagon, and 1 barn. Each player adds these figures to their regular supply of meeples. [3]

Abbey

float


1. Placing a tile

If you wish to place an abbey, do not draw a Land tile at the beginning of your turn. Instead of drawing and placing a Land tile, place your Abbey tile. An abbey may only be placed in an empty space surrounded on its 4 orthogonally adjacent sides. In other words, the abbey may only be used to fill a hole. What is depicted on the 4 adjacent tiles (fields, roads, cities) does not matter; the abbey always fits. If no such hole exists, you may not place your abbey.

Example 1: Since 4 tiles are already adjacent to that empty space, you may place your Abbey tile there.

If one or more players have not placed their abbey when the last landscape tile is drawn and placed, they may still do so, in clockwise order starting from the left of the person who placed the last tile, as long as it is in accordance with the rules. The game is then over. [4] [5]


2. Placing a meeple

The abbey behaves like a monastery. You may choose to place a meeple as a monk onto your abbey. [6]


3. Scoring a feature

The abbey completes the side of each tile directly adjacent to it. Once you have placed your abbey (and chosen whether or not to place a monk there), score any features completed by its placement. [7]

Example 2: You place a meeple as a monk. The road with the blue meeple is complete. Blue scores 3 points.

The rules for scoring an abbey are identical to those for scoring a monastery.


Mayor

float


2. Placing a mayor

You may place your mayor instead of placing a meeple. [8] A mayor may only be placed in a city containing no knights [9] [10] or mayors. All other rules that apply to meeples also apply to mayors.


3. Scoring a feature

The strength of your mayor is equal to the number of coats of arms in the city it occupies. If two or more players have meeples in the same city, it is scored as follows:

  • Each normal meeple has 1 strength. [11]
  • Each large meeple [12] has 2 strength.
  • Each mayor has strength equal to the number of coats of arms in the city. If there are no coats of arms, the mayor has 0 strength.

When scoring a city, each player adds the strength of their meeples in the city. The player with the highest strength scores the points for that city. In case of a tie, all tied players score full points.

The value of a city is not affected by a mayor.

When a city is completed, mayors in that city are returned to their respective supplies.

Your mayor has 3 strength (3 coats of arms). The 2 blue meeples add up to 2 strength. You alone score 20 points.

If a city containing only mayors is completed, but with no coats of arms, each mayor has 0 strength and scores no points for the city.


Barn

float


2. Placing a barn

You may place a barn instead of placing a meeple. [13] If you place a tile that creates a junction where 4 tiles connect to create an open field, you may place your barn directly on that junction. In other words, the corner of each tile forming this junction must only depict a field in order for a barn to be placed there.

You may place your barn on a field already occupied by farmers. You may not, however, place your barn on a field already occupied by another barn. [14] Once placed, a barn remains in play until the end of the game. [15]

Example 1 - The corner of each tile is a field: you may place a barn here.
Example 2 - The corners of both bottom tiles have city segments: you may not place a barn here.


3. Scoring a feature

FARMER SCORING AFTER BARN PLACEMENT
If there are farmers in the field where you place your barn, that field is scored immediately, [16] just as it would be at the end of the game. Therefore, the player with the most farmers in that field scores 3 points per completed city in the field. It does not matter which player placed the barn that initiated this scoring.

Then, all farmers occupying that field are returned to their respective supplies.

Example 3: You place a barn. Blue scores 6 points for the 2 completed cities in the same field and returns her farmer to her supply.

FARMER SCORING BY FIELD CONNECTION
A field occupied by a barn may NOT be occupied by farmers. If you place a tile that connects a field occupied by one or more farmers to a field occupied by a barn, the connected field is scored during the scoring phase of that turn (after 2. Placing a meeple). The player with the most farmers in that field scores only 1 point per completed city.

Then, all farmers occupying that field are returned to their respective supplies.

Example 4: The tile placed this turn connects both meeples to the barn’s field. You and Blue each score 2 points for the 2 completed cities in that field and return the farmers to your supplies.

BARN SCORING AT GAME END
At the end of the game, you score 4 points per comple ed city in the field your barn occupies. If multiple barns occupy the s me field, all concerned players score full points.


Wagon

float


2. Placing a wagon

You may place your wagon instead of placing a meeple. [17] A wagon may be placed most places a meeple may normally be placed (road, city, monastery, abbey), but it may not be placed in a field.


3. Scoring a feature

When scoring a feature (road, city, monastery) a wagon occupies, the wagon is treated like a normal meeple.

After scoring, you may return the wagon to your supply, or you may move it to a directly adjacent unoccupied, incomplete feature (road, city, monastery, etc.). Adjacent, in this case, means that the feature is on the same tile or a tile orthogonally or diagonally adjacent to the tile the wagon is moving from. [18] If there are no such features for your wagon to move to, it must be returned to your supply.

If several wagons are involved in a scoring phase, each concerned player chooses whether to return or move their wagon in clockwise order starting with the active player.

Example 1: You score 3 points for the road. Then you may move your wagon to the monastery on the right or the city below.
Example 2: You score 6 points for the completed city and may move your wagon to the monastery above or the road below. You may not move your wagon to the completed road above or to the city (occupied by Blue) on the left.

Question: Can you deploy a wagon to a city, score it, and then move the wagon to another feature, all in one turn? Or can you only move the wagon instead of deploying a normal meeple?

Answer: The wagon can be deployed instead of a normal meeple. If the city is immediately completed, then it’s scored (wagon or "normal" meeple). After scoring, the wagon can be moved. All of that is possible in a single turn. [Wagon movement is not in place of deployment.]


Other expansions

This section contains additional information about the interactions with other Carcassonne expansions.

Abbey

Question: If cities with trade goods are completed by placement of an abbey tile, are the goods tokens awarded as usual to the player placing the abbey tile?

Answer: Yes, as the player completed the city.

  • Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders: If a player completes a feature with an abbey tile and his or her builder is on the feature, the feature does not get “extended” by the abbey (as the abbey is a separate feature), so the player does not get another tile (i.e. no double turn).
  • Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber:
    • The rules that restrict the placement of monasteries next to already placed shrines (and vice versa) also restrict the placement of abbeys.
    • A shrine can challenge an abbey, and vice versa, because the abbey is also a monastery.

Barn

  • Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders:
    • If you have the most farmers in a field where a barn is placed, you score 1 additional point per completed city (4 points total) if your pig is in that field. Furthermore, if you have the most farmers in a field that becomes connected to a field occupied by a barn, you score 1 additional point per completed city (2 points total) if your pig is in that field.
    • You can place your pig on a tile that connects your farmer to the barn. After scoring your pig, return it to your supply.

Question: May the pig be placed on a farm that was just connected to a farm with a barn, i.e. on the newly placed tile (immediately before scoring)?

Answer: Yes, the pig may be placed in already occupied features [and the normal "Move Wood" phase still happens].

  • If a player has an abbey left, draws the very last tile, and plays it to a feature where he or she has a builder, the abbey may be played on the second part of the double-turn.
  • Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon:
    • A barn may not be eaten by the dragon.
    • A barn may be placed on a tile with a volcano.
    • You may not place the fairy by a barn, as the barn is not a meeple.
    • A barn not be placed using a magic portal.
  • Exp. 4 - The Tower:
    • A barn may not be captured by a tower.
    • You may not place your barn on a tower.
  • Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber:
    • You can move meeples from the cathedral district to an abbey, as an abbey has all of the characteristics of a monastery.
    • The city of Carcassonne counts as a city when scoring a barn.
    • The barn cannot be placed in the city of Carcassonne.
    • If your barn placement of field connection triggers a field scoring in which you score no points, you may place a meeple in the city of Carcassonne.

Question: If I place a barn on a field on which another player has farmers, causing him/her to score while I score nothing, can I move a meeple to the city of Carcassonne?

Answer: Yes, that's allowed. Only immediately scored points matter. It doesn't matter that the barn is certain to score at the end of the game.

  • If a barn placement or field connection triggers a field scoring, you may move meeples from the market in the city of Carcassonne to that field. Score that field as normal, and return all farmers in that field to their respective supplies. (It doesn't matter that the barn is certain to score at the end of the game.)

Question: Are the meeples in the market district only used at the end of the game?

Answer: This is no longer entirely true. Placing of a barn, and the subsequent scoring of the field, does count as an opportunity to remove a meeple from the city of Carcassonne. Now that fields can be scored at times other than at the end of the game, meeples from the market can be moved to fields earlier in the game. That occurs immediately after the placement of the barn, and before the fields are scored. [Joining of a farm containing a meeple to a field with a barn would logically be another opportunity – Chris O.]

  • You can move meeple from the market district to a field with a barn (and score it) if a field scoring is triggered. (This can happen at the end of the game or with joining of a barnless field to one with a barn.)

Question: Can a meeple be moved from the city of Carcassonne to a field with a barn?

Answer: Yes, the farmer will be scored immediately, and so scores only 1 point per city and is (importantly) not on the field during the final scoring proper. [Obviously, placement of a meeple in this manner still requires a scoring trigger as per the fundamental rules – this could be at the end of the game or with joining of a barnless field to one with a barn – Chris O.]

  • The pigsty (The River II expansion) only affects field scoring for farmers. Barns do not score additional points from the pigsty.
Scoring summary


Scoring fields with a barn

SCORING DURING THE GAME

1. Scoring a field when placing a barn

If farmer majority

  • 3 points per completed city adjacent to farm
  • 4 points per castle adjacent to farm
  • (+1) point per castle or completed city with pig (then return pig to owner’s supply)
  • (+1) point per castle or completed city with pigsty tile
  • (x2) if besieged city

2. Scoring a connected field

If farmer majority

  • 1 point per completed city adjacent to farm
  • 2 points per castle adjacent to farm
  • (+1) point per castle or completed city with pig
  • (+1) point per castle or completed city with pigsty tile
  • (x2) if besieged city
SCORING AFTER THE GAME

Scoring the barn

  • 4 point per completed city adjacent to farm
  • 5 points per castle adjacent to farm
  • (x2) if besieged city


Mayor and Wagon

  • Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon:
    • Both figures may be placed using the magic portal. They may only be placed in features in which they may normally be placed.
    • Both figures may be eaten by the dragon.
    • Both figures may be seduced by a princess.
  • Exp. 4 - The Tower:
    • Both figures may be captured by the tower.
    • Both figures may not be placed on a tower.
  • Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber: Both figures may be placed in the city of Carcassonne with the following exceptions:
    • The mayor may only be placed in the castle quarter.
    • The wagon may be placed anywhere but in the market.
  • Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles and Bazaars Both figures may occupy a castle. However, the mayor (now the lord of this castle) cannot score points for that castle, as that castle does not have any coats of arms.
  • The Flier (Flying Machines)
    • The mayor can be a flier. However, the mayor can only land on an unfinished city. If an unfinished city is not available on the tile where the mayor lands, the mayor returns to the player’s supply. (2/2013)
  • The Festival The barn can be removed by a Festival tile, before the end of the game. (12/2014)
  • Besiegers - Cathars - Siege Both figures, if placed in a besieged city, can escape via a monastery or any equivalent feature, such as an abbey (although it would be quite amusing if the mayor stayed, like a captain going down with the ship.)

New tiles

  • Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber: The length of a road with the roundabout tile (e.g. for the purposes of the Robber tile) is the total number of tiles in the road, not simply the longest distance between two ends. The road has three ends which have to be closed, but the result is that it's likely to be bigger.
  • The Tunnel: The road with a tunnel does indeed count as being "broken" if one is using The Tunnel expansion, in which case the tile contains two as yet unconnected tunnel openings.

House Rules

  • The wagon can move to the next complete, or uncontested and incomplete, feature. This lets it roll across the board to uncontested features. (Thanks to viberunner)
  • The mayor cannot be captured by the tower. (Thanks to viberunner)
  • The wagon cannot be eaten by the dragon or captured by the tower. (Thanks to viberunner)
  • The mayor is laid flat in the same way as farmers so that you can tell at a glance which cities contain mayors. (Thanks to Joff)
  • The pigsty tile can score an extra point per city when there is a barn on the farm.

Tile distribution

Total tiles: 12

Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile B.jpg x1
Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile C.jpg x1
Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile D.jpg x1
Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile E.jpg x1
Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile F.jpg x1
Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile G.jpg x1
Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile H.jpg x1
Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile I.jpg x1
Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile J.jpg x1
Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile K.jpg x1
Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile L.jpg x1
Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile M.jpg x1

Total abbey tiles: 6

Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile A.jpg x6


Footnotes

For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.

  1. Icon World Black.png The road with a tunnel does indeed count as being “broken” if one is using the The Tunnel expansion from the 1st Edition. See Other expansions for more details.
  2. Icon Open Book.png All of the branches have to be completed in order to score the road scoring. See Other expansions for more details on the interaction with the Robber tile from Count, King and Robber.
  3. Icon Open Book.png Official status: The mayor and wagon are meeples, subject to the usual rules of deployment and affecting the majority. The barn is a special figure, not a meeple.
  4. Icon Double Arrow Black.png This paragraph was added in HiG’s and RGG’s Big Box 2, and actually contradicts an earlier FAQ (which stated that the abbey tiles couldn’t be placed once the last landscape tile was drawn). It is not included in the New Edition rules either.
  5. Icon Open Book.png When an abbey is played in this manner, a meeple may be deployed to the abbey as usual. If the abbey is completely surrounded and thus immediately finished, the abbey is scored as in a normal turn. Then final scoring occurs. (5/2013)
  6. Icon Open Book.png When an abbey tile is placed, a meeple cannot be deployed next to the abbey (as a knight, for example), as the abbey covers the whole tile. The surroundings are not a city. Thus, a meeple on this tile is a monk.
  7. Icon World Black.png Abbeys can close cities and roads but they are not part of the feature itself. Bear this in mind when scoring cities completed by abbeys and also when scoring fields.
    For example: Let's assume a city closed by an abbey and a neighboring field that only has a common boundary with the abbey tile. In this case, the filed will get no points from that city, as it is not indirect contact with it.
  8. Icon World Black.png Note that the mayor is also a meeple. The rules use the word "meeple" but meaning "normal meeple", as if considering the expansion being played with the base game alone.
  9. Icon Open Book.png Any meeple, including the mayor, that is placed in a city is considered to be a knight. So this sentence is redundant.
  10. Icon Open Book.png The mayor cannot be placed into a city that already contains a wagon. Both are meeples (according to the definition in the rules), so the city is already occupied by the wagon.
  11. Icon World Black.png Except the large meeple and the mayor, all other meeples not mentioned here have 1 strength, the same as the normal meeple: the wagon, the ringmaster (Under the Big Top), and the phantom (The Phantom).
  12. Icon Open Book.png A meeple introduced in Inns and Cathedrals.
  13. Icon Open Book.png The barn is not a meeple.
  14. Icon World Black.png Fields with barns can be joined resulting in fields with more than one barn.
  15. Icon Open Book.png The barn can, however, be removed by a Festival tile. See Other expansions for more details.
  16. Icon Open Book.png The word "immediately" here means that farmers are scored then removed during the normal scoring phase of this turn (as opposed to staying on the farm until the end of the game). The placement of a barn does not stop play for a separate scoring phase for the farmers. Thus, the normal “move wood” portion of the turn occurs before the farmers are scored. (10/2012)
  17. Icon World Black.png Note that the wagon is also a meeple. The rules use the word "meeple" but meaning "normal meeple", as if considering the expansion being played with the base game alone.
  18. Icon Double Arrow Black.png The wagon rules in Abbey and the Mayor (1st Edition) were different in the following aspects:
    1. Adjacency: The wagon could only move to an unoccupied, incomplete feature connected by a road or sharing a surface/edge/wall:
      • Cases allowed:
        • Road to road through a crossing
        • Road to any claimable feature and vice versa: city (through a gate), monastery (or equivalent feature such as an abbey), etc.
        • A city to an adjacent abbey and vice versa
        • A city to a monastery within and vice versa
      • Cases not allowed:
        • Two cities with touching walls or tips on the same or on different tiles.
        • Two cities connected by "small roads" where meeples cannot be placed.
        • Two cities crossing via bridges but no connected via roads.
        • Two roads separated by a feature (are any aspect on a tile that can be claimed by a meeple or that triggers any function)
        • A road touching a city wall with no gate
        • A road running through a city via a tunnel or passing over via a bridge
    2. Placement: the wagon could be placed on any tile of the chosen unoccupied, incomplete feature.