Hunters and Gatherers Scout
General info and comments
The Scout was originally released by Hans im Glück in 2003 (as part of King and Scout, which also featured 7 tiles for Carcassonne).
- 4 new land tiles 
- 1 Shaman tile
With the arrival of the shaman, there also came some new hunters into the forests.
All the rules from the Base Game will remain.
Shuffle the 5 tiles face-down. Each player draws a tile and places it face-up in front of themselves. For a 2 player game, draw 2 tiles each. Remove the remaining tiles from the game.
Place a Tile
The 4 other tiles are placed during the game: The player declines drawing from the stack and places his or her Scout tile. Then he or she must place a tribe member (or a hut with Agriculture ) on the tile. Otherwise, he or she may not place the tile. The figure remains there for the duration of the game.
When placing: There can be no other gatherers in the forest. When the forest is completed, the scout is considered a gatherer, but is not returned to the player's supply after scoring.
When placing: there may not be any hunters in either meadow. The bear is worth for 2 points.
When placing: there may not be any fisherman on the river. When the river is completed, the dug-out counts as a fisherman, but is not returned to the player's supply after scoring.
Total Special Tiles: 4
1 Shaman tile:
For Icons explanation and licensing please visit Icons page.
- The Scout tiles can be distinguished from the normal Hunters & Gatherers tiles by the Shaman image on the reverse side.
- Question: If I have the Shaman do I return a tribe member to my supply at the beginning or the end of my turn? That is, can I remove a man and play him on the same turn? Answer: Yes. The rules don't prevent it, so you may take a tribe member back at any time in your turn. If you take it back at the beginning of your turn you can play it on the same turn.
- The RGG edition does not include the word “meadow” here.
- Question: Can I choose whether I play a hut or a hunter on the Agriculture tile? Answer: No. You must play a hut.
- The RGG edition precedes this phrase with “once in play”.
- Question: The English translation says "as many points as the largest lake on this river has fish". The original German just seems to say "as many points as the largest lake has fish". Is it the largest lake on the river or the largest lake on the river-system? Answer: The intention was that it should be the largest lake on the river-system.
- Question: If I place a hut on the Agriculture tile, does the hut get me points for the animals in the meadow? Answer: No. Only hunters score for animals.
- Question: Can I place a hut on the Agriculture tile if there is already a hunter in the meadow. Answer: No. The placement of the hut on the Agriculture tile is governed by the rules for hunter placement. You must place the Agriculture tile in an empty meadow.
- Question: Once I have placed the hut on the Agriculture tile, can anyone place a hunter in that meadow? Answer: No. But of course you may connect two (or more) meadows later in the game, as usual. Then you could have a hut getting points for the size of the meadow and a hunter scoring for the animals.