All Comments

Jump to: navigation, search
Comment Page Associated Page Comment Title Comment Author Last Editor Created Last Edited
CommentStreams:5f17b789c51544c35825ac0772bf3f56 Count, King and Robber Small cities are a valid destination for meeples in the castle district if you are scoring the city. If you are converting the city into a castle, you will not score the small city and therefore you will not be able to deploy any meeples to that small city from the city of Carcassonne.

This is another variant of the discussion about "Can I redeploy meeples from the cathedral district to a German monastery if I place them as abbots?" The answer would be no, as you would deploying meeples to the German monastery that would not participate in the scoring about to take place.

In a nutshell, you may deploy meeples from the city of Carcassonne to a feature if only if they will participate in the scoring of the given feature immediately. That means that no deferred scoring will be allowed.

Meepledrone Jul 6 at 5:07 pm
CommentStreams:E67cefc17c1cfa33839516ffe8472d3a Count, King and Robber Castles "Meeples from the city of Carcassonne (the castle district) cannot move to a castle, as it is not a city anymore, but a new type of feature instead."- this includes small cities which will be converted into a castle? Carcassonne93 Jul 6 at 2:25 pm
CommentStreams:E0041d1e0d9f4c44b5937d4e34cc9d69 Carcassonne Order of Play The intent is that you perform one action per meeple on the current turn and neighboring tree. Check the following clarification:

The_Fruit-Bearing_Trees#cite_note-2

Meepledrone Meepledrone Jul 5 at 9:47 pm Jul 5 at 10:06 pm
CommentStreams:588e3cdfc883653bf68ea5f12d10aad3 Carcassonne Order of Play Trees and meeples "you may perform one of the following actions per tree and meeple"- somebody can understand that you may perform two actions (1 per tree and 1 per meeple). Carcassonne93 Jul 5 at 4:14 pm
CommentStreams:4547144f11c538859bde3a2bec65718a The Robbers If you check phase 1. Placing a tile, the rules say the following (please check the undelined sentence):

"Whenever you draw a tile with a bag, place it normally. Then, place your robber meeple on the scoreboard, choosing a space that is occupied by at least one other player's scoring figure. [1] Then, the next player to the left with no robber on the scoreboard is allowed to place it. [2] If your robber is already on the scoreboard, you may choose to move it to a different space."

As you can see, the sentence refers to you, the active pkayer, that is, the player who places the tile. The first player to your left with the robber in their supply will also place it on the scoreboard. As you can see, there is no provision for any player but you to move their robber if already on the scoreboard.

Meepledrone Meepledrone Jul 4 at 6:01 pm Jul 4 at 6:06 pm
CommentStreams:20e2f60d70dbec4e42228deac4711960 The Robbers Where it is written that only the first player can move its robber? Carcassonne93 Jul 4 at 5:41 pm
CommentStreams:3404a8249588de02f7b6df0004c09396 Digital Versions Thanks! :-)

BR LaPorxada

anonymous Jul 3 at 12:14 am
CommentStreams:4b34eac01dae8c76f2ac2306fc23714f Count, King and Robber 1) Three Four players game: red, blue, green, yellow (in the turn order). Red place the barn on an occupied field. Red has 2 meeples in the Market, Blue 3, green 1 and yellow 1. Which is a correct possibilit

a) Blue moves 2 meeples. Green moves 1 meeple. Yellow moves 0 meeples. Red moves 2 meeples.

b) Blue moves 1 meeple. Green moves 1 meeple. Yellow moves 0 meeples. Red moves 1 meeple. Blue moves 1 meeple. Red moves 1 meeple.

Option a) is correct during the game: each player has one opportunity to redeploy 0, 1 or more meeples in a Carcassonne district to a matching feature.

After the game, players will place one meeple at a time in a filed until all the meeples in the market distrcit have been redeployed. If the Count was in the market district at the end of the game, no player will be able to redeploy meeples to a fields.


2) "any" field? that means that you can place a meeple on a barnless field?

  • During the game, players may redeploy meeples in the market district to a any field about to be scored due to a barn (placement or field connection).
  • After the game, players may deploy meeples in the market district to a any field in the playing area (any occupied field will be scored at the end of the game).

3) "If a barn placement or field connection triggers a field scoring, you may move meeples from the market in the city of Carcassonne to that field."

Correct. See previous answer.

Meepledrone Jun 30 at 9:56 pm
CommentStreams:9bde6cb27af6f710cfe8d786d7405a3b Count, King and Robber "If a barn placement or field connection triggers a field scoring, you may move meeples from the market in the city of Carcassonne to that field." Carcassonne93 Jun 30 at 7:41 am
CommentStreams:9b739fe1bda2bf5e00b0de0fd2ae4786 Count, King and Robber "any" field? that means that you can place a meeple on a barnless field? Carcassonne93 Jun 30 at 7:40 am
CommentStreams:E83e551750320f60a11aa9b60351840d Count, King and Robber All players, in turn order, will move their meeples in the market district, one at a time, to any field of their choosing. Once all the players are done, farmers deployed to fields with barns will be scored as if the field segment with the farmer was just connected. Meepledrone Meepledrone Jun 29 at 11:52 am Jun 30 at 6:27 am
CommentStreams:2d938a4ddf5717eff5f492d7efa1d99b Count, King and Robber Three players game: red, blue, green, yellow (in the turn order). Red place the barn on an occupied field. Red has 2 meeples in the Market, Blue 3, green 1 and yellow 1. Which is a correct possibility

a) Blue moves 2 meeples. Green moves 1 meeple. Yellow moves 0 meeples. Red moves 2 meeples.

b) Blue moves 1 meeple. Green moves 1 meeple. Yellow moves 0 meeples. Red moves 1 meeple. Blue moves 1 meeple. Red moves 1 meeple.

Carcassonne93 Carcassonne93 Jun 29 at 11:07 pm Jun 29 at 11:08 pm
CommentStreams:D24cff2d69495c8917320ba884ce2ecd Count, King and Robber Is your question related to this clarifications?

 Icon Open Book.png Question: Are the meeples in the market district only used at the end of the game?

Answer: This is no longer entirely true. Placing of a barn, and the subsequent scoring of the field, does count as an opportunity to remove a meeple from the city of Carcassonne. Now that fields can be scored at times other than at the end of the game, meeples from the market can be moved to fields earlier in the game. That occurs immediately after the placement of the barn, and before the fields are scored. [Joining of a farm containing a meeple to a field with a barn would logically be another opportunity – Chris O.]

Meepledrone Meepledrone Jun 29 at 9:58 pm Jun 29 at 9:58 pm
CommentStreams:3e3b663bfe1adb20b58ab576a9349ec5 Count, King and Robber "Any field" during the game? Carcassonne93 Jun 29 at 12:15 pm
CommentStreams:Fce75b4549252675269e03806d72c3a6 Count, King and Robber But if you want to move, you move your meeples only once? Or one at a time, as at the end of the game? Carcassonne93 Jun 29 at 8:56 am
CommentStreams:6dd670e897025022fb1434b31b987756 The Tower 1) It is not mentioned that you can place the phantom on any of the open towers.

This was included in the general considerations of the interactions with other expansions. Anyway, I added an explicit mention in the "The Phantom" section.


2) Also, it is not mentioned that both the first meeple and the phantom can be placed each on an open tower in the same turn.

Added this case to the "The Phantom" section too.

Meepledrone Jun 28 at 7:19 pm
CommentStreams:6e912a0772cbad3651eec7f8e6f38c20 The Tower It is not mentioned that you can place the phantom on any of the open towers. Also, it is not mentioned that both the first meeple and the phantom can be placed each on an open tower in the same turn. Carcassonne93 Jun 28 at 6:26 pm
CommentStreams:508d84aa2cdf0ae3870c39507218189c Digital Versions Thanks for the information and all urls!, we'll include this version in the list. Carlium Jun 28 at 2:23 pm
CommentStreams:Bbbb9b474f149a1fc7d2c047d254a875 Count, King and Robber You can land at a monastery / shrine place by flying machine.

Correct, you can also deploy additional meeples to a monastery / shrine from the cathedral district in the city of Carcassonne right before scoring the completed monastery / shrine.

A monastery / shrine with multiple monks / heretics will have to be scored taking into consideration the majority in the feature, the same as for roads or cities. This is not explicitly in the rules for monasteries but it is a straightforward conclusion from the way other features score.

In general terms, this would also apply to all monastic buildings: monasteries, abbeys, shrines, German monasteries, Dutch & Belgian monasteries, Japanese buildings and Darmstadt churches.

When dealing with special monasteries (German monasteries, Dutch & Belgian monasteries and Japanese buildings), you may place additional meeples as abbots with a flying machine. You won't be allowed to deploy meeples as abbots from the city of Carcassonne.

Meeples placed as abbots on a special monastery will be ignored if the feature is completed and scored by any meeples placed as monks on the feature. However, those meeples placed as abbots will be scored at the end of the game, taking into account the majority if more than one player has meeples on the featute.


1) If there is already a meeple on it, can you handle a challenge with 2 or can only 1 meeple meet the challenge or is there no challenge possible?

The presence of more than one meeple on a monastery / shrine will not affect the challenge itself. It may just affect the scoring of the winning feature(s). Any monastic building winning a challenge will have to be scored taking into account the majority if multiple players occupy the feature.


2) If there is a big meeple and a normale meeple on the monastery / shrine. Can only the big meeple take a challenge?

The challenge affects the feature with all the meeples placed on it. There is no way one meeple on a monastery / shrine may participate in a challenge and the rest are mere spectators.

For example, let's discuss the outcome of the following challenge:

  • A monastery with Red's large meeple and Blue's regular meeple.
  • A shrine with Green's regular meeple.

Scenario 1: The monastery wins

If the monastery wins the challenge, Red will score 9 points for monastery, since Red has the majority. Blue will score 0 points as the player didn't have the majority in the monastery. Green will score 0 points, since the shrine lost the challenge.

Scenario 2: The shrine wins

If the shrine wins the challenge, Green will score 9 points. Red and Blue will score 0 points, since the monastery lost.

Meepledrone Meepledrone Jun 28 at 12:05 pm Jun 28 at 12:06 pm
CommentStreams:2025c70bb638eeea58b7db5559b2fbdf Count, King and Robber Yes, as you can see in the rules above, the city of Carcassonne is considered for field scoring as any other regular city.

"The city of Carcassonne counts as a city worth 3 points in its field."

The same would happen to the city of Leipzig by analogy.

Meepledrone Jun 28 at 11:17 am
Next