Inns and Cathedrals

From WikiCarpedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Other languages:
Deutsch • ‎English • ‎italiano
Inns c2 cover.jpg

General info and comments

The Inns and Cathedrals symbol

Inns and Cathedrals was originally released by Hans im Glück in 2015.

Contents

  • 18 landscape tiles (identified with symbol), including 6 inns and 2 cathedrals.
  • 8 Meeples and 1 abbot (pink). This new set of pawns allow you to play with 6 players
  • 6 large meeples

Inns c2 inn big.png

  • 6 Points tiles 50/100[1]
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile 50.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile 100.jpg x1

Rules

Preparation

Shuffle the new landscape tiles in with those from the basic game and stack them normally. Each player adds the large meeple of their color to their supply.

Inns & Cathedrals

1. Placing a tile

The new Land tiles are placed exactly like those in the base game. Their special function has an impact on step 3.


2. Placing a meeple

The rules for placing meeples are unchanged from those in the base game. The new Land tiles’ special features are presented below.


3. Scoring a Feature

Scoring a Road with an Inn on it When you complete a road with one or more inns, you receive 2 points per tile with a segment of this completed road (instead of the normal 1 point per tile).

You score 10 points for this road, since there is an inn and five tiles.
Here, you also score 10 points, even though there are two inns on the road.

CAUTION: During final scoring, incomplete roads with an inn on them do not score any points. Even if that road would have normally scored, the presence of an inn will prevent it from scoring.

Final Scoring: This road is incomplete. You receive no points, because there is an inn on it.

Scoring a City with a Cathedral in it When you complete a city with one or more cathedrals[2], you receive 3 points per tile and coat of arms with a segment of this completed city (instead of the normal 2).

You score 27 points for this city: 9 x 3 = 27 (7 tiles and 2 coat of arms).

CAUTION: During final scoring, incomplete cities with a cathedral in them do not score any points. Even if that city would have normally scored, the presence of a cathedral will prevent it from scoring.

Final Scoring: This city is incomplete. You score no points, because there is a cathedral in it.


The Large Meeple

1. Placing a tile

The new Land tiles are placed exactly like those in the base game. Their special function has an impact on step 3.


2. Placing a Meeple

Instead of placing a normal meeple on your turn, you may place your large meeple. Placement rules are the same as those for normal meeples.


3. Scoring a Feature with a Large Meeple

When scoring a feature where a large meeple is present, the large meeple counts as 2 normal meeples for the purposes of determining which player has control.
Remember that all players tied for control of a feature score all the points. If you have more meeples in a feature than any of the other players, you score all of that feature's points, and the other players score nothing.
After scoring[3], any large meeples in the scored feature are returned to their owner's supply.


You have a large meeple in the city, while the black meeple is normal, giving you control. The city scores, and you score 8 points, but the black player scores no points.
You have a large meeple in the city, while the black player has two normal meeples. You both have control, and both score 12 points for scoring the city.

If you use the large meeple as a farmer (as seen on page 8), place it lying down in the field, as you would with a normal meeple. The large meeple then counts as 2 farmers in that field. [4]

You placed your large meeple in this field as a farmer. The blue player only has one normal meeple there, meaning you have control of the field. You score 9 points for the three completed cities.

Clarifications for new landscape tiles

Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile H.jpg This tile shows four different city segments and one field with a garden in the center.
   
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile C.jpg This crossroads tile splits the roads into three separate features. The inn counts for the road heading left and the road heading right, but not the road heading down.
   
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile D.jpg This monastery splits the road into 2 separate features.
   
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile I.jpg Highwaymen may not be placed on the small road segments; they are only there to limit the fields. The crossroads splits the road into two separate features.

Tile distribution

Total tiles: 24

Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile A.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile B.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile C.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile D.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile E.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile F.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile G.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile H.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile I.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile Ka.jpg x2
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile L.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile M.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile N.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile O.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile P.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile Q.jpg x1
Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile J.jpg x1

Footnotes

For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.

  1. Icon Double Arrow Black.png When Big Box 6 is concerned, the sixth set of pink meeples and point tiles are part of the basic game and is described there.
  2. Icon Open Book.png Question: Am I allowed to place cathedrals in other players' cities? Answer: Yes, that is allowed, and is particularly useful towards the end of a game, when it can strip a large city of an opponent of points. The same goes for roads with inns.
  3. Icon Open Book.png A player with a big meeple DOES NOT score twice as many points. The big meeple is dealt with in exactly the same way as two normal meeples; for two meeple in a city, on a road, or on a farm, you only earn points once. The only function of the big meeple is to obtain the majority more quickly. For example, in a cloister the big meeple earns precisely the same number of points as a smaller meeple.
  4. Icon Open Book.png Question: [If captured by a tower,] is the ransom for the big follower doubled? Answer: No: he may be big, but he's still only one person.