Mage and Witch

From Wikicarpedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Other languages:


General info and comments

Expansion symbol

Mage and Witch (Mini #5) was released by HiG for the second edition, known as C2 for short, in 2017, bundled as part of Big Box 6. A third edition, known as C3 for short, was released in 2021 including more detailed graphics, cities with clipped buildings and some minor wording changes. The C3 version of this expansion is only available as part of Big Box 7.

This expansion was originally released for the first edition, known as C1 for short, in 2012.

Powerful magicians visit the realm of Carcassonne. The mage's presence inspires the citizens, but the witch casts a sinister pall over everything she touches.

Contents

  • 8 landscape tiles with magic logos
Tile with magic logo
  • 1 purple mage figure
Figure Mage.png
  • 1 orange witch figure
Figure Witch.png

Rules

Preparation

Shuffle the new landscape tiles with those of the basic game and stack them normally. Place the mage and witch figures (collectively called "magic figures") within easy reach of all players.

Gameplay

1. Placing a tile

Magic logo
If you draw a tile with the magic symbol on it on your turn, place it so it matches. However, before continuing to 2. Place a Meeple, you must first place one of the magic figures. The magic figures can be placed only on incomplete cities or roads, [1] [2] and they can never occupy the same feature as each other (the mage can never be on the same feature as the witch, and vice-versa). If both magic figures are already placed, then they must be moved, following the same rules as for placing them. The magic figures do not have to be placed on or moved to the tile you just placed. [3] [4]

If you cannot place or move either magic figure (because there are no eligible locations), you must remove one of them from a tile and set it aside. The next time another tile with a magic symbol is placed, this figure can be placed again.

If you cause both magic figures to be occupying the same feature, you must immediately move one of the magic figures. If this same tile placement would also cause a feature to be scored, you must move the magic figure before scoring the feature. [5]

2. Placing a meeple

After placing a tile with a magic symbol, you may still place a meeple according to the normal rules.

3. Scoring a feature

Whenever you complete a feature occupied by a magic figure, they modify the score:

  • The mage is worth 1 point per tile in the scored feature.
  • The witch halves the points of the scored feature (rounded up).

After modifying a scored feature, the magic figure is removed from the tile and set aside. The next time another tile with a magic symbol is placed, this figure can be placed again.

Example 1: You complete the city. Normally, this city would be worth 20 points (8 tiles + 2 coats of arms) x 2 = 20. However, because of the mage, you and the blue player each score 28 points.
Example 2: You complete two roads. The road on the right has five tiles, but the blue player will only score 3 points for it because of the witch (half of 5, rounded up, is 3). The road on the left only has 3 tiles, but will award you 6 points because of the mage.
Final scoring

During final scoring, the magic figures modify the value of features they occupy, as they did during the game.

Other expansions

If playing with other expansions, please take the following notes into consideration:

Symbol InnsCathedrals C1C2.png Inns & Cathedrals

  • When scoring a road with an inn or a city with a cathedral that also has the witch, the feature's points are calculated taking into account the inn or cathedral and then cut in half. [6]
  • An incomplete road with both an inn and the mage on it will be worth 1 point per tile (the incomplete inn drops each tile's value to 0 points, but the mage still provides 1 point per tile in a scored feature it occupies).
  • Similarly, an incomplete city with both a cathedral and the mage on it will also be worth 1 point per tile. Note that the mage does not grant points for coats of arms.

Tile distribution

C2 Edition

Total Tiles: 8

Mage Witch C2 Tile A.jpg x1
 
Mage Witch C2 Tile B.jpg x1
 
Mage Witch C2 Tile C.jpg x1
(W)
Mage Witch C2 Tile D.jpg x1
 
Mage Witch C2 Tile E.jpg x1
(G)
Mage Witch C2 Tile F.jpg x1
 
Mage Witch C2 Tile G.jpg x1
 
Mage Witch C2 Tile H.jpg x1
(F)

Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:

Feature Garden C2.png
G | Garden
Feature Farmhouse C2.png
F | Farmhouse
Feature WaterTower C2.png
W | Water tower

C3 Edition

Total Tiles: 8

Mage And Witch C3 Tile A.png x1
 
Mage And Witch C3 Tile B.png x1
 
Mage And Witch C3 Tile C.png x1
(W)
Mage And Witch C3 Tile D.png x1
 
Mage And Witch C3 Tile E.png x1
(G)
Mage And Witch C3 Tile F.png x1
 
Mage And Witch C3 Tile G.png x1
 
Mage And Witch C3 Tile H.png x1
(F)

Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:

Feature Garden C2.png
G | Garden
Feature Farmhouse C2.png
F | Farmhouse
Feature WaterTower C2.png
W | Water tower

Footnotes

For Icons explanation and licensing please visit Icons page.

  1. Icon World Black.png This means that if you complete a city or road with a tile featuring the magic symbol, you cannot place a magic figure on that city or road, since it is no longer incomplete. The tile placement completed the feature before a magic figure could be placed on it.
  2. Icon World Black.png The magic figures can be placed on any tile in the playing area, including the tile just placed, as long as the restrictions in the rules are met.
  3. Icon Open Book.png If the mage or witch is already on a tile and is moved due to placement of a tile with the magic symbol, the figure must be moved to a different feature. (5/2014)
  4. Icon Open Book.png Thus: 1) If neither figure is in play, you bring one into play. 2) If both magic figures are in play, you move one of them to a different feature. 3) If only one figure is in play, you choose one or the other to move – you may move either the figure that is already in play or the figure that began the turn off of the playing field. In all of these situations, you may choose to move either the mage or the witch. (updated 5/2014; corrected 3/2020)
  5. Icon Double Arrow Black.png This last sentence was removed in Big Box 7. Its wording may lead to the misunderstanding of the turn sequence. Some readers may interpret that the movement of one magic figure when both of them end up on the same feature may be delayed until right before 3. Scoring a feature. This action should also take place in 1. Placing a tile.
  6. Icon Double Arrow Black.png This additional rules clarification is from the Big Box 4 and Big Box 7 (Big Box v3.0) editions of the rules. It was included in the main text in the Big Box 6 edition of the rules.