Count, King and Robber

From WikiCarpedia
Jump to: navigation, search
This page contains changes which are not marked for translation.


Count King And Robber C2 Box Cover.jpg

General info and comments

Expansion symbol

Count, King, and Robber was the sixth major expansion for Carcassonne and was released for the New Edition by Hans im Glück in 2017.

The 1st Edition of Count, King and Robber was released in 2008. Originally, this expansion bundled a collection of several smaller expansions which had been independently released for the 1st Edition at different times (2003-2008). However, these minor expansions are only available for the new Edition as a bundle.

This page contains all the information for this major expansion but the River II, that is described on a separate page dedicated to the New Edition River expansions.

Contents

  • 2 large City tiles (2x3 tiles, each with different sides). When placed together, they form the city of Carcassonne.
City of Carcassonne tiles
  • 1 Wooden Count
ReferenceFigure Count.png
  • 1 King Marker and 1 Robber Marker (Another set is included as spares)
King and Robber Baron markers
  • 1 King Tile and 1 Robber Tile
King and Robber Baron tiles
  • 22 Land Tiles comprising:
    • 5 Shrine tiles
    • 5 Land tiles
    • 12 River II tiles
Tile with shrine
New land tile
River II tile

Rules

Preparation

This expansion offers two different ways to start the game: instead of using the standard start tile or the River I, you can either use the two large City tiles to form the city of Carcassonne or the River II as your starting point. Other than changing which tile is placed first, these options have no impact on gameplay. In both cases, return the standard start tile to the box before starting setup.

Do not use both The River II and The Count of Carcassonne. Combining the two can lead to situations where the river cannot be completed. [1]

River II

float


Details of this mini expansion have been incorporated on a separate River page. However some related information has been included here for the sake of completion.

The city of Carcassonne and the count of Carcassonne

float


Preparation

Place the two City tiles together in the center of the play area. One side shows the city with flags, the other without. If you want to use the city as a starting tile with no effects, use the side without flags.

City of Carcassonne setup using the side with flags and the count figure. The image highlights the different areas of the city

The flags are used to identify the city districts:

  1. The castle
  2. The market
  3. The blacksmith
  4. The cathedral

Place the Count of Carcassonne on the castle.


1. Placing a tile

If you place a tile next to the large City tiles, your tile's edge must match the City tile's edge, and it must be aligned with the white grid of the City tiles.


2. Placing a meeple in the City of Carcassonne

When you complete a feature during your turn, if at least one of your opponents gains points and you gain none, [2] you may place a meeple in one of the four city districts (even if the Count is in that district). Then, you may move the Count to a district of your choice within the city of Carcassonne.

Example 1: You (Red player) complete this city. Blue scores 4 points and you score none. You decide to place a meeple in the cathedral in Carcassonne.

Even if you complete more than one feature, you can place a maximum of one meeple in the city of Carcassonne per turn.

You can only place your Abbot in the cathedral in Carcassonne.


3. Scoring a feature - Moving meeples from Carcassonne

When a feature (city, road, monastery, or shrine) is completed, before it is scored, all players may remove their meeples from the matching district and place them in the feature that is about to be scored, even if doing so would exceed the maximum of 1 meeple per feature. [3] [4]

The districts and where meeples in them are placed:

From the castle to a city.
From the blacksmith to a road.
From the cathedral to a monastery or shrine.

You cannot remove meeples from a district with the Count in it. Even if a completed feature would allow them to be removed, the meeples in that district must stay there until the count is moved out. The Count is always in exactly one district and never leaves the city of Carcassonne.

When you complete a feature, the player to your left can remove as many of his or her meeples as he or she would like from the matching district and place them on the feature that was just completed. Going clockwise and ending with you, each player repeats this process. The feature is then scored as normal, [5] [6] and all players return any of their meeples on that feature to their supply.

Example 2: You complete the road. Blue decides not to remove any meeples from the blacksmith. You remove 2 meeples and place them on the road, giving you control. You gain 3 points and Blue gains none.

Question: Until now it was impossible to deploy a second monk to a monastery...

Answer: That is exactly the point. There was no rule that said only one monk could occupy a monastery. It was simply not possible because of the rules for placing tiles. This is the first opportunity for stealing a monastery away from a player. And deploying the large meeple to a monastery may now be worthwhile as well.

Meeples that were not removed stay in their district. Meeples placed in a district remain there until removed and placed on a matching feature.

From the market to a field.
When you place the last tile (ending the game), the player to your left must remove one of his or her meeples from the market to one of the fields. This process continues in turn order until all meeples in the market have been removed and placed in a field. If the count is in the market when the last tile is placed, no meeples are removed.

During final scoring, any meeples left in the other districts do nothing. [7] The city of Carcassonne counts as a city worth 3 points in its field.


King and robber

float


Preparation

Place the King and Robber tiles and their matching markers as a general supply within easy reach of all players.


3. Scoring a feature

The King
As soon as you complete the first city (except the city of Carcassonne, if you are playing with those tiles), place the King marker on that city and place the King tile in front of you. It does not matter if you scored points for that city, only that you completed it. If a player completes a bigger city (i.e., one with more tiles [8]), that player takes the King tile and moves the token to the bigger city. The marker must always be placed on the biggest city (except the city of Carcassonne). If you have the King tile during final scoring, you gain 1 point per completed city (including the city of Carcassonne, if you are playing with those tiles).

The Robber
The Robber tile works just like the King tile, but for roads instead of cities [9]. If you have the Robber tile during final scoring, you gain 1 point per completed road.


House Rules

  • At game end, use a lot of dice, place them on the board as completed features are found. Then collect them in, counting as you go. (Thanks to viberunner)
  • Place unused pieces (or other objects) on the scoreboard to represent the size of the biggest city and the longest road. (Thanks to RationalLemming)
  • Place the King and Robber markers on the scoreboard to represent the size of the biggest city and the longest road. (Thanks to Meepledrone)
  • The player holding the King or Robber tile at the end of the game receives a straight 10 points for each card. This matches the points awarded for trade goods, and avoids having to count the number of completed roads and cities. (Thanks to Joff)
  • The player holding the King or Robber tile at the end of the game receives a straight 15 points for each card, or 40 points if both cards are held by one player. (Thanks to PreGy)
  • The player who completes the first road receives the Robber tile and keeps it until another player completes a larger road. Until that time, the player receives 1 bonus point every time a road is completed. The same applies for the King tile and cities. (Thanks to dustyu)

The cultists

float


Preparation

Shuffle the five Shrine tiles with the other Land tiles.


1. Placing a tile

Shrine tiles cannot be placed adjacent to more than one monastery, and monasteries cannot be placed adjacent to more than one shrine. Shrine tiles are otherwise placed normally.


2. Placing a meeple as a heretic

When you place a shrine, you can place your meeple normally, or you can place a meeple as a heretic on the shrine. If you place a heretic adjacent to a monk, both meeples challenge each other (challenges are described below in 3. Scoring a feature). It is possible for two of your own meeples to challenge each other.

Otherwise, the shrine behaves like a monastery. You can place your abbot on the Shrine.


3. Scoring a feature

A shrine is scored when it is surrounded by other tiles. A completed shrine is worth 9 points. In case of a challenge, the first completed feature is worth 9 points. The other feature, when it is completed, is worth 0 points. If both features are completed at the same time, both are worth 9 points. In all cases, both the monk and the heretic are returned to their respective supplies. Meeples in the cathedral may be removed and placed on a shrine when it is completed.

Example: You (Red player) place your tile and complete your shrine. You gain 9 points, and Blue will gain 0 points for the monastery when it is completed. Both meeples are returned to their respective supplies.

Question: Say I have a heretic engaged in a challenge with a monk, and I place the tile which completes the monk's monastery, so that the monk scores 9 points and I score 0. Can I still move a meeple to the city of Carcassonne in this case?

Answer: Yes, triggered scoring, received no points: conditions fulfilled.

Final Scoring

At the end of the game, any unresolved challenges (i.e., incomplete monasteries and shrines) are ignored. All players involved score points for their incomplete monasteries and shrines as normal.


House rules

  • One could allow the placement of several neighboring shrines or monasteries into an area as long as no meeples are placed on those monasteries/shrines (i.e. there are no further challenges). A monastery or shrine may not be involved in more than one challenge at a time.

New land tiles

float


Preparation

Shuffle the five new Land tiles with those from the base game and stack them normally.

float
The tile to the right shows two city segments: one goes from the top to the bottom of the tile, while the other goes from left to right, across the bridge.

Other expansions

The city of Carcassonne and the count of Carcassonne

  • Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders:
    • If you take a double turn with the builder, you can place a meeple in the city of Carcassonne during both turns.
    • Closing a city with trade goods is not does not stop you from sending a meeple to the city of Carcassonne.

Question: If I complete a city with trade good but I score nothing, can I move a meeple to the city of Carcassonne?

Answer: Yes, that’s allowed. Only immediately scored points matter. It doesn't matter if the trade goods may score at the end of the game).

  • Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon:
    • You cannot move the dragon or the fairy into the city of Carcassonne.
    • The dragon can fly around the outside the city of Carcassonne, treating the landscape areas as normal tiles and eating any figures on those tiles. Meeples and the Count inside the city of Carcassonne are unaffected. (10/2012)
    • You cannot move a meeple into the city of Carcassonne with a magic portal.
    • Meeples can be deployed on features on the city of Carcassonne tiles outside the city of Carcassonne itself, for example through use of a magic portal. (1/2013)
  • Exp. 4 - The Tower: You cannot capture meeples in the city of Carcassonne with a tower.
  • Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor:
    • You can move meeples from the cathedral district to an abbey, as an abbey has all of the characteristics of a monastery.
    • The city of Carcassonne counts as a city when scoring a barn.
    • The barn cannot be placed in the city of Carcassonne.
    • If your barn placement of field connection triggers a field scoring in which you score no points, you may place a meeple in the city of Carcassonne.

Question: If I place a barn on a field on which another player has farmers, causing him/her to score while I score nothing, can I move a meeple to the city of Carcassonne?

Answer: Yes, that's allowed. Only immediately scored points matter. It doesn't matter that the barn is certain to score at the end of the game.

  • If a barn placement or field connection triggers a field scoring, you may move meeples from the market in the city of Carcassonne to that field. Score that field as normal, and return all farmers in that field to their respective supplies. (It doesn't matter that the barn is certain to score at the end of the game.)

Question: Are the meeples in the market district only used at the end of the game?

Answer: This is no longer entirely true. Placing of a barn, and the subsequent scoring of the field, does count as an opportunity to remove a meeple from the city of Carcassonne. Now that fields can be scored at times other than at the end of the game, meeples from the market can be moved to fields earlier in the game. That occurs immediately after the placement of the barn, and before the fields are scored. [Joining of a farm containing a meeple to a field with a barn would logically be another opportunity – Chris O.]

  • You can move meeple from the market district to a field with a barn (and score it) if a field scoring is triggered. (This can happen at the end of the game or with joining of a barnless field to one with a barn.)

Question: Can a meeple be moved from the city of Carcassonne to a field with a barn?

Answer: Yes, the farmer will be scored immediately, and so scores only 1 point per city and is (importantly) not on the field during the final scoring proper. [Obviously, placement of a meeple in this manner still requires a scoring trigger as per the fundamental rules – this could be at the end of the game or with joining of a barnless field to one with a barn – Chris O.]

  • Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles and Bazaars Meeples from the city of Carcassonne (the castle district) cannot move to a castle, as it is not a city anymore, but a new type of feature instead.
  • Exp. 9 - Hills & Sheep You cannot place your shepherd in the city of Carcassonne.
  • The Flier (Flying Machines)
    • You cannot move a meeple into the city of Carcassonne with a flying machine.
    • Meeples can be deployed on features on the city of Carcassonne tiles outside the city of Carcassonne itself, for example through use of a flier. (1/2013)
  • The Plague As per interpretations regarding placement of the dragon and meeples on features outside the city of Carcassonne, it seems that the plague should also be allowed on the outside portion of these tiles. However, this is unofficial. (1/2013)
  • Monasteries in Germany - Japanese Buildings - 1st. Edition Monasteries in Germany / The Netherlands & Belgium
    • A meeple can be moved from the cathedral district to a German monastery (or any equivalent feature) functioning as a monastery. If so, that meeple must also be declared to be a monk (not an abbot), because the feature was only finished for scoring as a monastery. A meeple cannot be moved from the cathedral district to a German monastery (or any equivalent feature) with an abbot (i.e. one with the special German monastery function that will be scored only at the end of the game.) (6 & 10/2014)

King

  • Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals: The king does not score bonus points for a cathedral in a completed city.

Robber

  • Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals: The robber does not score bonus points for an inn on a completed road.
  • Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor: With the three-way tile, the length of the road is the total number of tiles in the road, not simply the longest distance between two ends. The road has three ends which have to be closed, but the result is that it’s likely to be bigger.
  • The Labyrinths With four-way tiles, the length of the road is the total number of tiles in the road, not simply the longest distance between two ends. The labyrinth has four ends which have to be closed, but the result is that it’s likely to be bigger.

The cultists

  • Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon:
    • Placing a tile with a magic portal that completes a two features involved in a challenge dows not allow you to place a meeple on one of them if unoccupied.

Question: Imagine I have an unoccupied monastery next to an occupied shrine. I place a tile with a magic portal which completes both buildings, and choose to use the magic portal to deploy a monk to the monastery. Does this declare a challenge, and if so, who wins?

Answer: This is actually an invalid placement of the meeple – the magic portal cannot be used to place a meeple on a completed feature (and the monastery is considered completed before the Move Wood phase). Thus, there can be no challenge, and the heretic gets 9 points. (updated 7/2014)

  • You can use a magic portal to occupy a uncompleted feature after losing a challenge and become unoccupied.

Question: When a challenge is resolved, both the monk and heretic are removed from play. If that leaves one of the features incomplete, can it be occupied again?

Answer: Yes, it can be reoccupied by using a magic portal or a meeple from Carcassonne.

  • Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor:
    • A monk in an abbey can challenge a heretic in a shrine.
    • The rules that restrict the placement of monasteries next to already placed shrines (and vice versa) also restrict the placement of abbeys.

Question: Say I have a heretic engaged in a challenge with a monk, and I place the tile which completes the monk's monastery, so that the monk scores 9 points and I score 0. Can I still move a meeple to the city of Carcassonne in this case?

Answer: Yes, triggered scoring, received no points: conditions fulfilled.

  • Exp. 9 - Hills & Sheep Vineyard rules are the same for shrines as they are for monasteries.
  • Besiegers - Cathars - Siege A knight in a besieged city from can escape via a shrine, as with a monastery. The shrines are, for the most part, identical to monasteries. That goes for escape as well.

Tile distribution

The River II

Total tiles: 12

River II C2 Tile A.jpg x1
Source
River II C2 Tile B.jpg x1
(G)
River II C2 Tile C.jpg x1
 
River II C2 Tile D.jpg x1
Inn
River II C2 Tile E.jpg x1
 
River II C2 Tile F.jpg x1
Pigsty
River II C2 Tile G.jpg x1
(H)
River II C2 Tile H.jpg x1
 
River II C2 Tile I.jpg x1
(F) - Fork
River II C2 Tile J.jpg x1
 
River II C2 Tile K.jpg x1
 
River II C2 Tile L.jpg x1
Lake + Volcano

Some of the tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:


Base Game C2 Feature Garden.jpg
G | Garden
Base Game C2 Feature Farmhouse.jpg
F | Farmhouse
Base Game C2 Feature Highwayman.jpg
H | Highwayman

Additionally, some tiles present additional features indicated in bold, some proper of River II (source, fork, and lake), some others serving as tie-in with other expansions (inn, pigsty, and volcano.)


Count of Carcassonne

Total tiles: 2 (2x3 tiles)

City Of Carcassonne C2 Tile A.jpg x1 (front)
City Of Carcassonne C2 Tile B.jpg x1 (front)
City Of Carcassonne C2 Tile A Back.jpg x1 (back)
City Of Carcassonne C2 Tile B Back.jpg x1 (back)


King and robber

Total tiles: 2

King Robber C2 Tile King.jpg x1
King Robber C2 Tile Robber Baron.jpg x1

Total markers: 2

King Robber C2 Token King.png x1
King Robber C2 Token Robber Baron.png x1

Two spare markers are included


Cultists

Total tiles: 5

Heretics C2 Tile A.jpg x1
 
Heretics C2 Tile B.jpg x1
(H)
Heretics C2 Tile C.jpg x1
 
Heretics C2 Tile D.jpg x1
 
Heretics C2 Tile E.jpg x1
(P)

Some of the tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:


Base Game C2 Feature Highwayman.jpg
H | Highwayman
Base Game C2 Feature Pigs.jpg
P | Pigs


New land tiles

Total tiles: 5

King Robber C2 Tile A.jpg x1
(W)
King Robber C2 Tile B.jpg x1
(G)
King Robber C2 Tile C.jpg x1
 
King Robber C2 Tile D.jpg x1
(F)
King Robber C2 Tile E.jpg x1
 

Some of the tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:


Base Game C2 Feature Garden.jpg
G | Garden
Base Game C2 Feature Farmhouse.jpg
F | Farmhouse
Base Game C2 Feature Water Tower.jpg
W | Water Tower


Footnotes

For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.

  1. Icon World Black.png Despite this rule from the New Edition, the latest rules for the 1st. Edition of The River II stated that "if you decide to use The Count of Carcassonne and The River II as starting tiles for a game, it is possible that one will not be able to use all of the river tiles if they are placed too close to the city of Carcassonne. River tiles which cannot be placed should be removed from the game, in accordance with the basic rules. Even if the river cannot be placed in its entirety, the game should proceed in the usual way." See the comments in 1st. Edition Rivers page for more information.
  2. Icon World Black.png It is clear from the wording that only scoring caused by placement of a tile can trigger placement of a meeple in Carcassonne. Thus, scoring from non-landscape-tile related events (such as from dispatches (Messages, The (Dispatches) or paying a ransom for the tower (The Tower)) would not trigger meeple placement. Interestingly, though, the placement of a barn (Abbey and the Mayor) does trigger the ability to place a meeple in the city of Carcassonne.
  3. Icon Open Book.png Meeples in the city of Carcassonne can be redeployed to empty roads, cities, monasteries, or farms. When an empty road, city, or monastery is completed, meeples in the appropriate district of the city [meeples in the castle can only be deployed to cities, and so on] may be redeployed and then scored immediately. In general, unoccupied cities, roads, monasteries do not earn very many points, and so this option in mostly useful for returning meeples from the city of Carcassonne to a player's supply.
  4. Icon Open Book.png A player who completes a road, city, or monastery, but without profit, cannot deploy a meeple to the city of Carcassonne and redeploy another before the area is scored. Scoring takes place first, and then, should the occasion arise, a meeple may be deployed to the city of Carcassonne. If a player uses a meeple which is already in the city of Carcassonne, then he or she profits from the scoring, and as such may not move another meeple to the city of Carcassonne.
  5. Icon World Black.png This implies that majority is computed taking into account the meeples just redeployed from the city of Carcassonne, if any.
  6. Icon Open Book.png Meeples in the city of Carcassonne are not scored. However, the meeples can influence the usual scoring, as players can redeploy their figures to any city, road, cloister, or field that is currently being scored.
  7. Icon Double Arrow Black.png This limitation didn't exist in the 1st Edition. It overrides the latest clarification regarding this point:
    Question: How does follower placement during the final scoring work? Answer: In principle very similarly to the way it works during the game. The 'trigger' for the final scoring is the player who placed the last tile and so ended the game. Beginning with the player on the left of the 'trigger' player, each player redeploys one of his or her followers from Carcassonne to an appropriate feature [followers in castle can only be deployed to cities, and so on] on the board. Followers can also be redeployed to incomplete roads, cities, cloisters, or farms, since these will also be scored at the end of the game. This process continues until no player can redeploy any more players from Carcassonne. The Count still blocks the city quarter in which he is resident. Normally the player with the most followers in Carcassonne will be the one to redeploy the last figure.
  8. Icon Open Book.png The player who completes the biggest city during the game, that is, the city which consists of the most land tiles, receives the King tile. Thus, the highest scoring city may not always win the King tile, such as a smaller city earning more points through pennants or the cathedral.
  9. Icon Open Book.png The player who completes the longest road during the game, that is, the road which consists of the most land tiles, receives the Robber tile. Thus, the highest scoring road may not always win the Robber tile, such as a smaller road earning more points through inns.