General info and comments
- 10 new Land tiles with a Festival symbol and a "15" logo set amongst some coloured starbursts
Shuffle the 10 Festival tiles together with the Land tiles of the basic game.
This expansion has been developed for the Carcassonne basic game. All of the rules remain the same.
Placing a tile
When you draw a Land tile with the 15th Anniversary logo, you place it according to the normal rules.
Placing a meeple
You must then choose either:
- deploy one of your own meeples to the tile in the usual way; or
- return one of your own meeples   being already on the tiles  to your supply.
The player can also choose to do neither of the above. Note that you are not allowed to place a meeple on the Festival itself.
Captured meeples (from The Tower expansion) cannot be returned to the player's supply in this way.
Scoring a feature
When you complete one or more areas (e.g. a monastery, a road etc.) by placing a Festival tile, you score them according to the normal rules.
There is no additional scoring at the end of the game with the Festival tiles.
Total Tiles: 10
For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.
- All of your own figures are meant here, including normal and large meeples, wagon, mayor, builder, pig, barn, shepherd, phantom, abbot meeple, and ringmaster. (5/2015; updated 12/2018)
No scoring would be applicable to any meeple or special figure, including the abbot and the shepherd. Note that:
- It would be odd to use this expansion to remove an abbot meeple, as it has its own retrieval mechanism that involves scoring.
- If a shepherd is removed, no Guide flock to stable action is invoked and no flock scoring would take place. There is no official clarification about what happens in this case to the shepherd's flock, but it is reasonable to leave it as is on the game board. If it is shared with one or more shepherds, they would not be affected; otherwise, the flock could be claimed by a new shepherd and it would be an analogous case to the sheep found on some tiles in 1st edition minor expansions such as The River III or Halflings II.
- A player cannot return another player's meeple to them. Also, a player cannot return a neutral meeple (such as the fairy or the dragon).
- As the City of Carcassonne from Count, King and Robber is also considered a tile, this allows removal of a meeple from there (even if the Count is in the same space). This would also apply to the City of Leipzig from The Markets of Leipzig, the bathhouses from The Barber-Surgeons, and the 1st edition Wheel of Fortune crown spaces. (updated 12/2018)
- If the Festival is used to remove a meeple, the fairy cannot be moved, as an action was still taken in the “Move Wood” phase. (5/2014)