The Labyrinths

From WikiCarpedia
Jump to: navigation, search
This page contains changes which are not marked for translation.

Other languages:
English • ‎italiano

General info and comments

SpielDoch Issue 1 2016
Expansion symbol

The Labyrinths was originally release by Spiel Doch in 2016.

Issue 1/2016 of the Spiel Doch! magazine contained two new tiles for Carcassonne. One has been illustrated in the style of the 1st edition by Doris Matthäus, the other in the style of the 2nd edition by Anne Pätzke. Both tiles can be used in all editions. Combinations with other expansions and mini-expansions are not completely tested and there are no official rule explanations covering such cases.

Spiel Doch provided a basic set of rules and HiG released a variant for advanced players available on their website at the time of release.

Contents

  • 2 landscape tiles, one 1st Ed. Carcassonne and another for 2nd Ed. Carcassonne
1st edition labyrinth
2nd edition labyrinth

Rules

Preparation

Mix the Labyrinth tile(s) with the other landscape tiles.

Placing a tile

If you draw a labyrinth, you place it according to the normal rules.

Placing a meeple

Basic rules

When you place a labyrinth tile, you are allowed to put a meeple on it (also in compliance with the standard rules). The labyrinth is not a crossing; all outgoing roads are interconnected. Consequently, a meeple can only be placed on it if all the roads connected to the labyrinth tile are unoccupied. [1] The meeple then is a thief on all the connected roads.

Advanced variant

Since the labyrinth makes the connections of the roads quite unmanageable, the placing of meeples is regulated differently in this variant. If you place the labyrinth, you may place a meeple on it even if there is already a meeple on one or more connected roads. [2] It does not matter who owns those meeples.

You place the labyrinth next to a road that connects with it. Although there is already a meeple on this road, you may place a meeple on the labyrinth.

As you progress through the game, if you place a tile at an exit of the labyrinth that does not have a meeple yet, you may place a meeple there, even though the network of roads and the labyrinth itself may have a meeple.

Green later adds a road to an unoccupied labyrinth exit. He too is allowed to use a meeple, although meeples are already on the labyrinth and the adjacent roads.

If you add a road to an existing road that already has a meeple on it, a meeple cannot be placed on it (as usual.) The labyrinth and the four outgoing roads are the exceptions.

You later attach a road to a labyrinth exit. Since there is already a black meeple, you may not place a meeple on the road.

Scoring

Basic rules

The labyrinths are scored according to the normal Carcassonne rules for roads.

Advanced variant

Scoring a Feature

The labyrinth and the connected roads are scored when all 4 of the roads are completed. The player with the majority of meeples on the labyrinth and the connected roads will get 1 point for each tile as usual. In addition, he or she will get 2 points for each meeple standing on the labyrinth or on a connected road. If several players have the majority, each of them gets the full number of points.

All the roads are completed. You and Black are tied for majority. You and Black get 8 points for the tiles and 10 points for the 5 meeples on the tiles. Altogether you each get 18 points.
Final Scoring

The labyrinths are scored according to the normal Carcassonne rules for roads. You get no additional points from the meeples placed on the labyrinth network.

Interactions with other expansions

This sections summarizes the interaction of The Labyrinth with other expansions. These interactions are described as a series of cases where the points you get from the road tiles (including the labyrinth) vary depending on the expansions involved. Independently of how these points are modified, if playing with the advances rules, the bonus points for the meeples on the road do not change in any case when scoring the feature.

  • Case 0 - Regular labyrinth: If a labyrinth is completed, you will get 1 point for each road tile including the labyrinth itself. An incomplete labyrinth at the end of the game is worth 1 point for each tile including the labyrinth itself.
  • Case 1 - Inns & Cathedrals: If a labyrinth is completed and contains one or more inns (inns do not stack) and you have the majority of meeples, you will get 2 points instead of 1 point for each road tile including the labyrinth itself. An incomplete labyrinth with an inn(s) at the end of the game is worth 0 points for each tile including the labyrinth itself.
  • Case 2 - German Cathedrals: If a labyrinth is completed and one or more of its roads end at a German Cathedral (German Cathedrals do not stack) and you have the majority of meeples, you will get 2 points instead of 1 point for each road tile including the labyrinth itself. An incomplete labyrinth with one or more of its roads ending at a German Cathedral at the end of the game is worth 1 point per tile including the Labyrinth itself.
  • Case 3 - The Markets of Leipzig: If a labyrinth is completed and you also have a meeple on the Wainwrights Quarter, and you have the majority of meeples, you receive 1 bonus point per tile including the labyrinth itself. An incomplete labyrinth at the end of the game does not receive the Wainwrights Quarter bonus.
  • Case 4 - Inns & Cathedrals + German Cathedrals: If a labyrinth is completed and contains one or more inns and one or more of its roads end at a German Cathedral and you have the majority of meeples, you will get 3 points instead of 1 point for each road tile including the labyrinth itself. An incomplete labyrinth with an inn(s) at the end of the game is worth 0 points.
  • Case 5 - Inns & Cathedrals + The Markets of Leipzig: If a labyrinth is completed and contains one or more inns and you also have a meeple on the Wainwrights Quarter, and you have the majority of meeples, you will get 3 points instead of 1 point for each road tile including the labyrinth itself. An incomplete labyrinth with an inn(s) at the end of the game is worth 0 points and does not receive the Wainwrights Quarter bonus.
  • Case 6 - German Cathedrals + The Markets of Leipzig: If a labyrinth is completed and one or more of its roads end at a German Cathedral and you also have a meeple on the Wainwrights Quarter, and you have the majority of meeples, you will get 3 points instead of 1 point for each road tile including the labyrinth itself. An incomplete labyrinth with one or more of its roads ending at a German Cathedral at the end of the game is worth 1 points for each tile including the labyrinth itself times your number of meeples on the road, and does not receive the Wainwrights Quarter bonus.
  • Case 7 - Inns & Cathedrals + German Cathedrals + The Markets of Leipzig: If a labyrinth is completed and contains one or more inns and one or more of its roads end at a German Cathedral and you also have a meeple on the Wainwrights Quarter, and you have the majority of meeples, you will get 4 points instead of 1 point for each road tile including the labyrinth itself. An incomplete labyrinth with an inn(s) at the end of the game is worth 0 points and does not receive the Wainwrights Quarter bonus.

The following table describes the same information in a more schematic way:

Scenario Regular Labyrinth Inns and Cathedrals German Cathedrals Markets Of Leipzig Scoring a feature Final scoring
No other expansions involved There are one or more inns on its roads (inns do not stack) One or more of its roads end up at a German Cathedral (German cathedrals do not stack) You have a meeple on the Wainwrights Quarter You have meeple majority of the completed labyrinth You have meeple majority of the incomplete labyrinth
Points from road tiles including the labyrinth
Case 0 X 1 point/tile 1 point/tile
Case 1 X 2 point/tile 0 point/tile
Case 2 X 2 point/tile 1 point/tile
Case 3 X 2 point/tile 1 point/tile
Case 4 X X 3 point/tile 0 point/tile
Case 5 X X 3 point/tile 0 point/tile
Case 6 X X 3 point/tile 1 point/tile
Case 7 X X X 4 point/tile 0 point/tile
Points from meeples placed on road tiles and the labyrinth (advanced rules only)
All cases Any Any Any Any 2 point/meeple 0 point/meeple

Tile distribution

Total Tiles: 2

Labyrinth C1 Tile 01.jpgx1 (1st Edition)
Labyrinth C2 Tile 01.jpgx1 (2nd Edition)

Footnotes

For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.

  1. Icon World Black.png A meeple can be placed on an incomplete labyrinth network by other means if unoccupied: a wagon can move from a completed neighboring feature or a flier can land on any tile of the labyrinth network or a meeple can be placed through a magic portal.
  2. Icon World Black.png A meeple can be placed on an incomplete labyrinth network by other means: an unoccupied labyrinth tile or road segment can be occupied by a wagon moving from a completed neighboring feature or by any meeple via a magic portal or a flier.
    Example: A wagon moves to an unoccupied road brach of an incomplete labyrinth when applying using The Labyrinth advanced rules