- ۱ اطلاعات کلی
- ۲ Components and setup
- ۳ Overview and goal of the game
- ۴ Gameplay
- ۴.۱ The roads
- ۴.۲ The cities
- ۴.۳ The monasteries
- ۴.۴ Summary
- ۴.۵ Game end and final scoring
- ۴.۶ Special cases
- ۴.۷ House Rules
- ۴.۸ Use of a Table
- ۵ Tile reference
- ۶ Footnotes
Carcassonne, the world-famous French city, is known for its imposing fortifications erected during Antiquity and the Middle Ages. This fortress, surrounded by magnificent walls, still stands today as one of the most unique French cities. In this game, players must develop the area around Carcassonne. They place their followers onto roads and into cities, monasteries, and fields. Only those who make the most judicious placements will gain the points required to win the game.
Info on farmers rules
Farmers are considered a part of the base game for most Carcassonne players. They are also used in every official tournament as they are commonly not considered an expansion. In the new edition of Carcassonne farmers were separated as a supplement to ease access to the game for new players and smooth learning curve. WikiCarpedia follows this streamlined approach. For the sake of other expansions and the rest of the WikiCarpedia, farmers are considered a part of the base game. You can find farmers rules here The Farmers.
Components and setup
Following part will explain initial setup and introduce components of the game.
The 72 LANDSCAPE TILES show roads, cities, and monasteries, in a field.
The backs of all the tiles are the same, but the START TILE has a darker colored back, so you can recognize it easily. Other graphical elements such as houses, people, or animals have no impact on the game.
Then comes the scoreboard, which you set to the side of your playing surface (table, floor, etc.).
Finally, we have the meeples. You will find in the box 40 regular meeples, including 8 meeples in each of these colors: yellow, red, green, blue, and black. In addition, there are also 5 abbots, including 1 in each of the same colors.
Start by distributing 7 meeples of the color of their choice to each player. These meeples constitute each player’s personal supply. Each player takes seven meeples of their chosen color to form their supply. Place each player's eighth meeple on the 0 space on the scoreboard. These will be used to track each player's score throughout the game. If you are not playing with The Abbot, put those unique meeples back into the box.
Overview and goal of the game
In Carcassonne, players take turns placing tiles and expanding the landscape of roads, cities, monasteries and fields, one tile at a time. Players may place their meeples on the individual features of tiles as well (roads, cities, monasteries, and fields), where they will become highwaymen, knights and monks. Points are earned throughout the game, and the player with the highest score at the end is the winner!
A game of Carcassonne is played in clockwise order. Starting with the youngest player, the current player does the following actions in the order listed below, after which it is the next player’s turn, and so on and so forth. First, we’ll give you a brief description of the actions you have to do during one of your turns. These actions will be detailed as we present the roads, the cities, and finally the monasteries. So what are these actions?
- Placing a tile: The player must draw exactly 1 Land tile from a stack and place it faceup to continue the landscape.
- Placing a meeple: The player may place a meeple from their supply onto the tile they have just placed.
- Scoring a feature: The player must score any feature completed by the tile placement.
Placing a tile
You draw the depicted tile with three road segments starting from a village. You must place it in such a way that it continues the existing landscape (the tiles already in play). In the rare case that a tile cannot legally be placed anywhere, and all players agree, it is removed from the game, and the player draws another. 
Placing a meeple as highwayman
After placing the tile, you may place a meeple as a highwayman on one of that tile’s road segments, but only if the road is unoccupied by another highwayman.
In our example, since the road is not yet completed, no scoring occurs (see action 3) and play moves on to the next player.
The next player draws a tile that he/she places to continue the landscape. They may not place a meeple on the road to the right since your highwayman is already present on that road. Instead, they choose to place their meeple as a knight in the city segment of that tile.
Scoring a road
When both ends of a road are closed, that road is completed and scored. The end of a road is closed when it meets a village, a city, a monastery, or it loops onto itself by meeting the other end.
Even though it is your opponent that placed the tile, this still completes your road. How many points do you score? When scoring a road, each tile of that road grants you 1 point. Here, since you scored a road that is made out of 3 tiles, you score 3 points.
It is now time to note your score. You keep track of your score with the meeple you placed on the scoreboard before starting the game. Continuing our example, you move it forward 3 spaces to show that you’ve scored 3 points. Note: if your score passes 50 points, lay down your scoring meeple to show your 50+ points. After each scoring, return to your supply the meeple that was just scored.
We’ve already seen the most important parts of the game. Now, we will further expand on those actions by showing you how they apply to the other features, namely the cities and the monasteries:
Placing a tile
As usual, you draw a tile that you use to continue the landscape. Of course, the illustration must be continued as well. For example, a city segment must be connected to an open city.
Placing a meeple as a knight
Then, you see if there is already a meeple as a knight in the city. Here, there isn’t, so you can place one of your meeples as a knight in this city.
Scoring a city
Let’s continue our example and assume that a few turns have passed. You now draw this tile that you place to continue your city. Since the tile you’ve placed completes a feature (here, the city), it must now be scored. A city is completed when it is surrounded by walls and there are no gaps inside the city. Since you have a meeple in the completed city, you are the player to score it.
Each tile in a completed city is worth 2 points. In addition, each coat of arms is worth 2 more points. For this city, you score 8 points! As usual, the meeple that was in the scored feature returns to your supply.
Placing a tile
Once more, you draw a tile to continue the landscape. Monasteries are always depicted in the center of a tile. When placing such a tile, you must, as usual, make sure that it continues the illustration.
Placing a meeple as a monk
Scoring a monastery
We have already seen most of the rules for Carcassonne. There are only a few points left to see, but first, here is a summary of what we’ve seen so far:
Placing a tile
- You must place your drawn tile in such a way that it continues the landscape and the illustration.
- In some very rare cases, it may be impossible to place the tile. In those cases, simply return the tile to the box and draw a new one.
Placing a meeple
- You may place a meeple on the tile you’ve just placed.
- You may not place a meeple in a feature where there already is at least one other meeple, including one of yours.
Scoring a feature
- A road is completed when both ends lead to a village, a city, a monastery, or the road forms a loop. Each tile in a completed road is worth 1 point.
- A city is completed when it is surrounded by walls and there are no holes inside the city. Each tile in the completed city is worth 2 points. Each coat of arms in the completed city is worth an extra 2 points.
- A monastery is completed when it is surrounded by 8 tiles. Each of the monastery’s tiles (the 8 surrounding tiles and the one with the monastery itself) is worth 1 point.
- Scoring always occurs at the end of a player’s turn. At that moment, each player with a meeple in a scored feature earns points.
- After each scoring, return to your supply the scored meeples.
- If there are multiple meeples in a single scored feature, the player with the most meeples is awarded full points and all other players receive nothing. When more than one player have the most meeples in a scored feature, the tied players all score full points.
Game end and final scoring
The game ends immediately after the turn of the player who placed the last tile. Then, players proceed to a final scoring, after which the winner will be known.
Once the game is over, all meeples still in play are scored:
- Each incomplete road is worth 1 point per tile, just like during the game.
- Each incomplete city is worth 1 point per tile and 1 point per coat of arms, which is only half the points.
- Each incomplete monastery is worth 1 point plus 1 point per adjacent tile, just like during the game.
Once the final score is known, the winner is the player with the most points.
Many meeples on the same road
Many meeples in the same city
Use a Meeple, Score a Feature, and Get the Meeple Back
You can place a meeple in a feature you just completed, immediately score it, and then return the meeple to your supply.
To do so, follow these steps:
__ 1. Place a tile, completing a feature (such as a road, city, or monastery).
__ 2. Place a meeple as a highwayman, knight, or monk on the feature you just completed.
__ 3. Score the completed road, city, or monastery and return the meeple to your supply.
- The players decide who starts the game by any method they choose—such as by rolling three followers. The first player to ‘roll’ a standing follower decides who plays first. (Thanks to Joff.)
- To determine the first player; each player draws a tile from the bag, the player that drew the tile with the most roads (0 to 4) plays first, if there is a tie for most roads, a draw-off takes place. This is repeated until someone wins. (Thanks to michael.)
- Take your next tile at the end of your turn, to give you time to think about placement and avoid analysis paralysis.
- Play with a three-tile hand. The abbey counts as part of your hand. Play your turn. including the builder, and then draw back up to three tiles. These tiles could be visible to all or hidden to the other players (Thanks to DavidP and youth.)
- When playing with a bag for the tiles, the original starting tile may be put into the bag, and unplayable tiles can be put back into the bag rather than set to one side. (Thanks to dwhitworth.)
- Trees (bushes) on roads do not end the road—only houses do (when the road forks). This makes road building a lot more dynamic. (Thanks to Tobias.)
- When a tile is the only tile which can currently complete a structure, other players can offer to ‘buy’ it by offering points, trades counter, abbey, and so on. (Thanks to Deatheux.)
- If you place a tile that fills a hole in the playing field by touching something on all four adjacent sides, you get another turn. This helps motivate people to finish the board even if they do not get an advantage from the placement. (Does not apply to the abbey tile). (Thanks to viberunner.)
- Incomplete features at the end of the game do not score points at the end of the game. (Thanks to metoth.)
- The edge of the table limits the playing area. Thus, a player may not place a tile past the edge of the table or move the playing area to place a tile that would have been past the edge of the table. (Thanks to metoth for prompting this one, and to SkullOne for pointing out that this is an official rule from Hunters and Gatherers.)
- Table borders COMPLETE features as an abbey would. (Thanks to PreGy.)
- Use colored dice instead of meeples on the scoring track. Start out with the 6 showing on top. When the marker completes one lap, turn it to the number 1 to indicate it has completed one lap. This shows at a glance which player is on what lap and who's ahead. On the 100 space track it’s even easier to determine someone’s score at a glance. (Thanks to Carcking.)
Use of a Table
A number of questions have been asked about rules related to the play area itself, including what happens when the edge of the area is reached, or if a table has to be used for play. The following clarifications are from Georg Wild from HiG (5/2013):
- The edge of the table is the limit for the game if, as stated in the rules, a table is used.
- The rules state that the starting tile is placed in the middle of the table. If all of the tiles are shifted to allow more room, the starting tile would no longer be in the middle. So in principle, total shifting of the tiles is not allowed. Additionally, with a manual shift of all of the tiles, the tiles and figures on the field can slip, which could lead to incorrect positioning of tiles or figures.
- Addition of a second table is possible if one of an appropriate height is added to the first table. If a table is extended (as with an additional panel), make sure that the tiles and figures on the playing field do not slip.
- Playing on the floor: The rules technically do not allow this, because the rules state that the first tile is placed in the middle of the table. Playing on the floor is not forbidden, however, if use of a table is not feasible. If the floor is used, tiles must be placed so all tiles are visible to all players. Tiles cannot be placed under the sofa, cabinet/shelf, etc.
- It is important generally, that all the players in the round agree how to play:
- Table - Standard
- Table - with "total shifting" of tiles
- Table - with extension
- Continue to play fairly and not intentionally unfair to other players.
Total Tiles: 72
One of the tiles marked with "(S)" -tile number four- is the starting tile (with a dark back).
Many of the tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:
For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.
- They have no impact considering the base rules. They are or in some case probably will be used in expansions. For example The Markets of Leipzig
- See notes on Use of a Table
- Tiles can also be placed into a sack and drawn randomly.
- Question: Too few followers—are we playing wrong or are there really too few? Answer: In our view there are not too few. A certain shortage of followers is entirely intentional. An important element of the game is precisely learning to be economical with one's followers.
- As far as the Big Box 6 is concerned, the sixth set of (pink) followers is a part of the basic game, not Inns and Cathedrals.
- Usage of abbots is described in The Abbot mini expansion page
- It is common practice to choose starting player at random. More on this in house rules section.
- Question: We have difficulty deciding when a placed tile represents a new city or belongs to one already being built. Answer: 'Corner to corner' is not a connection! Segments can only be connected on the edges. In the example shown there are two cities at the moment.
- Cloisters can be placed directly next to each other, or corner to corner. It is not necessary for there to be eight other (non-cloister) tiles neighbouring a cloister. A cloister stands in the middle of a field segment and other segments can be placed next to it. In contrast to roads, cities, and fields, it is not possible to connect to a cloister.
- A newly placed land tile must fit the adjacent terrain on all edges. During placement it is not enough to look for only one side that fits.
- Question: On cloister tiles, are we allowed to deploy a follower on the surrounding field segment? Answer: Yes! The same rules are valid for a field surrounding a cloister as for any other field. You can also deploy a farmer next to a cloister. In this case the cloister remains unoccupied for the rest of the game.
- If drawing tiles out of a bag, a tile that cannot be placed could be returned to the bag for later use.
- Village is a little set of red roofed buildings surrounding the crossroad.
- Question: Can a road end in nothing? Answer: No, like all the usual land tiles, a road segment must continue to another road segment on all edges.
- Note that a coat of arms only affects the city segment it is in, not the whole tile (if there is more than one segment on a single tile).
- When two followers of one color are occupying a road, city, or farm, you do not score double in these cases. The number of followers (or in Inns and Cathedrals the size of the followers) has no effect on the points that a player earns from a road, city, cloister, or farm. Two knights do not double the points. The number of followers is only important in establishing who has the majority.
- Rules do not include tiebreakers. That is rules explaining situation when few players share the same score.
- Note in the box that features are considered to be complete as soon as the tile is placed, although follower placement and scoring only occur afterwards. This is important when playing with The Flier.
- Question: There is a situation that puzzles us. If a player draws a tile with two city segments and completes a small city, earning 4 points, can he or she then deploy a follower to a new city segment in the same turn? Answer: A player may only deploy one follower per turn, and that follower may be deployed only once, and it must be before any scoring. If the player already occupies the small, now-completed city, he or she may deploy a second follower to the other city segment immediately after placing the tile. The small city will then be scored and the follower involved returned to the player. If the player does not yet occupy this city, he or she can decide which of the two city segments to deploy a follower to. If the follower is deployed to the small city, it will be returned immediately and the player will earn four points, but the follower cannot be redeployed.