Ghosts, Castles and Cemeteries

From Wikicarpedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Main Page  > Carcassonne  > Ghosts, Castles and Cemeteries


Fog Over Carc FR.png

General info and comments

Originally released by HiG in 2022, this expansion belongs to the third edition of the game, known as C3 for short. It has cities with clipped buildings.

Ghosts, Castles and Cemeteries is a expansion for the base game . The components of this expansion are also part of the cooperative standalone game Mists over Carcassonne . You can also use only portions of this expansion, or even combine it with other expansions, but the publisher has not provided any rules for this combination.

Object of the game and gameplay

When playing with Ghosts, Castles and Cemeteries, the object of the game and gameplay are the same as in the base game. Players take turns and try to score as many points as possible by placing land tiles each turn. Additionally, you can mess with your opponents' building plans here and there.

You must still make sure, though — as with the cooperative variant — to place ghosts. Don't worry, nobody loses if the supply of ghosts runs out. This expansion lets you instead use them to your advantage to drive off your opponents' meeples.

Contents

Expansion symbol
  • 60 new land tiles (marked with Symbol GhostsCastlesCemeteries C3.png), some of them with new features (castles and cemeteteries) and some field areas covered in mist.
Tile with a castle, road, and mist
Tile with a cemetery and city
  • A new 2x2 starting tile.
New starting tile
  • 30 guard meeples, 5 in each player color.
Figure Guards C3.png
Guard meeples
  • 15 ghosts, a new neutral figure to haunt any meeples but guard meeples.
Ghost neutral figures
  • A new scoring track to replace the one from the base game.

Notes:

  • In the game, a 2x2 starting tile, counts as 4 single tiles (for example, for an adjacent monastery, cemetery or castle). [1]
  • The castle ruins ending the roads on the starting tile are not mentioned in the rules. Since it looks different from the other castles in the expansion and it is placed at the intersection of four spaces, it may not be considered a proper castle nor be occupied or scored. It just serves as a feature separating fields and ending roads.

Rules

Preparation

Place the new, large starting tile in the middle of the table. Return the base game starting tile to the game box.

Shuffle all new 60 land tiles with the other tiles. Place them in a face-down supply on the table as usual.

You will only need 1 scoring track. Better to use the one from the expansion, leaving the one from the base game in the game box.

Give each player, including yourself, 2 guard meeples and 5 normal meeples in the color of their choice. [2]

Place a 6th meeple in each player color onto space 0/50 of the scoring track. Return the remaining base game meeples to the game box.

Place the remaining guard meeples in player colors in a supply next to the scoring track. Return any guard meeples in unused colors to the game box.

Place the 15 ghosts in a general supply next to the scoring track.

Example: Red and Green set up the scoring track for the game. Both of them place a normal meeple on space 0/50 and 3 guard meeples by the scoring track. The 15 ghosts are set aside too.

Leave the goal token and the level summary from Mists over Carcassonne in the game box. You can also leave the two hounds in the game box — they don't like competitive games.

Mist and ghosts

Mists C3 Figure Ghosts.png


1. Place land tile

First, draw a tile and place it on the board. You must follow the usual rules but ignoring the mist, as it always hovers over a road or a field but it is not part of the terrain itself. The rules for all other types of terrain (cities, roads, and fields) remain unchanged.

2a. Place ghosts

The ghosts in the mist don't matter — ignore them. If you draw a tile with mist on it, you now have the option of bringing ghosts into play. It all depends on how you place the tile:

  • Expand the mist: You place a tile with mist on it such that at least 1 side expands an existing mist bank. You must then add 1 ghost to another player's meeple on the game board. It doesn't matter if you finish the mist bank. You just have to expand it.
  • Limit the mist: You place a tile such that at least 1 misty side is placed next to a mist-free side. [3] In this case, you must then add 1 ghost to one of your own meeples on the game board. [4]
  • It can happen that you simultaneously expand one mist bank while limiting another. In that case you must first add 1 ghost to another player's meeple on the game board, after which you must add 1 ghost to one of your own meeples on the game board.
Example: If you extended the mist (tile top left), you must add 1 ghost to one of Blue's meeples. If you limited the mist (tile bottom right), you must add 1 ghost to one of your own meeples.

 Interpretation from the Community Question: Do you have to add any ghosts when you place a tile with a misty edge adjacent to an empty space?

Answer: No, misty edges adjacent to empty spaces do not trigger any ghost placement. Only misty edges next to another tile can trigger the placement of a ghost.

Example: If you place this tile with a misty edge next to an empty space, you will not add a ghost to anyone's meeple.

If the general supply of ghosts has run out, you don't need to add any ghosts. Or the other way around: if there aren't any meeples you can add a ghost to, then you skip this step.

As soon as you add the third ghost to a meeple on the game board, you must return the meeple and the ghosts to their respective supplies. It doesn't matter whose meeple it is.

Example: You limited the mist and must therefore add a ghost to your meeple. Since this is the third ghost, your meeple is terrified and runs away. In other words, you return it to your supply, while also returning the ghosts that were haunting it to the general supply.

2b. Place a meeple

After potentially placing ghosts, you may place one of your meeples onto the tile just placed according to the usual rules.

3. Score points

Finally, score according to the usual rules. However, each ghost added to the meeple being scored costs you -2 points. This means that you may end up scoring negative points. Don't worry, you can't go lower than 0 points on the scoring track. Finally, return the scored meeple and any ghosts added to it to their respective supplies. [5]

Example: You finished the city by placing this tile. The city would normally be worth 8 points. However, 2 ghosts were added to the meeple being scored. You must subtract 4 points from your total, so this scoring only brings you 4 points.
Final scoring

Each ghost added to your meeples is worth -1 point.

Guard meeples

Figure Guard Meeple red.png


2a. Placing ghosts

You may never add ghosts to guard meeples. They can't be terrified and driven off the game board.

2b. Placing a meeple

You may place a guard meeple as any other meeple (as a farmer, a monk, etc.).

Cemeteries

Mists C3 Cemetery Example 01.png


1a. Place land tile

Place cemetery tiles as usual.

Example: You place a cemetery as usual.

2a. Place ghosts

Ghosts may be added to a meeple placed on a cemetery according to the position of the tile just placed. [6] [7]

2b. Place a meeple

You may place a meeple or guard meeple onto the cemetery as a cemetery keeper.

You may place a meeple on a cemetery.

3. Score points

You score a cemetery as soon as it is fully surrounded by tiles (like a castle or cloister). Take an additional guard meeple from the general supply and add it to your own supply. You now have another meeple at your disposal. You also return the cemetery keeper to your supply. [8] [9]

If there aren't any guard meeples in your color left in the general supply, then you already have a sizeable advantage and don't get any more.

Example: By placing this tile, you have completely surrounded the cemetery. You score it at the end of your turn, taking a guard meeple from the general supply and adding it to your own. You will have another meeple at your disposal next turn. Finally, return the cemetery keeper to your supply as well.
Final scoring

There is no final scoring for meeples on cemeteries. [10]

Castles

Mists C3 Castle Example 01.png


1. Place land tile

If you draw a castle tile, you place it as usual.

Example: You place a tile with a castle as usual.

2a. Place ghosts

Ghosts may be added to a meeple placed on a castle according to the position of the tile just placed.[6]

2b. Place a meeple

You may place a meeple on a castle. It doesn't need to be a guard meeple; you can also place a normal meeple.

Example: You place a guard meeple on a castle. It could also be a normal meeple.

3. Score points

You score a castle as soon as it is completely surrounded by tiles (like a monastery or a cemetery). Score 2 points for each neighboring tile with mist on it (including the castle tile itself).

Final scoring

Each castle with a meeple on it is worth 1 point for each neighboring tile with mist on it (including the castle tile itself). [11]

Fields and mist

Mists C3 Gameplay Place Land Tile.png


As in the base game, you can place farmers in this expansion.

But watch out: mist acts as a border to fields the same way that cities do. And farmers are afraid of ghosts.

If you place a guard meeple as a farmer, then of course it is safe from ghosts.

Example: You have meeple placed as a farmer in a field. Your opponent also has a farmer in a field, but it is a guard meeple. You cannot, therefore, use ghosts to drive the guard meeple off the field.

You place the tile with the city and mist between your two fields. Since the mist acts as a border to fields, you can use it to separate the two fields.

Other expansions

This section contains additional information about the interactions with other Carcassonne expansions.

Ghosts

Mists C3 Figure Ghosts.png


General comments

  • Interpretation from the Community When scoring a meeple or removing it from the board as a result of any action, the ghosts added to the meeple will return to the general supply. After scoring, even if the meeple is moved or redeployed to another location on the board, its previous ghosts will return to the global supply. [12]
  • Interpretation from the Community No meeple or special figure can be placed in a field segment covered in mist. A road segment covered in mist can be occupied as usual.

Exp. 3 - The Princess & the DragonExp. 3 - The Princess & the Dragon

  • Interpretation from the Community The fairy can be assigned to a meeple with ghosts.
  • Interpretation from the Community The fairy does not protect meeples from ghosts.
  • Interpretation from the Community If a meeple assigned to the fairy is scared off, the fairy will stay on the board.
  • Interpretation from the Community The dragon can be placed on tiles with mist. It doesn't affect the dragon.
  • Interpretation from the Community The dragon can eat meeples with ghosts. The ghosts will be returned to the general supply.
  • Interpretation from the Community The princess may seduce a meeple with ghosts. The ghosts will be returned to the general supply.

Exp. 4 - The TowerExp. 4 - The Tower

  • Interpretation from the Community A tower can capture meeple with ghosts. The ghosts will be returned to the general supply.
  • Interpretation from the Community Ghosts can be assigned to a meeple on top of a tower.

Exp. 5 - Abbey & MayorExp. 5 - Abbey & Mayor

  • Interpretation from the Community An abbey limits the mist on any misty edge adjacent to it.
  • Community rule A wagon with ghosts will not keep them after scoring, even if it moves and stays on the board. A meeple should not be penalized more than once by the ghosts added to it.
  • Interpretation from the Community A barn cannot be placed on an intersection with mist reaching the corner of any of its tiles.

Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles & BazaarsExp. 8 - Bridges, Castles & Bazaars

  • Interpretation from the Community A bridge can be placed on a field edge with mist.

Exp. 9 - Hills & SheepExp. 9 - Hills & Sheep

  • Interpretation from the Community Shepherds cannot be placed on field segments covered in mist.
  • Interpretation from the Community The field separation caused by the mist also applies to shepherds.
  • Interpretation from the Community A misty edge placed adjacent to a clear one does not extend the fields on the latter.

Exp. 10 - Under the Big TopExp. 10 - Under the Big Top

  • Interpretation from the Community Ghosts are assigned to acrobats individually.
  • Interpretation from the Community The scoring of the big top is not affected by any ghosts added to its neighboring meeples.

Cemeteries

Mists C3 Cemetery Example 01.png


General comments

  • Interpretation from the Community You cannot occupy a cemetery with the following meeples:

Exp. 3 - The Princess & the DragonExp. 3 - The Princess & the Dragon

  • Interpretation from the Community The fairy assigned to a cemetery keeper will provide its scoring bonus during the game but not after the game, since uncompleted cemeteries are not scored.

Castles

Mists C3 Castle Example 01.png


General comments

  • Interpretation from the Community You cannot occupy a castle with the following meeples:

Starting tile

Mists C3 Setup Start Tile.png


General comments

  • Interpretation from the Community The feature in the middle of the 2x2 starting tile is not a castle. It cannot occupied, completed or scored.

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: Is the feature in the middle of the 2x2 starting tile a proper castle or just some ruins that serve as decoration to separate fields and end roads?

Answer: It’s just a decoration.

  • Interpretation from the Community Other features on the starting tile may be occupied.
  • Interpretation from the Community The 2x2 starting tile counts as four separate tiles (or occupied spaces) for monastic buildings, cemeteries, castles and other features counting adjacent tiles. It is not counted as one single tile. A castle adjacent to the starting tile will then only consider those mist segments on the 1x1 square spaces adjacent to it.

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: If the 2x2 starting tile occupies two spaces adjacent to a completed monastery, how many points does the monk on the monastery score? (See image below)
A) 9 points because the starting tile is counted as 2 occupied squares adjacent to the monastery?
B) 8 points because the starting tile is counted as 1 tile adjacent to the monastery?

Answer: The answer is A. The starting tile is considered as 4 normal tiles.

Example: Red scores 9 points for this monastery as usual, where two adjacent square spaces are part of the starting tile.

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: If the 2x2 starting tile occupies one of the squares adjacent to a completed castle as shown in the image below, how many points does the red player score?
A) 4 points because the there is no mist on the square adjacent to the castle (the 2x2 starting tile is not considered as a whole)?
B) 6 points because the castle considers all the mist banks on the 2x2 starting tile?

Answer: The answer is A. The starting tile is considered as 4 normal tiles.

Example: Red scores 4 points for this castle. The adjacent square space that is part of the starting tile has no mist on it.

Exp. 3 - The Princess & the DragonExp. 3 - The Princess & the Dragon

  • Interpretation from the Community The dragon may land on the starting tile and eat all the meeples on the 2x2 tile.
  • Interpretation from the Community Other features on the starting tile can be occupied with a magic portal.

Exp. 4 - The TowerExp. 4 - The Tower

  • Interpretation from the Community A tower may capture a meeple on the starting tile if any of its four squares is in range from the tower.

Mini #1 - The Flying MachinesMini #1 - The Flying Machines

  • Interpretation from the Community Other features on the starting tile can be occupied with a flying machine.
  • Interpretation from the Community A flying machine may land a meeple on any valid feature on the starting tile if any of its four squares is in range from the flying machine.

Russian PromosRussian Promos

  • Interpretation from the Community All meeples placed on the starting tile may be captured by the Vodyanoy tile if placed adjacent to it.

Tile reference

Total tiles: 60 + 1 start tile
Mists C3 Tile 01.png x2
 
Mists C3 Tile 03.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 04.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 05.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 06.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 07.png x2
 
Mists C3 Tile 09.png x2
 
Mists C3 Tile 11.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 12.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 13.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 14.png x3
 
Mists C3 Tile 21.png x1
(W) 
Mists C3 Tile 20.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 22.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 23.png x2
 
Mists C3 Tile 25.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 26.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 27.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 28.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 29.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 30.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 31.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 32.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 33.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 34.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 17.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 18.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 35.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 19.png x1
(W) 
Mists C3 Tile 36.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 37.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 38.png x2
 
Mists C3 Tile 40.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 41.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 42.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 43.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 44.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 45.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 46.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 47.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 48.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 50.png x1
(W) 
Mists C3 Tile 49.png x1
(W) 
Mists C3 Tile 51.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 52.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 54.png x2
 
Mists C3 Tile 55.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 56.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 58.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 57.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 59.png x1
 
Mists C3 Tile 60.png x1
 
Mists C3 Start Tile.png x1
(2x2 start tile)

Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:

Feature WaterTower C2.png
W | Water tower

Footnotes

For Icons explanation and licensing please visit Icons page.

  1. Notorious rule difference among editions or publishers This clarification is not included in the rules but it is based on the rules provided by HiG for the double-sized river source included in the 20th Anniversary River.
  2. Interpretation from the Community The normal meeples are taken from the base game.
  3. Interpretation from the Community The misty edge can be on a tile previously placed or on the one just placed. The only requirement is that the tile placement leads a mist discontinuity.
  4. Notorious rule difference among editions or publishers The English rules by ZMG describe this action incorrectly by assuming you only limit the mist when placing a tile with mist. Here is the original wording in English:
    "You place a tile with mist on it such that at least 1 misty side is placed next to an existing, mist-free tile. In this case, you must then add 1 ghost to one of your own meeples on the game board." The German rules are written in a more generic way so that limiting the mist only requires to place a non-misty edge next to a misty-edge but doesn't matter which edge was placed first. We have adapted this paragraph to follow the original German rules.
  5. Interpretation from the Community Ghosts do not affect the value of a feature but the points received by each player with the majority in it when scored. So each player with the majority will receive the number of points the feature is worth minus 2 points per ghost added to their meeples on the feature. Ghosts will not be considered for those players without the majority, that is, they will not score points for the feature and will not be penalized with negative points for any ghosts added to their meeples on the feature.

     Official clarification from the publisher Question: Let's assume Red has 2 meeples in this city and Black has 1 meeple with a ghost added to it. Red has the majority in this case. The city has 5 tiles and 1 coat of arms (see image below):
    1) Does Black score 0 points, or -2 points due to the ghost added to it?
    2) Does Red score 12 points, or 10 points for the city due to the ghost in the city?

    Answer: Here you are the answers:
    1) You only score if you have a majority. Therefore, Black does get 0 points.
    2) You only get -2 points, if the ghost is with your meeple. Therefore Red receives 12 points.

    Example: Only Red scores 12 for the city, so Black does not receive negative points for the ghost added to their meeple. The ghost added to Black's meeple does not affect Red's scoring either.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Interpretation from the Community The wording of this sentence was updated for the sake of clarity.
  7. Interpretation from the Community You may add ghosts to cemetery keepers (or meeples placed in castles) if they are not guard meeples.

     Official clarification from the publisher Question: The original rules read:
           "2a. Place ghosts
          Don’t add ghosts to the cemetery when playing the expansion."
    Does this mean that you cannot add ghosts to a meeple placed in a cemetery unlike a meeple placed in a castle?

    Answer: The statement refers to the placement or function the feature had in the spin-off.
    In the expansion, you add ghosts to meeples, not to features. Therefore it is possible to add ghosts to a meeple placed in a castle or cemetery.

  8. Notorious rule difference among editions or publishers This last sentence was missing in the English rules.
  9. Interpretation from the Community A cemetery keeper on a completed cemetery scores no points, just grants an additional guard meeple, if any. Since a cemetery keeper may be added ghosts, its owner may score negative points for it as well.

     Official clarification from the publisher Question: [Since a cemetery keeper may be added ghosts,] would this mean that a player will score negative points for a completed cemetery with a meeple with ghosts (in addition to receiving one extra guard meeple, if applicable)?

    Answer: Yes.

  10. Interpretation from the Community At the end of the game, uncompleted cemeteries are not scored, so players do not receive negative points for any ghosts added to their cemetery keepers.

     Official clarification from the publisher Question: [Since a cemetery keeper may be added ghosts,] would this mean that a player will not score negative points for ghosts added to a meeple on an uncompleted cemetery after the game?

    Answer: You do not lose any victory points during final scoring with ghosts added to meeples on cemeteries. Those meeples do not get scored.

  11. Notorious rule difference among editions or publishers The wording of the original English rules may lead to understand that the castle tile is worth 1 point always, no matter whether it has mist on it:
    "Each castle with a meeple on it is worth 1 point for the castle plus 1 point for each surrounding tile with mist on it."
    Currently, this discrepancy may not cause any difference in scoring, since all the castle tiles have mist on them. However, we preferred to use the accuracy of the German wording.
  12. Interpretation from the Community The principle applied here is that a meeple cannot be penalized twice by the same ghosts. Each scoring releases any ghosts added to a meeple until that moment. If the meeple is moved after scoring, new ghost may be added to te ghost on its new location.