- 1 General info and comments
- 2 Contents
- 3 Rules
- 4 Tile Distribution
- 5 Footnotes
General info and comments
A vast array of roads surrounds the realms of Carcassonne. New ferries along these roads alter paths, providing new opportunities to any of your enterprising thieves.
- 8 landscape tiles with a lake
- 8 wooden ferries
Shuffle the new landscape tiles with those of the basic game and stack them normally. Place the ferries within easy reach of all players.
1. Placing a tile
When a player draws a tile with a lake, he or she plays it according to normal rules.
2. Placing a meeple and a ferry
If you place a meeple as a highwayman on a tile with a lake that you just placed, take one ferry from the supply and place it on the lake.  You must place this ferry in such a way that it connects two of the road segments on that tile, but you may choose which two are connected. Any remaining road segments on this tile end.
3. Scoring a feature
After a ferry is placed, its position on its lake can change during the game:
1. Extending a road with a ferry on it
If you extend a road with a ferry already on it by placing a tile,  you may reposition that ferry on its tile. The ferry must always connect two road segments. You may choose to reposition the ferry in such a way that it is no longer part of the road that you extended when you placed your tile. If there are multiple ferries on the road you just extended, you may only move the ferry closest to the tile you just placed. 
If you continue the road in more than one direction by placing a tile (such as a tile with a bridge), you may reposition the two closest ferries to the tile you just placed. Both ferries must have initially been part of the road you just extended.
By repositioning ferries, it is possible for a road that was previously completed and scored to now be incomplete. 
Each ferry may only be repositioned or placed once per turn. If you continue a road that already had a ferry on it by placing a tile with a lake, you must first place the new ferry before you may reposition the existing one.
If roads from the placed landscape tile extend in several directions, the first ferry in each of these directions may be moved. Thus up to 4 ferries could be moved.
The following diagrams explain the movement of multiple ferries after placing a tile. Figures based on the original ones posted on BGG by Christof Tisch.
More rules: A ferry may be moved only once per turn. If you place a tile with a lake on it, you first place the ferry on the new lake. Then, you may move any further ferries that are allowed by the above rules.
When playing The Ferries, the turn sequence is now as follows:
- 1. Place a Tile
- 2. Place Meeple
- 3. Place a Ferry
- 4. Move a Ferry
- 5. Score a Feature
- Inns and Cathedrals: the lakes in Inns and Cathedrals do not interact with the lakes of The Ferries. Roads that have a ferry but no inn are still only worth 1 point per tile.
- Traders and Builders: Repositioning a ferry to extend a road that your builder occupies does not grant you a double turn; you must actually place a new tile on that road in order to receive the double turn. 
Total Tiles: 8
Individual lakes may differ between tiles with the same basic layout.
For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.
- This step (placement of the ferry) occurs whether or not a meeple was placed. (5/2014)
- The road must include a wooden ferry to allow movement of that ferry in this situation. Thus, if adding onto a road that ends at a lake without the wooden ferry connection, the ferry cannot be moved. (2/2013)
- In other words, you may move the first ferry that you get to if following a road from the newly placed tile. You may not move any ferries that are beyond the first ferry as seen from the tile. (1/2013)
- Additionally, a road may be closed just by moving a ferry, without extending it, since a road segment without a ferry on a lake is closed at this end.
- If movement of a ferry causes a builder to be on a separate road from the player’s follower, the builder is returned to its owner. It is irrelevant if the follower is still on a road. (5/2013)