The Festival (1st edition)
General info and comments
- 10 new landscape tiles (each with the 10-year festival symbol)
Shuffle the 10 Festival tiles together with the Land tiles of the basic game.
This expansion has been developed for the Carcassonne basic game. All of the rules remain the same. .
Placing a tile
When a player draws a tile with a festival symbol on it, he or she should place the tile according to the usual rules.
Deploying a Follower
The player must then choose either:
- deploy one of one’s own figures to the tile in the usual way; or
- return one of one’s own figures   from the entire playing area  to his or her supply.   
The player can also choose to do neither of the above.
Captured meeples (from The Tower expansion) cannot be returned to the player's supply in this way.
When you complete one or more areas (e.g. a monastery, a road etc.) by placing a Festival tile, you score them according to the normal rules.
There is no additional scoring at the end of the game with the Festival tiles.
Total Tiles: 10
For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.
- This “expansion” is really a part of HiG and RGG’s Jubilee Edition of Carcassonne, which essentially consists of a deluxe version of the basic game and this mini-expansion.
- All of one’s own figures are meant here, including normal and big followers, wagon, mayor, builder, pig, and barn.
- A player cannot return a figure from another player. Also, a player cannot return a neutral figure (such as the fairy or the dragon).
- By specifying “entire playing area,” this allows removal of followers from the City of Carcassonne (even if the Count is in the same space) or the Wheel of Fortune crown spaces.
- The RGG 10-year anniversary edition rules actually use the term “followers” for both bullet points. The new version of the Festival tiles sold separately through publisher CundCo also uses the term “followers.” However, the official HiG reading remains “figures.” (updated 5/2014)
- If the Festival is used to remove a follower, the Phantom can still be placed on that turn. (11/2013)
- If the Festival is used to remove a follower, the Fairy cannot be moved, as an action was still taken in the “Move Wood” or “Deploy a Figure” phase. (5/2014)