Bridges, Castles and Bazaars
- 1 General info and comments
- 2 Contents
- 3 Rules
- 3.1 Preparation
- 3.2 Bridges
- 3.3 Castles
- 3.4 Bazaar
- 3.5 Other expansions
- 4 Tile distribution
- 5 Footnotes
General info and comments
This is the eighth major expansion for Carcassonne and introduces some new aspects to the game. Travelling traders arrive in the land and organize bazaars, in which haggling is considered an art. At the same time, engineers are expanding the road network with modern bridges, and small castles are being built everywhere to defend the region.
New features/things are:
A Carcassonne expansion is not really a Carcassonne expansion when there are no new tiles, so in the box you also find 18 tiles that represent city segments, road segments and cloisters in new configurations plus the addition of bazaars which will help create much more than a beautiful landscape.
- 12 new land tiles including 8 with a bazaar
- 12 castle token
- 12 wooden bridges
Shuffle the new land tiles with those of the base game and stack them facedown as a general supply within easy reach of all players.
Then, give each player a number of bridges and castles:
- When playing with 2, 3, or 4 players, give each player 3 bridges and 3 castles.
- When playing with 5 or 6 players, give each player 2 bridges and 2 castles.
The twelve new land tiles should be mixed with those of the basic game. Over the course of play they will be drawn and placed according to the usual rules.
1. Placing a tile
Just like in the base game, you must place tiles so that its edges match the edges of the tiles already in play. After placing a tile, you may  place a bridge, which counts as a road and connects roads over features or meeples on that tile. 
You can place one bridge on the tile you just placed, or on a tile touching the tile you just placed. When placing a bridge, you must place both ends in a field, and it must be placed facing either left-to-right or up-to-down (it cannot be placed diagonally across the tile). Once placed, a bridge remains on that tile until the end of the game.
You can place a tile so that a road ends against a field, but you must place a bridge that continues the road on that same turn. You can use multiple bridges in a row along the same road, but each tile can have a maximum of only one bridge on it.  Bridges can be placed on tiles with meeples on them.
2. Placing a meeple
After placing a tile, you can place a Meeple normally. If you build a bridge on the tile you just placed, you can place your meeple (or another figure) on the bridge as if it were a road.
3. Scoring a feature
Bridges are scored like tiles with a road on them. 
Bridges do not separate cities or fields.
3. Close a small city and place a castle
When you place a tile that completes a small city (a city consisting of only 2 tiles ), if a player has a meeple occupying that city, he or she chooses to either score 4 points as normal, or to place a castle on that small city instead. 
When you place a castle, cover the small city that was just completed with a castle from your supply.
Once placed, a castle remains on that tile until the end of the game. 
3. Scoring a castle
Placing a castle does not score you any points. Instead, you score points when a neigboring feature is completed.   A feature is considered neigboring if it is on either one of the 2 tiles containing your castle, the 2 tiles to the right, or the 2 tiles to the left.
Only part of the completed feature needs to be on a neighboring tile for you to score points for it. Both you and the player who would normally score points for that feature score its full points.  Once you score points for a neighboring feature, your meeple is returned to your supply, but your castle remains on its place until the end of the game.
The following rules apply to castles:
- You must score points for the first feature completed on a tile neighboring your castle. You cannot forego scoring to leave your meeple for a later feature.
- Even if the first completed feature does not contain a meeple, you still score points from it if it is neighboring your castle. 
- If you control both a castle and the next completed neighboring feature, you score its points twice (once for the feature and once for the castle.)
- A monastery is only neighboring a castle if the tile with the monastery on it is in one of the 6 neighboring spaces.
- If a tile is placed that causes multiple features that are neighboring your castle to be completed at the same time, you decide what order they are scored. As always, you only score points for the first feature.
- If a castle is scored while neighboring your castle, your castle is also scored. All castles involved in such a scoring score points from the initial completed neighboring feature.
- Castles separate fields, just like roads or cities.
At the end of the game, an unscored castle is worth no points. When determining the value of a field, castles are worth 4 points (instead of 3.)
When you draw a tile with a bazaar on it, do the steps: 1. Place a tile, 2. Place a meeple and 3. Score a feature normally. You cannot place a meeple on the bazaar. 
4. Host a bazaar auction
After you have placed a bazaar and completed your turn, you must 4. Host a bazaar auction. Skip this step if there are fewer tiles remaining than there are players.
Draw and reveal a number of tiles equal to the number of players. The player on your left then chooses one of those tiles and bids a number of points for it. Continuing clockwise, players take turns bidding either a greater number of points or passing, until all players have had the chance to bid or pass. Then, the player who chose the tile must either:
- Buy the tile from the highest bidder, by giving that player a number of points equal to the highest bid, OR
- Sell the tile to the highest bidder, by taking from that player a number of points equal to the highest bid.
The score track is then adjusted so the buyer loses a number of points equal to the high bid, while the seller gains an equal number of points. The buyer then takes the tile that was being auctioned. If the only player to place a bid was the player who chose the tile, he or she pays a number of points equal to their bid, but no other player gains those points.
It is possible to bid more points than you have, and players can have a negative score as a result of buying tiles.
Once a player has taken a tile during a bazaar auction, he or she is out of the round and cannot bid any more. Among the players who have not yet taken a tile this round, the next player clockwise from the previous buyer choses which tile will be auctioned next, and a new auction begins. This continues until only one tile remains, and the player still without a tile takes it for free. Starting with the first buyer, each player 1. places a tile, 2. places a meeple (if he or she wishes), and 3. scores a feature.
During an auction, if you take a tile with a Bazaar on it, placing it will not trigger another Bazaar auction. 
Once the auction is complete, play resumes normally starting with the player to your left.
Bazaar Variant Rule: When you place a Bazaar, draw and reveal a number of tiles equal to the number of players. Beginning with the player to your left, each player takes and immediately places one of the tiles from the ones you revealed. Then play resumes normally starting with the player to your left.
This section contains additional information about the interactions with other Carcassonne expansions.
- You can place the following figures on a bridge:
- Exp. 4 - The Tower: You can place a bridge and a tower on the same tile. If necessary, adjust the tower's position to make room for the bridge.
- Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top: You can place a bridge over the campground. You can only place a bridge on the acrobat tile if there is no acrobat on that tile.
- You can place the following figures in a castle:
- Normal meeple, the standard option (Base game)
- Large meeple (Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals)
- Wagon (Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor)
- Mayor, however, since the castle doesn't have a coat of arms, the mayor cannot score points (Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor)
- Ringmaster (Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top)
- Phantom (The Phantom)
- When scoring a castle, you still score bonus points for:
- Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders: When scoring fields with a pig, the castle is worth 5 points.
- Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon: The dragon cannot eat meeples in the castle. You can place the fairy with a meeple in the castle and score the usual fairy points. 
- Exp. 4 - The Tower: A tower cannot capture any meeples in the castle.
- Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor: When scoring a field, whether for farmers or barns, a castle is worth 1 point more than a completed city.
- Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber: A castle does not score as a completed city for the king.
- Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top: When scoring a circus, your meeple in the castle scores points if part of the castle lies within the circus' surroundings. For the purpose of scoring the castle, acrobat pyramids do not count as completed features.
- River II - River II: The pigsty (or pig-herd) tile provides one more point for castles in the field.
- Monasteries in Germany (New Edition) / Japanese Buildings or Monasteries in Germany (1st Edition) / Monasteries in The Netherlands & Belgium: Because an abbot scores only at the end of the game, and this monastery is never considered completed, a monastery with an abbot will not score points for a meeple in a castle.
- Besiegers - Cathars - Siege: A city under siege (or under attack from Cathars) can be converted to a castle, and it is handled as a normal castle. The siege or Cathar attack is ignored after conversion to a castle.
- The Wheel of Fortune: Castles do count for scoring of the Famine sector of , as this is effectively a scoring of farms. Followers from the City of Carcassonne cannot move to a castle.
- The Plague: Meeples in castles are safe from the plague, as it affects the tile directly, and castles are not present on a specific tile.
- Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders: If you place a bazaar tile and it expands   a road or city containing your builder, complete the bazaar auction before beginning your double turn.
- Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon: If you place a dragon tile during a bazaar auction, the dragon moves immediately before continuing the bazaar auction.
Total Tiles: 12
Some of the tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:
Moreover, two tiles present an additional feature indicated in bold, an inn, that serves as a tie-in with Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals.
Total castle tokens: 12
For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.
- Note the use of the word "may" in the statement. A player is not required to use a bridge to place a tile, even if that tile would otherwise have to be discarded. The player has the choice to use the bridge to place the tile or just discard the tile. (10/2014)
- As with normal roads, each end of the bridge must continue a road segment (or bridge) already in play or must be adjacent to an empty place for a tile. (12/2014)
- One tile cannot have 2 bridges running perpendicular to each other. The rules state that the bridge must lie on a field, and if bridges are stacked, one end of the top bridge will not touch the field.
- As the bridge is counted just like a printed road segment, any completed road that includes a bridge and a printed road segment on the same tile still only scores 1 point for the tile. (2/2014)
As no limitation is precised by ZMG rules, this sentence may include small cities which do not consist only of two semi-circular segments, such as might be constructed using the CFRF tile with a triangular city segment. The only hint otherwise is provided by the examples.
The HiG rules, however, state that a small city consisting of "two semi-circular city segments" would qualify for castle placement, which would not allow to use of the triangular city segment.
- When converting to a castle, it does not matter whether the small city was already occupied by a meeple in the first half of the city, or by the active player deploying a meeple to the second half during his or her turn.
- The castle is considered incomplete at this point.
- The HiG rules specify that castles score when features are completed in their fief in a subsequent turn: "You won't get any points when you build the castle. You get points for your castle if the first building (monastery, city or road) in the vicinity of your castle is completed in a later turn." This detail is not mentioned explicitly in the ZMG rules.
- The castle is considered completed at this point.
- This is after any bonuses or penalties (such as the Cathedral or Witch) are accounted for. (4/2014)
- Note that this statement essentially indicates that points are tallied for all completed features, even unoccupied ones. However, generally nobody scores (receives those points) for an unoccupied feature. (2/2015)
- If the tile cannot be placed and is discarded, the bazaar will not occur. (10/2014)
- Note that a purchased bazaar tile will not trigger an auction, but any drawn bazaar tile will trigger an auction. Nonetheless, as discussed in the Q&A clarification in the Other expansions section, the auction may not happen immediately if the drawing of the tile occurred during a builder-turn during a bazaar round.
- In the latest 1st. Edition clarifications, the fairy wasn't allowed to be placed on a castle, though it was previously allowed in the Big Box 3 rules.
- The ZMG rules use the verb "complete" but the original German HiG rules use "expand" instead, that is the intended meaning.
There is another version of this rule that states that you perform your builder-turn before the bazaar. This discrepancy (originated from the mistranslation of a clarification from 5/2013) was considered a valid alternative by HiG as it doesn't change the game much. The rationale behind the original rule is that the bazaar is an action derived from the tile placed in the first part of the double turn, so it should be resolved before the builder-turn is carried out. (08/2016)
This variant, described in the CAR and implemented by JCloisterZone as of 12/2018, may seem more intuitive to some players. It considers the events in the following order:
- Draw bazaar and perform first part of your double turn.
- ** // Start pending bazaars // **
- Draw the tiles (still face-down)
- ( Start delaying any new bazaars )
- Perform your builder-turn (second part of your double turn)
- Turn tiles face-up and perform the auction
- 1st Player with auctioned tile (if a bazaar tile, no bazaar is triggered)
- 1st player’s builder-turn, if applicable
- Next player with auctioned tile (if a bazaar tile, no bazaar is triggered)
- Next player’s builder-turn, if applicable
- Last player with auctioned tile (if a bazaar tile, no bazaar is triggered)
- Last player’s builder-turn, if applicable
- ( Stop delaying any new bazaars )
- Player who drew and placed a new bazaar in his/her builder turn (pending delayed bazaar)
- ** Back to // Start pending bazaars // until no pending delayed bazaars **