The Princess and The Dragon

From WikiCarpedia
Jump to: navigation, search
This page contains changes which are not marked for translation.

Dragon C2 cover.png

General info and comments

Expansion symbol

The Princess & The Dragon was released for the New Edition by Hans im Glück in 2016. It was originally released for the 1st Edition in 2005.

Enter a realm of chivalry and sorcery with this Carcassonne expansion. The Princess sends knights out to perform acts of chivalry; meanwhile, a fearsome dragon threatens followers unprotected by the magic of the fairies! The Princess & The Dragon expansion introduces princesses, dragons, fairies, and other storybook elements that add surprising wrinkles to your Carcassonne game. You can use thirty new tiles to unleash a dragon that devours anyone in its path, summon a fairy to protect your followers, or remove rival knights from a city. No matter what tile you draw, you’ll have plenty of options to disrupt your opponents’ plans and claim more points for yourself.

All in all, this expansion introduces you to the world of fantasy, the land of fairy tales and where knights fight big dragons with the following new features:

  • The dragon
  • The fairy
  • The princess
  • A magic portal

Contents

  • 30 landscape tiles (identified with a fairy symbol)
Tiles showing different features of this expansion
  • 1 dragon
ReferenceFigure Dragon.png
  • 1 fairy
ReferenceFigure Fairy.png

New land tiles

The new Land tiles are played like those in the base game.

Princess And Dragon C2 Tile O.jpg

Monastery in a city: If you choose to place a meeple on this tile, you must choose whether to place it in the city, on the monastery, or in the field. If you wish, you may lay the meeple down on the monastery to differentiate a monk from a knight [1] within the city. The monastery is complete when it is surrounded by tiles, even if the city is still under construction. You may place a monk on this monastery when knights are already present in the city. Likewise, a monk placed on this monastery does not prevent a player from placing a knight in the same city.

Princess And Dragon C2 Tile Q.jpg

Tunnel: The two road segments that proceed through the tunnel are part of a single connected road. [2] The fields, however, are separate.

The Land tiles depict 4 new symbols (explained in further sections):

Volcano
(The dragon appears.)
Dragon
(The dragon moves.)
Princess
(A knight leaves the city.)
Magic portal
(A meeple appears.)

Rules

Preparation

Shuffle the new landscape tiles in with those from the basic game and stack them normally. Place the dragon and fairy to the side for now – they do not belong to any player.

The dragon: volcano and dragon symbols

float


1. Placing a tile

Dragon C2 dragon place.png

The Volcano (6 tiles): Volcano tiles are placed exactly like those in the base game, except you may not place a meeple on a Volcano tile. You may, however, move the fairy after placing a Volcano tile (see below). Place the dragon on the newly placed Volcano tile. Then it is the next player's turn.

Dragon C2 dragon.png

The Dragon (12 tiles): Dragon tiles are placed exactly like those in the base game. Unlike Volcano tiles, you are allowed to place a meeple on a Dragon tile. Then the dragon moves.


1b. The dragon moves [3]

Starting with the active player and proceeding clockwise, players take turns moving the dragon one space at a time (vertically or horizontally) until the dragon has moved 6 spaces or is unable to move.

The dragon may not move to a tile that it has already visited this turn. It also may not move to the tile the fairy occupies (see below). Whenever the dragon moves to a tile occupied by one or more meeples (or other figures), it eats those meeples (or figures), which are returned to their respective players. After the dragon has finished moving, the game continues as normal. A list of figures the dragon does and does not eat can be found below.

Dead end: If the dragon is unable to move (it is only adjacent to tiles it has already visited), its movement ends prematurely.

Example with 4 players:
The dragon begins at the bottom right.
1. Player A moves the dragon up,
2. Player B moves the dragon left,
3. Player C moves the dragon down,
4. Player D must move the dragon left. The dragon already visited the other tiles.
5. Player A must move the dragon up.
6. Player B must move the dragon up.
The blue and red meeples are returned to their respective players.

Important: The dragon is not added to the game until the first Volcano tile has been drawn and placed. If you draw a Dragon tile before such time, set it aside and draw a new tile. As soon as the first Volcano tile is placed and the dragon is added to the game, reshuffle the previously drawn Dragon tiles with the supply before continuing.

The following list illustrates what the dragon does or does not eat. You are welcome to skip them for now and refer to them as necessary.

1b. The dragon's menu (what the dragon eats)

Rule of thumb: The dragon eats all that is flesh and blood!

EditionFigure
Meeples
Base gameMeeple
float
Base game -
The Abbot
Abbot
float
Expansion 1Large meeple
float
Expansion 2Builder
float
Expansion 2Pig
float
Expansion 4Meeple on a tower
float
Expansion 5Mayor
float
Expansion 5Wagon (A tasty meeple is pulling the wagon.)
float
Expansion 9Shepherd (incl. the sheep next to the shepherd)
float
Expansion 10Ringmaster
float
The PhantomPhantom
float
Neutral figures
Mage and WitchMage [4]
float
Mage and WitchWitch [5]
float
The SchoolTeacher [6]
float
The Gingerbread ManGingerbread Man [7] (Winter Edition)
float


1b. The dragon's diet plan (what the dragon does not eat)

The dragon is afraid of the fairy (see below). Meeples in castles (expansion 8) and in the Count's city (expansion 6) are protected.

EditionFigure/Tile
Base gameLand tile (This is true of all varieties of Land tiles)
float
Expansion 3Fairy
float
Expansion 4Tower piece
float
Expansion 5Barn [8]
float
Expansion 8Bridge
float
Expansion 8Castle
float


2. Placing a meeple

Player does not place a meeple in case of Volcane tile. Player can place a meeple on dragon tile.

The princess

float


1. Placing a tile

There are 6 princess tiles. Princess tiles are placed exactly like those in the base game. If a Princess tile continues a city occupied by one or more knights, you may remove one knight of your choice (even your own) [9] from the continued city and return it to its player's supply.


2. Placing a meeple

If you chose to remove a meeple during step 1, you may not place a meeple this turn (not even on a different segment of the tile). If you did not remove a meeple during step 1, you may place a meeple as normal.

Example: You place a Princess tile and remove the blue knight from the city. You may not place a meeple this turn.


3. Scoring a feature

The princess does no affect scoring.

The magic portal

float


1. Placing a tile

There are 6 tiles with magic portal symbols. Place tile with magic portal in the usual manner.


2. Placing a meeple

After placing a Magic Portal tile, you may place a meeple on that tile or on any other previous placed tile. When doing so, you must follow all other placement rules. For example, you may not place a meeple in an already occupied or completed feature. [10]

Example: You place a Magic Portal tile on the left, but place a meeple in the unoccupied city on the right.

All figures that are used like meeples (normal meeples, abbot, large meeple, mayor, wagon, ringmaster, and phantom [11]) may be placed via the magic portal.


3. Scoring a feature

Portal does no affect scoring.

The fairy

float


The fairy is a special figure that belongs to no player. It begins the game in the supply.

2. Placing a meeple

The fairy moves

On any turn in which you do not place (or move) a meeple, you may assign the fairy to one of your meeples by placing the fairy directly next to it.[12]

When the fairy is standing next to one of your meeples, it can help that meeple in 3 different ways:

1. Placing a tile

  • 1 point at the beginning of your turn
If the fairy is still assigned to your meeple at the start of your turn, you immediately score 1 point.


1b. The dragon moves

  • Protection from the dragon

The dragon may not move to a tile occupied by the fairy. All figures on the fairy's tile are protected from the dragon's hunger.

Example 1: The dragon moves. Because the fairy occupies the tile to the left, the dragon may not move there and moves up instead.


3. Scoring a feature

  • Additional points when scoring

When scoring a feature (city, road, monastery, field, etc.) where the fairy is assigned to one of your meeples, you score 3 additional points, regardless of whether or not you score points for the scored feature. Your meeple returns to your supply, as normal, but the fairy remains on its tile.

Example 2: Blue places a tile and completes the city. Blue scores 8 points. You also score 8 points, plus 3 additional points for the fairy, for a total of 11 points.

Other expansions

This section contains additional information about the interactions with other Carcassonne expansions.

Volcano

Dragon

  • The dragon eats the following neutral figures on a tile:
    • Mage (Mage and Witch) -as per the additional clarifications (3/2015)
    • Witch (Mage and Witch) -as per the additional clarifications (3/2015)
    • Teacher, and removes it from the game (The School) -as per the additional clarifications (see below) (3/2015)
    • Gingerbread Man (Winter Edition - Gingerbread Man) -as per the iOS version (12/2014)
  • Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders:
    • If the dragon eats a player's last knight in a city where the player's builder is present, the builder is automatically returned to the player's supply. (The reason: builders are not meeples.)
    • If the dragon eats a player's last highwayman [13] on a road where the player's builder is present, the builder is automatically returned to the player's supply.
    • If the dragon eats a player's last farmer in a field where the player's pig is present, the pig is automatically returned to the player's supply. (The reason: pigs are not meeples.)
  • Exp. 4 - The Tower: Placing a tower piece happens after moving the dragon.

Question: If you place a dragon tile and add a piece to a tower, what happens first: meeple capture by the tower, or dragon movement?

Answer: Prisoners are taken after moving the dragon; placing a tower piece is an alternative to deploying a meeple, so this occurs after dragon movement.

  • Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber:
    • The dragon may not enter the city of Carcassonne.
    • Note that the dragon can still move onto tiles that include the City of Carcassonne, treating the landscape areas as normal tiles, but it must stay outside the City itself. Thus only figures outside the City are eaten, and those inside (including the Count) are safe. (12/2013)
  • Exp. 9 - Hills & Sheep: If a tile with a dragon icon is placed and extends the field with the active player’s shepherd, the dragon moves before the player can perform the shepherd action (grow or guide the flock to stable.)
  • The Wheel of Fortune:
    • The dragon may not enter the Wheel of Fortune.
    • The dragon can fly around the outside of the Wheel of Fortune, treating the landscape areas as normal tiles and eating any followers on those tiles. Followers on the Wheel of Fortune itself are unaffected. This represents a notable change from previous FAQs. (10/2012)
  • Castles in Germany: German castles do not protect followers within, or on any feature on the tile. (10/2015)
  • The School: The dragon is allowed on the school tiles and can eat the neutral teacher figure, removing the teacher from the game entirely. This represents a change to a previous clarification, where the teacher could not be eaten. Additionally, this requires players to place the teacher on only one of the school tiles each time he returns to the school when playing with the dragon, as precise location will be important. (3/2015)

Princess

  • Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders:
    • If the princess removes a player's last knight in a city where the player's builder is present, the builder is automatically returned to the player's supply.
    • Builders cannot be directly removed by a princess, as builders are not meeples.
  • Exp. 4 - The Tower: The princess cannot seduce a meeple on a tower located in a city.

Question: If the dragon can eat a meeple on a tower, can the meeple also be seduced by a princess?

Answer: No. The tower is not a part of the city: they are two separate areas.

  • The Phantom: The placement of a princess tile with removal of a knight from the city cannot be used as a first "meeple move" and be followed by placement of the Phantom (e.g. into the now-vacated city). As per the rules for the princess, "if a knight is removed from the city, the player may not deploy or move any other figure." [This combo would be too powerful in allowing city stealing. –ed.]

Magic portal

  • A magic portal may be used to place any meeple:
    • Normal meeple (Base game)
    • Abbot (Base game - The Abbot)
    • Large meeple (Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals)
    • Mayor (Exp. 5 - Abbey and Mayor)
    • Wagon (Exp. 5 - Abbey and Mayor)
    • Ringmaster (Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top)
    • Phantom (The Phantom)
      • However, because the magic portal counts as a feature, a wooden meeple and the Phantom cannot BOTH use the magic portal on a turn – the first meeple placed on the magic portal claims the magic portal, and no meeple (including the Phantom) can be placed on a claimed feature. (1/2013)
  • A magic portal may not be used to place these figures, as they are not meeples (updated 3/2015):
  • Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber:
    • Meeples can use the magic portal to be deployed on features outside the City of Carcassonne. (1/2013)
    • Meeples cannot use the magic portal to be deployed to the City of Carcassonne, as they are not occupied using regular placement rules. (confirmed 5/2013)
  • Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top: You can use a magic portal to place one of your normal meeples on an acrobat space/pyramid.
  • The Wheel of Fortune:
    • Meeples can use the magic portal to be deployed on features outside the Wheel of Fortune. (1/2013)
    • Meeples cannot use the magic portal to be deployed to the Wheel of Fortune, as they are not occupied using regular placement rules. (confirmed 5/2013)
  • The Markets of Leipzig:
    • Meeples can use the magic portal to be deployed on features outside the City of Leipzig. (1/2019)
    • Meeples cannot use the magic portal to be deployed to the City of Leipzig, as they are not occupied using regular placement rules. (1/2019)
  • The School:
    • Meeples can use the magic portal to be deployed on features outside on the school tiles (outside the school itself). (1/2013)
    • Meeples cannot use the magic portal to be deployed to the school itself, as they are not occupied using regular placement rules. (confirmed 5/2013)

Fairy

  • If a player moves the fairy, the player also may place the following figure:
    • Phantom (The Phantom) - according to additional clarifications. (12/2014)
  • Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders:
    • If a player scored the fairy's 1 point bonus at the beginning of their turn, they may not score it again at the beginning of a double turn via the builder.
    • Because builders and pigs are not meeples, it is not possible to move the fairy next to either of them, as the fairy can only stand next to a meeple.
  • Exp. 4 - The Tower:
    • The fairy can be moved to a tile where the only meeple on the tile is on a tower.
    • The fairy does not protect a meeple from capture by a tower.
  • Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber: If the fairy is next to a meeple on the losing feature when resolving a challenge, it does not provide the bonus 3 points to that meeple, as the feature is incomplete.

Question: If the fairy is on the same tile as the losing heretic or monk in a challenge, does the player still score the bonus 3 points?

Answer: When a challenge is resolved (that is, when someone has won), both meeples are returned to their players, so no one stands next to the fairy. [At the point that a challenge is resolved and one participant "scores" zero, the building that participant is in will be incomplete. Therefore, strictly speaking, that participant does not actually take part in "scoring" —say, in the way that a player without the majority in a city does—and so does not score the bonus points— ed.]

  • Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top: You may assign the fairy to an acrobat, in which case it counts for all acrobats in the pyramid (regardless of color). If the fairy is still there at the beginning of your turn, you score 1 point for each of your meeples in the pyramid - This case relaxes the restriction that only one meeple can receive points from the fairy.
  • The Flier (Flying Machines): Only one meeple can be "next to" (or connected to) the fairy. Thus, only one meeple will receive points from the fairy. Even if another meeple is placed in the same feature on the same tile (as with the Flying Machines), this would not be considered "next to" the fairy.
  • Crop Circles: Only one meeple can be "next to" (or connected to) the fairy. Thus, only one meeple will receive points from the fairy. Even if another meeple is placed in the same feature on the same tile (as with the Crop Circles), this would not be considered "next to" the fairy.
  • The Festival: If a Festival is used to remove a follower, the fairy cannot be moved, as an action was still taken in the Move Wood or Place a meeple phase. (5/2014)

New tiles

  • The Tunnel: If using the tunnel tokens from The Tunnel, then the road shown on the tile with a tunnel is indeed broken, and the segments may never actually meet.

House Rules

  • Replace dragon tiles into the bag and redraw right away if there is no dragon in play yet. (Thanks to dwhitworth)
  • Players are allowed to claim a fairy point until the bag is handed to the next player, but then it’s tough if they forget! (Thanks to dwhitworth)
  • Abandon the 1-point bonus for the fairy altogether, instead awarding 5 points for a protected follower completing a feature. (Thanks to viberunner)
  • The fairy does not prevent the dragon from moving to a tile, but it still prevents the dragon from eating any figures on that tile. (Thanks to jrizos)

Tile distribution

Total Land Tiles: 30 Tiles

Princess And Dragon C2 Tile A.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile B.jpg x1
(G)
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile C.jpg x1
(W)
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile D.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile E.jpg x1
(W)
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile F.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile G.jpg x2
(H;H)
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile H.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile I.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile J.jpg x1
(G)
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile K.jpg x1
(D)
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile L.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile M.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile N.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile O.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile P.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile Q.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile R.jpg x1
(F)
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile S.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile T.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile U.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile V.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile W.jpg x1
(H)
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile X.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile Y.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile Z.jpg x1
 
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile 1.jpg x1
(F)
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile 2.jpg x1
(P)
Princess And Dragon C2 Tile 3.jpg x1
 

Many of the tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:


Base Game C2 Feature Garden.jpg
G | Garden
Base Game C2 Feature Farmhouse.jpg
F | Farmhouse
Base Game C2 Feature Water Tower.jpg
W | Water Tower
Base Game C2 Feature Highwayman.jpg
H | Highwayman
Base Game C2 Feature Pigs.jpg
P | Pigs
Base Game C2 Feature Donkeys.jpg
D | Donkeys

Footnotes

For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.

  1. Icon Open Book.png Any meeple in a city is a knight. This includes normal meeples, big meeples, mayors, wagons, ringmasters, and phantoms. (01/2015, updated 1/2019)
  2. Icon Open Book.png If using The Tunnel, the road shown on this tile may be affected (See Other Expansions for more details).
  3. Icon Double Arrow Black.png The rules regarding dragon movement change between editions. The New Edition performs the dragon movement right after 1. Placing a tile and before the 2. Placing a meeple phase, whereas the 1st Edition had two different rulings depending on the publisher:
    • HiG and ZMG: The dragon moves after the 2. Placing a meeple phase and right before the 3. Score a feature phase.
    • RGG: The dragon moves after the 3. Score a feature phase (this is as per the rules text, however the turn sequence shown in Big Boxes 1-3 show the same order as the previous bullet - So the discrepancy with the other two publishers may be a due to an editing error.)
  4. Icon Open Book.png The Mage was included in the list of neutral figures that can be eaten by the dragon. (3/2015)
  5. Icon Open Book.png The Witch was included in the list of neutral figures that can be eaten by the dragon. (3/2015)
  6. Icon Open Book.png The dragon is allowed on the school tiles and can eat the neutral teacher figure, removing the teacher from the game entirely. This represents a change to a previous clarification, where the teacher could not be eaten. Additionally, this requires players to place the teacher on only one of the school tiles each time he returns to the school when playing with the dragon, as precise location will be important. (3/2015)
  7. Icon Open Book.png The Gingerbread Man (when playing the iOS version) can also be eaten by the dragon. (12/2014)
  8. Icon Open Book.png The barn cannot be eaten by the dragon, since the barn stands at the intersection of 4 tiles, while the dragon only affects figures discretely on a single tile.
  9. Icon Double Arrow Black.png This clarification in parentheses was first added to the 2010 version of the rules for the New Edition. (12/2013)
  10. Icon Open Book.png Note that if placement of the portal tile causes completion of a feature, such as a monastery, you cannot deploy a meeple to that feature using the magic portal, as it is considered completed before the 2. Placing a meeple (or Move Wood) phase. (7/2014, updated 1/2019)
  11. Icon Open Book.png This list has been extended to included all exiting meeples for the sake of completeness: Normal meeples, ringmaster (added later in Under the Big Top) and phantom (from 1st Edition The Phantom) have been included (1/2019)
  12. Icon World Black.png It seems that a player with no meeples on the board cannot move the fairy, even if he or she did not deploy a figure that turn, as there is not a legal tile to which the fairy can be moved.
  13. Icon Open Book.png A highwayman is any follower placed on a road. (The reason: builders are not meeples.)