The Ferries

From WikiCarpedia
Jump to: navigation, search
This page contains changes which are not marked for translation.

General info and comments

Expansion symbol

The Ferries (Mini #3) was released for the new edition by HiG in 2017, bundled as part of Big Box 6.

A vast array of roads surrounds the realms of Carcassonne. New ferries along these roads alter paths, providing new opportunities to any of your enterprising thieves.


  • 8 landscape tiles with a lake
Tile with a lake
  • 8 wooden ferries
ReferenceFigure Ferry.png



Shuffle the new landscape tiles with those of the basic game and stack them normally. Place the ferries within easy reach of all players.

1. Placing a tile

When a player draws a tile with a lake, he or she plays it according to normal rules.

2. Placing a meeple and a ferry

If you place a meeple as a highwayman on a tile with a lake that you just placed, take one ferry from the supply and place it on the lake. [1] You must place this ferry in such a way that it connects two of the road segments on that tile, but you may choose which two are connected. Any remaining road segments on this tile end.

Example 1:You place the tile with a lake and your meeple as a highwayman.
You place the ferry so that your road now connects to the one with the blue highwayman on it.

3. Scoring a feature

When you place a tile with a lake on it, if you complete one or more features, these features are scored normally.

Example 2: ❶ You place the tile with a lake and
❷ then place a ferry, completing both the road to the left and the city.
Blue gains 3 points, you score 8 points, and both players return their meeples to their respective supplies.

Final scoring

At the end of the game, normal scoring for incomplete features applies.

After a ferry is placed, its position on its lake can change during the game:

1. Extending a road with a ferry on it

If you extend a road with a ferry already on it by placing a tile, [2] you may reposition that ferry on its tile. The ferry must always connect two road segments. You may choose to reposition the ferry in such a way that it is no longer part of the road that you extended when you placed your tile. If there are multiple ferries on the road you just extended, you may only move the ferry closest to the tile you just placed. [3]

If you continue the road in more than one direction by placing a tile (such as a tile with a bridge), you may reposition the two closest ferries to the tile you just placed. Both ferries must have initially been part of the road you just extended.

By repositioning ferries, it is possible for a road that was previously completed and scored to now be incomplete. [4]

Each ferry may only be repositioned or placed once per turn. If you continue a road that already had a ferry on it by placing a tile with a lake, you must first place the new ferry before you may reposition the existing one.

Example 3: You place a tile, extending a road with a ferry on it. You move the ferry from ❶ to ❷. You and the yellow player no longer have meeples on the same road.

Additional clarifications

If roads from the placed landscape tile extend in several directions, the first ferry in each of these directions may be moved. Thus up to 4 ferries could be moved.

The following diagrams explain the movement of multiple ferries after placing a tile. Figures based on the original ones posted on BGG by Christof Tisch.

Example 4: If You place the tile, you can move ferry ❶ and ❷. You cannot move ferry ❸ since it is not the first ferry from the, just-layed, tile. The yellow meeple has no impact on the ferries in this example..
Example 5: If You place the tile, you place a ferry on it. Then you can move ferries ❶ and ❷ and ❸ since all of them are the first ones on the roads that has been made longer. How you place the ferry on the just-placed tile does not influence which ferries can be moved.

More rules: A ferry may be moved only once per turn. If you place a tile with a lake on it, you first place the ferry on the new lake. Then, you may move any further ferries that are allowed by the above rules.

Sequence summary

When playing The Ferries, the turn sequence is now as follows:

1. Place a Tile
2. Place Meeple
3. Place a Ferry
4. Move a Ferry
5. Score a Feature

Other expansions

  • Inns and Cathedrals: the lakes in Inns and Cathedrals do not interact with the lakes of The Ferries. Roads that have a ferry but no inn are still only worth 1 point per tile.
  • Traders and Builders: Repositioning a ferry to extend a road that your builder occupies does not grant you a double turn; you must actually place a new tile on that road in order to receive the double turn. [5]

Tile Distribution

Total Tiles: 8

Ferries C2 Tile 01.jpg x3
Ferries C2 Tile 02.jpg x4
Ferries C2 Tile 03.jpg x1

Individual lakes may differ between tiles with the same basic layout.


For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.

  1. Icon Open Book.png This step (placement of the ferry) occurs whether or not a meeple was placed. (5/2014)
  2. Icon Open Book.png The road must include a wooden ferry to allow movement of that ferry in this situation. Thus, if adding onto a road that ends at a lake without the wooden ferry connection, the ferry cannot be moved. (2/2013)
  3. Icon Open Book.png In other words, you may move the first ferry that you get to if following a road from the newly placed tile. You may not move any ferries that are beyond the first ferry as seen from the tile. (1/2013)
  4. Icon World Black.png Additionally, a road may be closed just by moving a ferry, without extending it, since a road segment without a ferry on a lake is closed at this end.
  5. Icon Open Book.png If movement of a ferry causes a builder to be on a separate road from the player’s follower, the builder is returned to its owner. It is irrelevant if the follower is still on a road. (5/2013)