The Princess and The Dragon (1st edition)

From WikiCarpedia
Jump to: navigation, search
This page contains changes which are not marked for translation.

Other languages:
Deutsch • ‎English • ‎italiano


Princess And Dragon C1 Front Cover.png

General info and comments

Expansion symbol

The Princess and The Dragon (P&D) was originally released by Hans im Glück in 2005. The tiles of the first German editions had no expansion symbol.

This is the third major expansion for Carcassonne and introduces a few new aspects to the game. This expansion introduces you to the world of fantasy, the land of fairy tales and where knights fight big dragons.

New features/things are:

  • The dragon
  • The fairy
  • The princess
  • A magic portal

Contents

  • 30 new and tiles, including 6 volcanos, 12 dragon tiles, 6 magic portals and 6 princess tiles
  • 1 dragon
ReferenceFigure Dragon.png
  • 1 fairy
ReferenceFigure Fairy.png


The tiles of the first German editions had no expansion symbol.

Rules

Preparation

The 30 tiles should be mixed with the rest of the tiles.

The fairy and the dragon should be placed at the side of the table, and will be brought into play once the game is under way.

Placing a tile

The new land tiles are placed in the usual way. All the new tiles contain a symbol (a volcano, a dragon, a princess or a magic portal) which can have an effect on the next stage, Deploy a Follower. Full details of these tiles are described below.

Other new tiles:

Tile with tunnel
Tunnel: The road is not broken, and neither are the farms on the bottom and the top.[1]
Cloister in the city
Cloister in the city: When a player deploys a follower here, it must be clearly placed either in the city or on the cloister. If the follower is deployed to the cloister, then the cloister is scored when it is surrounded by eight land tiles, even when the city is not completed. The follower can also be deployed as a monk if there is already a knight in the connected city. The reverse is also true.

Deploying a follower

Followers can be placed on regular tile features as per the normal rules, with specific rules for the tile features introduced in this expansion detailed below.

The fairy

float
The fairy

The fairy begins the game at the edge of the playing field.

When a player does not deploy a follower [2] on his or her turn, the player may now decide to move the neutral fairy next to [3] one of his or her followers. [4] If the fairy is already on a tile, it may be moved to another.

The fairy has three effects:

  • Protection from the Dragon: The dragon cannot enter a tile with the fairy on it. Thus, any figure on this tile is protected from the dragon.
  • 1 Point at the beginning of a turn: At the start of a player’s turn, if the fairy is next to one of the player’s followers, he or she scores 1 point immediately. [5] If a player uses his builder to generate a double turn, this bonus is still only scored once. [6]
  • 3 Points at scoring: If the fairy is standing next to a follower in a feature (city, road, cloister, or farm) that is being scored, the owner of that follower receives 3 points, independent of how much (if anything) the player otherwise receives from the scoring. [7]
Note that the scoring of the 3 bonus points is independent of the normal points scored for the completed feature. Thus, a follower in that feature and on the fairy tile will score 3 points even if that player does not have the majority for the purposes of scoring the feature. The follower is then returned to the player, while the fairy remains where it is.
If a player completes a city and does not deploy a follower, he or she can move the fairy to a follower in the city and earn the three bonus points. The deployment of a follower —and so the movement of the fairy— occurs before any scoring.

The volcano

A volcano

A player who draws and places a volcano tile must immediately move the dragon to this tile from its current location - this may be at the side of the table, or on an already placed tile. The player may not deploy a follower (or any other figure, except the dragon) [8] to the tile, but may —according to the usual rules— move the fairy. [9] At no point may followers occupy the same tile as the dragon.

The dragon is placed on the volcano tile

The dragon

The dragon symbol

A player who places a dragon tile may deploy a follower or move the fairy as usual. [10] Then (before scoring) the game is interrupted [11] —the dragon is on the move!

Beginning with the player whose turn it is, each player must move the dragon exactly one tile horizontally or vertically. The dragon always moves six tiles, irrespective of the number of players, except in the case of a dead end. It may not move onto a tile twice, and the tile occupied by the fairy is also off limits. The dragon is not allowed to move back to the tile from which it started.

Whenever the dragon enters a tile occupied by any player’s figure or neutral figure, they are all returned to the relevant player or to the side of the board as described below.




2015 FAQ: Meal plan for Dragons

The dragon eats followers. So far so good. But with all the special characters from expansions, it is sometimes difficult to understand what else is on the menu of the dragon. The rules were often at odds with common sense. Therefore, we, along with Klaus Jürgen Wrede, have decided to make the diet as intuitive as possible.

The new motto is: The dragon eats everything of flesh and blood. However, the dragon still fears the fairy. Followers in a castle or the City of Carcassonne are also protected.

  • Dragon meal plan (dragon can eat): follower, follower on a tower, big follower, wagon (has a tasty crew), mayor, phantom, abbot, shepherd, sheep token, builder, pig, mage, witch.[12] [13] [14]
  • Dragon diet plan (dragon cannot eat): barn, [15] tower piece, fairy, bridge, castle, ferry, gold, tunnel token, plague token, little building token, catapult token, landscape tile.
  • Protection from dragons (figures in the following locations are safe from the dragon): land tile with fairy, inside the City of Carcassonne, [16] in a castle,[17] [18] inside the Wheel of Fortune, inside the school.




When the dragon has finished moving, play continues as usual.

Dead ends: If the dragon moves to a tile from which it cannot continue to move according to the rules above, then its movement phase is ended prematurely.

Note: Until a volcano tile has been placed, the dragon remains on the edge of the playing field, and is not moved. If a dragon tile is drawn, it is placed to one side and the player may draw another tile. As soon as the dragon is in play, any dragon tiles which have been laid to one side are mixed into the supply and the game continues as before.

An example with four players:
* Player A moves the dragon up.
* Player B moves the dragon left.
* Player C moves the dragon down.
* Player D moves the dragon left—it cannot move right.
* Then it is player A’s turn again, and the dragon moves up a tile.
* Then player B moves the dragon up once more, and the movement of the dragon is over.
* The BLUE and RED followers are returned to the supplies of their owners.

Question: When a city, cloister, or road is completed by placing a dragon tile, is it scored before the movement of the dragon?

Answer: The dragon is moved before scoring and may possibly clear the city, cloister or road in question before any scoring takes place. [As noted in a previous footnote, this is true in HiG and ZMG rules, but scoring occurs first in RGG rules – ed.]

The magic portal

A magic portal

If a player places a magic portal tile, on this turn he or she may deploy a follower to that tile or to a tile already in play. The portal is never really considered completed, as it is simply a doorway. (2/2013)

The usual rules must be followed —for example, the follower may not be deployed to an already occupied or completed feature.[19] Note that if placement of the portal tile causes completion of a feature, such as a cloister, you cannot deploy a follower to that feature using the magic portal, as it is considered completed before the move wood phase. (7/2014)

RED places the tile with the magic portal on the left and puts his follower on the tile with the previously unoccupied city on the right.

The princess

The princess

If a player draws a tile with a princess, it may be placed according to the usual rules. If the player uses the tile to extend a city which is already occupied by one or more knights, the player may[20] remove one knight[21] [22] [23] (including his own) [24] from the city and return it to its owner. If the player does not remove a follower, he may deploy a follower as normal.[25]

  • If there are knights of several players in the city, the player placing the tile may freely choose which knight is to be removed.
  • If a knight is removed from the city, the player may not deploy or move any other figure (see below for more details.)
RED places the tile with the princess and removes the BLUE knight. RED now may not place any follower or other figure.

Scoring

When you complete one or more areas (e.g. a monastery, a road etc.) by placing a Princess and Dragon tile, you score them according to the normal rules.

Final scoring

There is no additional scoring at the end of the game with the Princess and Dragon tiles.

Other Expansions

This section contains additional information about the interactions with other Carcassonne expansions.

The fairy

  • If a player moves the fairy, the player also may place the following figure:
    • Phantom (The Phantom) - according to additional clarifications. (12/2014)
  • Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders:
    • If a player scored the fairy's 1 point bonus at the beginning of their turn, they may not score it again at the beginning of a double turn via the builder. (12/2013)
    • Because builders and pigs are not followers, it is not possible to move the fairy next to either of them, as the fairy can only stand next to a follower.
  • Exp. 4 - The tower:
    • The fairy can be moved to a tile where the only follower on the tile is on a tower.
    • The fairy does not protect a follower from capture by a tower. (12/2013)
  • Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber: If the fairy is next to a follower on the losing feature when resolving a challenge, it does not provide the bonus 3 points to that follower, as the feature is incomplete.

Question: If the fairy is on the same tile as the losing heretic or monk in a challenge, does the player still score the bonus 3 points?

Answer: When a challenge is resolved (that is, when someone has won), both followers are returned to the player, so no one stands next to the fairy. [At the point that a challenge is resolved and one participant “scores” zero, the building that participant is in will be incomplete. Therefore, strictly speaking, that participant does not actually take part in “scoring”—say, in the way that a player without the majority in a city does—and so does not score the bonus points—ed.]

  • Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top: You may assign the fairy to an acrobat, in which case it counts for all acrobats in the pyramid (regardless of color). If the fairy is still there at the beginning of your turn, you score 1 point for each of your followers in the pyramid - This case relaxes the restriction that only one follower can receive points from the fairy.
  • The Flier (Flying Machines): Only one follower can be "next to" (or connected to) the fairy. Thus, only one follower will receive points from the fairy. Even if another follower is placed in the same feature on the same tile (as with the Flying Machines), this would not be considered "next to" the fairy.
  • Crop Circles: Only one follower can be "next to" (or connected to) the fairy. Thus, only one follower will receive points from the fairy. Even if another follower is placed in the same feature on the same tile (as with the Crop Circles), this would not be considered "next to" the fairy.
  • The Festival: If a Festival is used to remove a follower, the fairy cannot be moved, as an action was still taken in the Move Wood or Deploy a Figure phase. (5/2014)

The volcano

The dragon

  • The dragon eats the following neutral figures on a tile:
    • Mage (Mage and Witch) -as per the additional clarifications (3/2015)
    • Witch (Mage and Witch) -as per the additional clarifications (3/2015)
    • Teacher, and removes it from the game (The School) -as per the additional clarifications (see below) (3/2015)
    • Gingerbread Man (Winter Edition - Gingerbread Man) -as per the iOS version (12/2014)
  • Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders:
    • If the dragon eats a player's last knight in a city where the player's builder is present, the builder is automatically returned to the player's supply. (The reason: builders are not followers.)
    • If the dragon eats a player's last thief [26] on a road where the player's builder is present, the builder is automatically returned to the player's supply.
    • If the dragon eats a player's last farmer in a farm where the player's pig is present, the pig is automatically returned to the player's supply. (The reason: pigs are not followers.)
  • Exp. 4 - The Tower: Placing a tower piece happens before moving the dragon.

Question: If you place a dragon tile and add a piece to a tower, what happens first: follower capture by the tower, or dragon movement?

Answer: Prisoners are taken first; placing a tower piece is an alternative to deploying a follower, so this occurs before dragon movement.

  • Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber:
    • The dragon cannot move into the City of Carcassonne.
    • Note that the dragon can still move onto tiles that include the City of Carcassonne, treating the landscape areas as normal tiles, but it must stay outside the City itself. Thus only figures outside the City are eaten, and those inside (including the Count) are safe. (12/2013)
  • Exp. 9 - Hills & Sheep: If a tile with a dragon icon is placed and extends the field with the active player’s shepherd, the player can perform the shepherd action (expand or herd the flock) before the dragon moves. (3/2015)
  • The Wheel of Fortune:
    • The dragon may not enter the Wheel of Fortune.
    • The dragon can fly around the outside of the Wheel of Fortune, treating the landscape areas as normal tiles and eating any followers on those tiles. Followers on the Wheel of Fortune itself are unaffected. This represents a notable change from previous FAQs. (10/2012)
  • Castles in Germany: German castles do not protect followers within, or on any feature on the tile. (10/2015)
  • The School: The dragon is allowed on the school tiles and can eat the neutral teacher figure, removing the teacher from the game entirely. This represents a change to a previous clarification, where the teacher could not be eaten. Additionally, this requires players to place the teacher on only one of the school tiles each time he returns to the school when playing with the dragon, as precise location will be important. (3/2015)

The magic portal

  • A magic portal may be used to place any follower on a legal feature for that follower (updated 3/2015):
    • Normal meeple (Base game)
    • Large meeple (Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals)
    • Mayor (Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor)
    • Wagon (Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor)
    • Ringmaster (Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top)
    • Abbot (The Abbot)
    • Phantom (The Phantom)
      • However, because the magic portal counts as a feature, a wooden follower and the Phantom cannot BOTH use the magic portal on a turn – the first follower placed on the magic portal claims the magic portal, and no follower (including the Phantom) can be placed on a claimed feature. (1/2013)
  • A magic portal may not be used to place these figures, as they are not followers (updated 3/2015):
  • Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber:
    • Followers can use the magic portal to be deployed on features outside the City of Carcassonne. (1/2013)
    • Followers cannot use the magic portal to be deployed to the City of Carcassonne, as they are not occupied using regular placement rules. (confirmed 5/2013)
  • Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top: You can use a magic portal to place one of your normal followers on an acrobat space/pyramid.
  • The Wheel of Fortune:
    • Followers can use the magic portal to be deployed on features outside the Wheel of Fortune. (1/2013)
    • Followers cannot use the magic portal to be deployed to the Wheel of Fortune, as they are not occupied using regular placement rules. (confirmed 5/2013)
  • The School:
    • Followers can use the magic portal to be deployed on features outside on the school tiles (outside the school itself). (1/2013)
    • Followers cannot use the magic portal to be deployed to the school itself, as they are not occupied using regular placement rules. (confirmed 5/2013)
  • The Markets of Leipzig:
    • Followers can use the magic portal to be deployed on features outside the City of Leipzig. (1/2019)
    • Followers cannot use the magic portal to be deployed to the City of Leipzig, as they are not occupied using regular placement rules. (1/2019)

The princess

  • Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders:
    • If the princess removes a player's last knight in a city where the player's builder is present, the builder is automatically returned to the player's supply.
    • Builders cannot be directly removed by a princess, as builders are not followers.
  • Exp. 4 - The Tower: The princess cannot seduce a follower on a tower located in a city.

Question: If the dragon can eat a follower on a tower, can the follower also be seduced by a princess?

Answer: No. The tower is not a part of the city: they are two separate areas.

  • The Phantom: The placement of a princess tile with removal of a knight from the city cannot be used as a first “follower move” and be followed by placement of the Phantom (e.g. into the now-vacated city). As per the rules for the princess, "if a knight is removed from the city, the player may not deploy or move any other figure." [This combo would be too powerful in allowing city stealing. –ed.]

New tiles

  • The Tunnel: If using the tunnel tokens from The Tunnel, then the road shown on the tile with a tunnel is indeed broken, and the segments may never actually meet.
Tile with tunnel

House Rules

  • Replace dragon tiles into the bag and redraw right away if there is no dragon in play yet. (Thanks to dwhitworth)
  • Players are allowed to claim a fairy point until the bag is handed to the next player, but then it’s tough if they forget! (Thanks to dwhitworth)
  • Abandon the 1-point bonus for the fairy altogether, instead awarding 5 points for a protected follower completing a feature. (Thanks to viberunner)
  • The fairy does not prevent the dragon from moving to a tile, but it still prevents the dragon from eating any figures on that tile. (Thanks to jrizos)

Tile distribution

Total Tiles: 30

Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 01.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 02.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 03.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 04.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 05.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 06.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 07.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 08.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 09.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 10.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 11.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 12.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 13.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 14.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 15.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 16.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 17.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 18.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 19.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 20.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 21.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 22.jpgx2
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 23.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 24.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 25.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 26.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 27.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 28.jpgx1
Princess And Dragon C1 Tile 29.jpgx1


Footnotes

For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.

  1. Icon Open Book.png If using The Tunnel, the road shown on this tile may be affected (See Other Expansions for more details).
  2. Icon World Black.png The RGG edition of the Big Box states only that “whenever a player places no follower on his turn, he may, instead, place the fairy.” However, it still seems reasonable to conclude that fairy placement is an alternative to placing a pig, builder, tower piece, or other figure, even if they are not explicitly mentioned.
  3. Icon Double Arrow Black.png The bolded text (“next to”) represents the current HiG rules, and the fairy rules have been reiterated in further clarifications. However, the RGG and ZMG rules instead state that the fairy is simply placed on the tile that has one of the player’s followers. This lack of specificity in the RGG and ZMG rules would be an important consideration in the 2nd and 3rd effects of the fairy discussed below. (updated 5/2013)
  4. Icon World Black.png It seems that a player with no followers on the board cannot move the fairy, even if he or she did not deploy a figure that turn, as there is not a legal tile to which the fairy can be moved.
  5. Icon Double Arrow Black.png In the RGG and ZMG versions of the rules, a follower on the same tile as the fairy will generate the 1-point bonus (again, because in these rules the fairy is not specifically placed beside a single follower). Thus, by these rules, it would be conceivable that multiple players could benefit from fairy placement if there were multiple followers on (different features of) the same tile. (updated 5/2013)
  6. Icon Double Arrow Black.png This sentence stems from an FAQ and is now included in the RGG Big Box 3 rules.
  7. Icon Double Arrow Black.png The RGG version of the rules states that the follower simply must stand on the tile with the fairy to be eligible for the 3 point bonus, again because specificity in fairy placement is not required. Interestingly, the ZMG version emphasizes that the fairy and follower must “stand together” to receive the points, even though placement of the fairy in the ZMG version is only to the tile generally. (updated 5/2013)
  8. Icon Double Arrow Black.png The clarification regarding all figures is a change in Big Box 2 and Big Box 3. Previously, builders and pigs could also be deployed when a volcano tile was placed.
  9. Icon Double Arrow Black.png This is a notable change in the rules, especially in respect of a previously available FAQ which clearly stated that the fairy could only be moved when the player relinquished the deployment of a follower —and since no follower could be deployed when a volcano tile is placed, the fairy could not be moved either. That ruling has obviously been overturned, since the rules now state that the fairy may be moved when a volcano tile is placed. Indeed, the rules now say that a player may move the fairy whenever he or she does not place a follower. Thus, the player no longer has to "choose" not to deploy a follower— in any case when a follower is not or cannot be deployed, the fairy may be moved. This is in fact consistent with another FAQ, which stated that the fairy may still be moved if the player has run out of followers.
  10. Icon Open Book.png This is a clarification, in accordance with the FAQ. The original rules made no mention of the fairy. The dragon tile may be placed, no follower deployed, and the fairy moved to protect a follower, before the dragon actually moves.
  11. Icon Double Arrow Black.png The RGG edition contradicts the sequence described in the HiG edition and the FAQ: "If placement of the tile completes a feature, it is scored as normal. Then, the game is briefly interrupted while the Dragon moves." So, according to the RGG edition of the Big Box, dragon movement occurs after scoring; according to HiG it occurs before scoring. The ZMG edition follows the HiG rule and specifically adds that the interruption is "before scoring." (5/2013)
    This discrepancy is present in the text of this section for all the RGG Big Boxes containing The Princess and The Dragon (Big Box 1-3). However the Turn sequence table at the end of the manual shows the dragon movement before scoring, the same as the HiG edition. Thus, it seems a persistent editing error in the manuals. (1/2019)
  12. Icon Double Arrow Black.png In rules prior to March 2015, neutral figures, including the mage, the witch, and the teacher could not be eaten by the dragon. (3/2015, updated 1/2019)
  13. Icon Open Book.png The Gingerbread Man (when playing the iOS version) can also be eaten by the dragon. (12/2014)
  14. Icon Open Book.png Ringmasters can also be eaten by the dragon. (1/2019)
  15. Icon Open Book.png The barn cannot be eaten by the dragon, as is clarified in Abbey and the Mayor. Remember, the barn stands at the intersection of 4 tiles, while the dragon only affects figures discretely on a single tile.
  16. Icon World Black.png The dragon should not enter the city of Leipzig either (The Markets of Leipzig), due to its similarity to the City of Carcassonne (see Count, King and Robber) but this is not officially confirmed. (1/2019)
  17. Icon Double Arrow Black.png Followers in castles (Bridges, Castles and Bazaars) are safe from the dragon because they are not on a single tile. This clarification was first added to the Big Box 3 version of the rules. (modified 12/2013)
  18. Icon Open Book.png German castles (Castles in Germany) do not protect followers within, or on any feature on the tile. (10/2015)
  19. Icon Double Arrow Black.png The original rules stated that a follower could not be deployed to a feature which had not yet been scored — leaving the possibility that a follower could use a magic portal to reach a feature which had been completed, but not scored. This was corrected in an FAQ, and now in these rules. The magic portal may not be used to reach a completed feature, whether it was scored or not.
  20. Icon Double Arrow Black.png This is a change to the original rules, which stated that the princess must remove a knight, unless there was no knight in the city at all. The change, first seen in Big Box 2, brings the procedure in line with that of the tower: both may remove a follower if the player wishes. The RGG and ZMG editions of the rules maintain the rule that princesses must remove a follower. (updated 12/2013)
  21. Icon Open Book.png Any follower in a city is a knight. This includes normal followers, big followers, mayors, and wagons. (01/2015)
  22. Icon Double Arrow Black.png A clarification indicating that either a big or normal follower could be removed is specifically included in the Big Box 1-3 rules. This constitutes a slight rule change from the original rules – according to an early FAQ, the big follower could only be removed from a city when there were no other knights. A big follower can now be removed from the city just like any other. (updated 01/2015)
  23. Icon Double Arrow Black.png Specific comments that the mayor and wagon can be removed by the princess are found in Big Box 2 and 3, but not in the rules from the stand-alone expansion. (updated 01/2015)
  24. Icon Double Arrow Black.png This clarification in parentheses was first added to the 2010 version of the rules. (12/2013)
  25. Icon Double Arrow Black.png This sentence was added when the requirement of removing a knight became an option. It replaced the sentence: “If [the player] places the tile so that it adds to an empty city, or only starts a new city, he may place a follower (or other figure) in the normal way.” The RGG and ZMG editions keep various wordings of the old sentence. (12/2013)
  26. Icon Open Book.png A thief is any follower placed on a road. (The reason: builders are not followers.)