The Abbot

From WikiCarpedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Other languages:
English • ‎français • ‎italiano • ‎Nederlands

General info and comments

The Abbot logo

The Abbot was originally released by Hans im Glück in 2014.

It introduces the abbot meeple and garden features.

A garden

Along with The River, The Abbot is considered part of the basic game that can be used as desired. [1] It implements a mechanic that is unique to the new edition of Carcassonne, diverging in this aspect from the 1st edition.

With its introduction in 2014, tiles featuring gardens became available in the new design Base Game which included The River. Later, they appeared on tiles in the major expansions as they were re-released in the new artwork, and in Big Box 6 when it was released in 2017. [2] Bear in mind that The Abbot provides a new mechanic involving the abbot meeple, but the tiles it affects are not part of the expansion itself. Garden tiles that have been included in the base game and in expansions are listed for information in the tile distribution below.

Finally, it must be noted that the (new) abbot in this expansion is not the same as the (old) abbot used on German, Dutch and Belgian Monasteries, and Japanese Buildings. The new abbot is a specialized meeple for monasteries and gardens whereas the old abbots were normal meeples placed on specialized monasteries. Just in case things weren’t confusing enough already.


  • 6 abbots, one in each player color.[3]
Abbots C2.png



Each player adds the abbot of their color to their supply. With the exception of the new rules used with this mini-expansion, all basic Carcassonne rules remain unchanged.

Playing the game

1. Placing a Tile

When placing a tile with a garden, you must place it so that it its edges match the edges of tiles already in play.

2. Placing a Meeple OR the Abbot

When placing a tile with a monastery or garden, you may place your abbot onto the monastery or onto the garden. [4] [5] [6] [7] You may, of course, place a regular meeple onto the monastery, or other features, such as roads, etc. You may not place a regular meeple onto the garden.

3. Scoring with the Abbot

When the monastery or garden occupied by your abbot is surrounded by eight tiles, you score 9 points (just like a regular monastery scoring.)

On your turn, you may decide to not place a meeple,[8] and may instead return your already-placed abbot to your supply. If you do so, you score as many points as the garden or monastery your abbot occupied is worth at that time,[9] exactly like how monasteries are scored during the final scoring.

You place this tile, but choose to not place a meeple. Instead, you return your abbot to your supply, which you placed on a previous turn. You score 6 points (1 for the garden, and 5 for the tiles surrounding it).

Final scoring

During final scoring, incomplete monasteries or gardens occupied by abbots are scored the same way as those occupied by monks.

Tile distribution

The following tile distribution includes all the tiles featuring a garden that can be found in the Base Game and the expansions released until now (12/2018) for the new edition.

Base Game

Total tiles: 8

Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile E Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile H Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile I Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile M Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile N Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile R Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile U Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile V Garden.jpg x1

River I

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-River I C2 Tile J Garden.jpg x1

Inns and Cathedrals

Total tiles: 2

Abbot-Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile B Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile H Garden.jpg x1

Traders and Builders

Total tiles: 2

Abbot-Traders And Builders C2 Tile K Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Traders And Builders C2 Tile U Garden.jpg x1

The Princess and the Dragon

Total tiles: 2

Abbot-Princess And Dragon C2 Tile B Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Princess And Dragon C2 Tile J Garden.jpg x1

The Tower

Total tiles: 2

Abbot-Tower C2 Tile E Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Tower C2 Tile I Garden.jpg x1

Abbey and the Mayor

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile H Garden.jpg x1

Count, King and Robber

Total tiles: 2

Abbot-Count King And Robber C2 Tile B Garden.jpg x1 (King and Robber)
Abbot-River II C2 Tile B Garden.jpg x1 (River II)

Bridges, Castles and Bazaars

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Bridges Castles Bazaars C2 Tile I Garden.jpg x1

Hills & Sheep

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Hills And Sheep C2 Tile E Garden.jpg x1

Under the Big Top

Total tiles: 2

Abbot-Under Big Top C2 Tile A Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Under Big Top C2 Tile G Garden.jpg x1

Flier, The (Flying Machines)

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Flying Machines C2 Tile H Garden.jpg x1

Mage and Witch

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Mage And Witch C2 Tile E Garden.jpg x1

Robbers, The

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Robbers C2 Tile D Garden.jpg x1

Spiel Doch 02/2018

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Spiel Doch C2 Tile 02 Garden.jpg x1


For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.

  1. Icon Open Book.png As stated in the rules of Big Box 6.
  2. Icon World Black.png The expansions included in Big Box 6 that contained garden tiles are Inns and Cathedrals, Traders and Builders, The Flier (Flying Machines), Mage and Witch and The Robbers.
  3. Icon World Black.png As far as the Big Box 6 is concerned, the sixth set of (pink) meeples is a part of the basic game, not Inns and Cathedrals. The same happens in Big Box 6 with the sixth abbot meeple. Prior to Big Box 6, the Base Game included five abbots, with the sixth included with the sixth set of meeples in Inns and Cathedrals.
  4. Icon Open Book.png The abbot is considered a meeple, but he has limitations as described in this sentence. Therefore the abbot can use a magic portal and can be used as a flier. However, the abbot can only end up on an unfinished monastery or garden, and the monastery or garden must be unclaimed if using the magic portal. (3/2015)
  5. Icon Locked Red.png In contrast with the previous clarification from 3/2015, the Order of Play included in Big Box 6 omits the abbot from the list of figures that can be a flier. There is no clarification if this is a restriction on purpose or just an omission in the rules. (12/2018)
  6. Icon Open Book.png The abbot cannot be placed on a tower. See The Tower for more information.
  7. Icon Open Book.png An abbot could be placed onto an abbey or a shrine/cult place, as they are considered monasteries (albeit the latter heretic). The abbot can be involved in a challenge between a monastery/abbey and a shrine/cult place. The abbot's special ability would allow him to quit the challenge, even if his monastery/abbey or shrine/cult place was not complete, and would score the incomplete feature (monastery, abbey or shrine/cult place). See Abbey and Mayor and Count, King and Robber for more details.
  8. The actual C II rules refer to not placing a “meeple,” but they are also referring to special figures not considered as meeples such as the builder, the pig or the barn, as can be implied according to the figure classification provided in Big Box 6 and making it extensive to all the expansions. Therefore this stipulation actually refer to not performing any other “Move Wood” action at all, but this is not explicitly stated. In other words, the publisher was keeping the rules as simple as possible at the moment when not all the new edition expansions where released. (12/2014, updated 3/2015, updated 9/2018)
  9. Icon Open Book.png This scoring occurs immediately during the “Move Wood” phase when the abbot is removed. This produces a scoring round for Messages. Afterwards, the normal scoring phase occurs. The Order of Play in the new edition (2016) does not protect the abbot from the dragon in contrast with C I rules for the dragon (3/2015, updated 12/2018)