Difference between revisions of "Hunters and Gatherers Scout"

From WikiCarpedia
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created page with "</onlyinclude> Main Page > Hunters and Gatherers > {{PAGENAME}} right|200px == General info and comments == The Sco...")
(No difference)

Revision as of 00:17, 2 December 2019


Main Page > Hunters and Gatherers > Hunters and Gatherers Scout

Hg frontcover.png

General info and comments

The Scout is originally released by Hans im Glück in 2003 (as part of King and Scout, which also featured 7 tiles for Carcassonne).

Contents

  • 4 new land tiles[1]
  • 1 Shaman tile

Overview

With the arrival of the shaman, there also came some new hunters into the forests.

Addition Rules

All the rules from the |Base Game will remain.

Preparation

Shuffle the 5 tiles face-down. Each player draws a tile and places it face-up in front of themselves. For a 2 player game, draw 2 tiles each. Remove the remaining tiles from the game.

Shaman: Each turn[2], the player may return to his or her supply one of their tribe members from an unfinished river, forest, or meadow[3].

Place a Tile

The 4 other tiles are placed during the game: The player declines drawing from the stack and places his or her Scout tile. Then he or she must place a tribe member (or a hut with Agriculture[4]) on the tile. Otherwise, he or she may not place the tile. The figure remains there for the duration of the game.


Scout: Each turn[5], the player may reject the first tile he or she draws (including bonus tiles). He places the rejected tile under the stack and draws a new tile, which he must place.

When placing: There can be no other gatherers in the forest. When the forest is completed, the scout is considered a gatherer, but is not returned to the player's supply after scoring.


Hunter on Bridge: The hunter counts in the scoring of the meadows on both sides of the bridge. The bridge does not connect the meadows.

When placing: there may not be any hunters in either meadow. The bear is worth for 2 points.


Dug-out: Every time a river in this river system is completed (regardless by which player), the owner of the dug-out scores as many points as the largest lake has fish[6]. When placing: there may not be any fisherman on the river. When the river is completed, the dug-out counts as a fisherman, but is not returned to the player's supply after scoring.


Agriculture: At the end of the game, the player scores 1 point for each meadow tile, regardless of the usual hunter scoring[7]. When placing: There may not be any hunters in the meadow[8]. No hunters may be placed in the meadow[9].

Tile Distribution

Total Special Tiles: 4

Hunters And Gatherers Tile 01.jpg x1
Hunters And Gatherers Tile 01.jpg x1
Hunters And Gatherers Tile 01.jpg x1
Hunters And Gatherers Tile 01.jpg x1

1 Shaman tile:

Hunters And Gatherers Tile 01.jpg x1

Footnotes

For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.

</translate>

  1. The Scout tiles can be distinguished from the normal Hunters & Gatherers tiles by the Shaman image on the reverse side.
  2. Icon Open Book.png Question: If I have the Shaman do I return a tribe member to my supply at the beginning or the end of my turn? That is, can I remove a man and play him on the same turn? Answer: Yes. The rules don't prevent it, so you may take a tribe member back at any time in your turn. If you take it back at the beginning of your turn you can play it on the same turn.
  3. Icon Double Arrow Black.png The RGG edition does not include the word “meadow” here.
  4. Icon Open Book.png Question: Can I choose whether I play a hut or a hunter on the Agriculture tile? Answer: No. You must play a hut.
  5. Icon Double Arrow Black.png The RGG edition precedes this phrase with “once in play”.
  6. Icon Open Book.png Question: The English translation says "as many points as the largest lake on this river has fish". The original German just seems to say "as many points as the largest lake has fish". Is it the largest lake on the river or the largest lake on the river-system? Answer: The intention was that it should be the largest lake on the river-system.
  7. Icon Open Book.png Question: If I place a hut on the Agriculture tile, does the hut get me points for the animals in the meadow? Answer: No. Only hunters score for animals.
  8. Icon Open Book.png Question: Can I place a hut on the Agriculture tile if there is already a hunter in the meadow. Answer: No. The placement of the hut on the Agriculture tile is governed by the rules for hunter placement. You must place the Agriculture tile in an empty meadow.
  9. Icon Open Book.png Question: Once I have placed the hut on the Agriculture tile, can anyone place a hunter in that meadow? Answer: No. But of course you may connect two (ore more) meadows later in the game, as usual. Then you could have a hut getting points for the size of the meadow and a hunter scoring for the animals.