Hills & Sheep
General info and comments
This is the ninth major expansion for the base game and introduces some new aspects to the game.
The Shepherds in the meadows throughout Carcassonne wait peacefully until their entire flock of sheep gathers around. However, they have to be careful that a wolf doesn’t show up before they have led their flock safely into the stable. In the hills, you can take control of lands once thought lost. In addition, many a monk is always happy to have a vineyard near his monastery.
- Shepherds, a special figure that can grow and score a flock of sheep.
- Sheep and wolf tokens, that are drawn from a bag to add new sheep to your flock or lose it if you draw a wolf.
- Vineyards, that provide additional points to neighboring monasteries
- Hills, that may break ties in a feature being scored
- 18 land tiles
- 18 flock and wolf tokens (4x 1 sheep, 5x 2 sheep, 5x 3 sheep, 2x 4 sheep, 2x wolf)
- 1 cloth bag
- 6 shepherds, 1 in each 6 colors
Place all of the sheep and wolf tokens in the bag. Give each player (including yourself) the shepherd in their color. Shuffle the new tiles with the other land tiles.
With the exception of the new rules used with this expansion, all basic Carcassonne rules remain unchanged.
Shepherd, sheep, and wolves
During the game, the shepherd has the following effects:
(Idea: Manfred Keller)
New land tiles
New Special City Tiles (Idea: Jan König)
|This tile has two seperate city segments. If you place a tile with one city segment to the right of it, the city segments become connected.|
|This tile has two separate field segments. If you place a tile with one field segment to the right of it, the field segments become connected.|
This section contains additional information about the interactions with other Carcassonne expansions.
Shepherds, sheep and wolves
- The following figures can share a field with your shepherd without any effect on either figure:
- Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon: The dragon will eat only the shepherd (and that shepherd's flock) on its tile. It will not eat other shepherds from the same field unless it moves onto the corresponding tile. The shepherd is not a meeple, so the fairy cannot be assigned to it.
- Exp. 4 - The Tower: You cannot capture a shepherd with a tower.
- Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber: You cannot place your shepherd into the city of Carcassonne.
- The following figures can use the hill's tiebreaking effect:
- Normal meeple, the standard option (Base game)
- Abbot (Base game - Abbot, The) - useful for the Darmstadt church bonus
- Large meeple (Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals)
- Wagon (Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor)
- Mayor, if there is a coat of arms in the city (Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor)
- Meeple on a bridge that is on a hill tile (Exp 8. - Bridges, Castles and Bazaars)
- Ringmaster (Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top)
- Phantom (The Phantom)
- Note: A tie in majority is not defined by the number of meeples on a feature, but by the total strength of the meeples on it. The strength of the meeple placed on the hill is irrelevant in a tiebreak (it could be a mayor with strength 0).
- Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor: You cannot place an abbey tile under a hill tile. A hill can be part of the tile junction that the barn is placed on, but there is no additional effect.
- Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber: You may deploy a meeple from from the city of Carcassonne on a hill tile with a feature about to be evaluated.  If you do, you gain the benefit of the hill.
- Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles and Bazaars: You can place a bridge on a hill tile. You can place a castle (even partially) on a hill tile. If you take a hill tile during a bazaar auction, do not take the facedown tile (to put under the hill) until it is your turn to place the hill tile.
- The following figures can use the effect of the vineyard when scoring a monastery:
- Base game - The Abbot: Your abbot can score additional points for vineyards only if the monastery is scored when completed. If you return the abbot before then, you do not score the additional points.   If the abbot is placed on a garden, you do not score additional points for vineyards.
- Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor: Abbeys can score additional points for vineyards.
- Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber: Shrines can score additional points for vineyards. If there is a challenge, you score the additional points only if you win the challenge.
- Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles and Bazaars: You can place a bridge on a vineyard tile.
- Monasteries in Germany / Japanese Buildings: When using German monasteries or Japanese buildings, the vineyard bonus is applied if the meeple is placed as a monk and the feature is scored as a finished monastery. However, the vineyard bonus is not applied if a meeple is placed as an abbot, as the abbot scores only at the end of the game, when the vineyard has no effect.
- If you’re not concerned about whether or not players count tiles as a strategy, and you want to be able to use all of the tiles in the game, you can place blank tiles under any hills that are drawn. (Thanks to Crispy Jones.)
Total Tiles: 18
Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:
Total Tokens: 18
For Icons explanation and licensing please visit Icons page.
This exception refers to a special case when a field is surrounded and "closed" with roads and cities so it cannot expand anymore. At that point the shepherd scoring takes place: The player gets points for the sheep, the sheep go back into the bag, and the shepherd goes back to the player's supply. (12/2015)
A field completely surrounded without any gaps cannot be extended, but this does not mean that the field is scored automatically. The surrounded field will be scored at the end of the game as usual.
The same exception should apply when placing a shepherd on an inner field. Inner fields are present on several CCCC or CCCF tiles, so they closed by city walls and cannot be extended. In this case, you would place the shepherd on the inner field, perform the Grow the flock action and, if no wolf token was drawn, you would perform the Guide the flock action automatically since the filed is already closed. These are examples of CCCC tiles with inner fields:
These are examples of CCCF tiles with inner fields:
The following CCCC tile doesn't show an inner field as it is not surrounded by walls or roads as a regular field. The green patch serves just as a decoration for a jousting scene. (In any case, it would be rather odd to have shepherds and flocks around knights in a jousting tournament, right?)
- If the hill tile drawn is the last tile in the game, the player is still allowed to place it without a second tile underneath. The normal turn (move wood, score features) then takes place. Note that generally a tie break would not be possible with this tile – even if a meeple is placed on it, there will be no way to connect that meeple to an occupied feature, as the game will be over. (10/2014)
- If the tied players also have equal numbers of meeples on hills in that feature, the tie remains unbroken and both players still receive the points. Even if the number of meeples on hills is unequal, as long as each of the tied players has at least one meeple on a hill, the tie is unbroken and both players receive the points. (5/2014)
- As an alternative tiebreaker method, the number of meeples on hills can be counted. Thus, if two players have the same number of meeples in a feature, but one player has more of those meeples on hills than the other player does, the player with the most meeples on hills gets all of the points and the other player gets none. (5/2014)
- Regardless of the type of monastery involved (normal cloister, abbey, shrine, German monastery or Japanese building), the vineyard has no effect on final scoring at the end of the game. (5/2014)
- We updated this sentence according to the the German rules. The rules by ZMG contain a mistranslated version of this sentence: "You can place one meeple from the city of Carcassonne on a hill tile with a feature that has not been completed."
- If an abbot is removed from an uncompleted monastery in phase 2. Placing a meeple, it will not get points for any adjacent vineyards. Since you are scoring the meeple and not the feature, vineyards do not apply in this case.
- We updated the wording to make it closer on the German rules and avoid the ambiguity that affected the removal of the abbot when the monastery was completed. The original English wording is: "Your abbot can score additional points for vineyards only if the monastery is completed. If you return the abbot before the monastery is completed, you do not score the additional points."