The Flier (1st edition)
General info and comments
As resourceful hobbyists, the players want to achieve the dream of flying, one of the oldest dreams of mankind, and try out their newly developed wings. Flight length and landing are somewhat unpredictable, however.
- 1 special die marked 1, 1, 2, 2, 3, 3
- 8 new land tiles with aircraft symbol
- 1 new land tile with crop circle
The landscape tiles with the flying machine (aircraft) symbol are mixed with the other landscape tiles. The die is kept available for use.
This expansion has been developed for the Carcassonne basic game. All of the rules remain the same.
Placing a tile
When a player draws a tile with an aircraft symbol, he or she plays it according to normal rules.
Placing a meeple
Then he or she may place a follower on the road or field according to the usual rules.
Alternatively, the player may place a follower as a flier on a flying machine symbol to get the follower in the game.   The flying machine symbol has an arrow showing the direction (horizontally, vertically, or diagonally) in which the follower will fly. Now, the player rolls the die. The die result is the distance that the follower will fly (1 to 3 tiles in a straight line).
If possible, the follower must be placed on the resulting landscape tile representing the end of the flight. The active player can choose which feature to place the follower on. However, the following rules must be followed:
- The follower must only be deployed to an unfinished  structure (road, city, or cloister).    
- The follower may be placed on a feature that is unoccupied  or already occupied (either by one’s own follower or an opposing follower). For example, two followers can stand on a cloister or the same city segment.
- The follower may not be placed on a field segment, even if there is not a farmer on the field already.
- The follower may not be placed in a location where no landscape tile is located.
If the follower cannot be placed (because only completed structures and field segments are present, or because there is not a landscape tile at the location of the flight’s end), the follower is taken back by the player and placed in his stock. The player may not play any more followers on this turn.
Scoring a feature
If the tile with the flying machine completes a feature after placing the tile, the feature is scored as usual.
At the end of the game, normal scoring for incomplete features applies.
The crop circles addition
Total Tiles: 9 (8 + 1 crop circle)
For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.
- Any follower can be a flier, as the flying machine feature is not the final resting place for the follower. However, the final landing point must still be a valid feature for that follower (such as the mayor in a city, see below).
- A phantom can be a flier. However, if you first use a normal follower as a flier then the second figure (the Phantom) cannot also use the flying machine. The flying machine is a feature, so claiming the flying machine feature with the first figure prevents the Phantom from also claiming it. Thus, in this situation the phantom can only be placed on a road or on the field. (5/2013)
- A player cannot place a flier on a structure that was finished by the tile that was just placed, as a feature is considered completed at the moment that a tile is placed, and the flier can only land on an unfinished feature. (2012)
- The flier can land on features outside the City of Carcassonne (but not in the City itself) and outside The Wheel of Fortune (but not on the Wheel itself). The flier can also be deployed to the roads on the school tiles. (1/2013)
- A flier cannot land on a magic portal or any feature other than a road, city, or cloister. The exception is that an abbot can also land on a garden. (2/2013; updated 3/2015)
- The mayor can be a flier. However, the mayor can only land on an unfinished city. If an unfinished city is not available on the tile where the mayor lands, the mayor returns to the player’s supply. (2/2013)
- The abbot can be a flier. However, the abbot can only land on a cloister or a garden. (Yes, gardens are allowed despite the wording of the primary rule.) If an unfinished cloister or garden is not available on the tile where the abbot lands, the abbot returns to the player’s supply. (3/2015)
- The word “unoccupied” is an addition to the RGG version of the rules. (12/2012)
- Note that the Crop Circle tiles included in the mini expansions are different from the tiles released in the initial Crop Circles expansion (referred to as "Crop Circles I").