General info and comments
The Messengers (Mini #2) was released by HiG for the second edition, known as C2 for short, in 2017, bundled as part of Big Box 6. A third edition, known as C3 for short, was released in 2021 including more detailed graphics, cities with clipped buildings and some minor wording changes. The C3 version of this expansion is only available as part of Big Box 7.
- 8 message tiles
- 6 messengers in 6 colors
Shuffle the message tiles and stack them facedown within easy reach of all players. Each player places the messenger of their color on the 0 space on the scoreboard. Each player should now have one meeple and one messenger on the scoreboard.
Interactions with other expansions
If playing with other expansions, please take the following notes into consideration:
For Icons explanation and licensing please visit Icons page.
In C2, the ZMG rules include an additional constraint not present in the original rules by HiG: You can only draw message tiles when your scoring meeple and messenger are alone. If another player's scoring meeple or messenger is on a dark space when you land there, you do not draw a message tile.
This discrepancy was eliminated in C3.
- The scoring for Messages 1, 2 and 3 only considers those points related to the feature. No bonus associated to any meeples placed on the feature are taken into consideration, since the focus of this message is scoring the feature. Those bonus points for meeples would be scored when the feature is properly scored.
This message would apply to all features considered proper monasteries:
- Shrines / cult places
- German monasteries
- Dutch & Belgian monasteries
- Japanese buildings
- Darmstadt churches
- There is no official clarification stating whether this message should consider special monasteries (German monasteries, Dutch & Belgian monasteries and Japanese buildings) with a meeple placed as an abbot. The original rules were created before the special monasteries where released, so this case is not considered. However, the rules contain no limitations that would prevent players from considering special monasteries with a meeple placed as an abbot. In this case, we will apply the general rule provided by Georg Wild: "If an older expansion only mentions the word monk, this does not exclude meeples placed as an abbot on a German monastery." (7/2014) This will also apply to Japanese Buildings and Dutch & Belgian monasteries. See: http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=781.msg9971#msg9971
The placement of this tile follows a normal turn with all its phases. As indicated in another clarification, the placement of this extra tile may even become a double turn. The player may also receive additional messages.
As in a normal turn, players may decide to use a tile in their supply instead of drawing a new one, such as:
You will consider for Message 6 the number of your meeples placed in cities (knights): normal meeples, large meeple, mayor, wagon, ringmaster, guard meeples, phantom. Their strength (majority votes) is irrelevant.
Note that abbots cannot be knights. Any meeples placed on a monastery within a city will be monks and will not be counted as knights. These are examples of monasteries within a city from Exp. 3 and Exp. 8 where a monk can be placed within a city:
- The ZMG rules allowed the active player to score a feature even without having the majority. This may be due to a mistranslation of the German rules.
Note that you can score 0 points. This scenario may cover:
- A highwayman on road with an inn
- A knight in city with a cathedral
- A knight on besieged city
- A farmer in field with no completed cities
- A mayor in city with no coats of arms
- A mayor on castle token
- A lord/lady on castle token
- You do not have the majority
- Any bonus points associated to the meeple being removed will be scored as if at the end of the game, such as the fairy 3-point scoring bonus or the ringmaster bonus.
- Any other meeples belonging to you or other players remain on the feature, as it is still incomplete.
- In other words, both scoring figures are considered equally, with no differences between the two.
- If, for example, a city and a road are completed and scored by the active player, a different scoring figure (the scoring meeple or the messenger) could be moved for each feature. However, all points scored by that city must be moved by one scoring figure, and all points scored by that road must be moved by one scoring figure.
- The ZMG rules read "You can only draw one message when scoring features," what is less specific than the original ones by HiG.
- This means that messages are received after 3. Scoring a feature. The round of scoring considers all the scorings taken place during a player's turn. Note that, during a double turn, there is one round of scoring per turn part.
The 1st edition of this expansion considered a more complex approach to Messages with several rounds of scoring accoring to the clarifications provided in 5/2014 and 10/2014, now rendered obsolete. The 2nd edition considers only one round of scoring after 3. Scoring a feature.
The mechanics associated to "rounds of scoring" in the previous edition are detailed here.
- The 1st edition also indicated that if you get points from a Message, it is possible that you could move a scoring figure and receive another Message, playing it in the same turn. Chains of scoring in this way can continue indefinitely.
- The ZMG rules omit this clarification.
- The point tiles are included in Exp. 1 - Inns & Cathedrals, but the Big Box 6 rules assume these tiles are part of the base game. This is the reason why they are mentioned here.
- The ZMG rules instruct players to use their scoring meeple for the final scoring and remove their messenger. The original HiG rules allow players to choose any of their scoring figures (either the scoring meeple or the messenger) for the final scoring and remove the other one.
This clarification referred to Messages 5 and 6 by mistake in the PDF rules available. The HiG printed rules corrected this error. In fact:
- Message 5 refers to coats of arms.
- Messages 5 and 6 only refer to cities, so the mention of farmers doesn't make sense for any of them.
- Message 7 does involve farmers.
- If a tile is added to a feature with a builder and triggers the drawing of Message #4, The Message extra tile comes before the builder extra turn. If the extra tile from the Message is put on the builder's feature, this will create another builder extra turn. Thus, the events would be: initial turn => Message #4 turn => Message #4 builder turn => original tile's builder turn. (11/2013)