General info and comments
Mage and Witch (Mini #5) was released for the new edition by HiG in 2017, bundled as part of Big Box 6.
Powerful magicians visit the realm of Carcassonne. The mage's presence inspires the citizens, but the witch casts a sinister pall over everything she touches.
- 8 landscape tiles with magic logos
Tile with magic logo
Shuffle the new landscape tiles with those of the basic game and stack them normally. Place the mage and witch figures (collectively called "magic figures") within easy reach of all players.
If you draw a tile with the magic symbol on it on your turn, place it so it matches. However, before continuing to 2. Place a Meeple
, you must first place one of the magic figures
. The magic figures can be placed only on incomplete cities or roads,  
and they can never occupy the same feature as each other (the mage can never be on the same feature as the witch, and vice-versa). If both magic figures are already placed, then they must be moved, following the same rules as for placing them. The magic figures do not
have to be placed on or moved to the tile you just placed.  
If you cannot place or move either magic figure (because there are no eligible locations), you must remove one of them from a tile and set it aside. The next time another tile with a magic symbol is placed, this figure can be placed again.
If you cause both magic figures to be occupying the same feature, you must immediately move one of the magic figures. If this same tile placement would also cause a feature to be scored, you must move the magic figure before scoring the feature.
After placing a tile with a magic symbol, you may still place a meeple according to the normal rules.
Whenever you complete a feature occupied by a magic figure, they modify the score:
- The mage is worth 1 point per tile in the scored feature.
- The witch halves the points of the scored feature (rounded up).
After modifying a scored feature, the magic figure is removed from the tile and set aside. The next time another tile with a magic symbol is placed, this figure can be placed again.
Example 1: You complete the city. Normally, this city would be worth 20 points (8 tiles + 2 coats of arms) x 2 = 20. However, because of the mage, you and the blue player each score 28 points.
Example 2: You complete two roads. The road on the right has five tiles, but the blue player will only score 3 points for it because of the witch (half of 5, rounded up, is 3). The road on the left only has 3 tiles, but will award you 6 points because of the mage.
During final scoring, the magic figures modify the value of features they occupy, as they did during the game.
If playing with other expansions, please take the following notes into consideration:
- When scoring a road with an inn or a city with a cathedral that also has the witch, the feature's points are calculated taking into account the inn or cathedral and then cut in half. 
- An incomplete road with both an inn and the mage on it will be worth 1 point per tile (the incomplete inn drops each tile's value to 0 points, but the mage still provides 1 point per tile in a scored feature it occupies).
- Similarly, an incomplete city with both a cathedral and the mage on it will also be worth 1 point per tile. Note that the mage does not grant points for coats of arms.
Total Tiles: 8
Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:
G | Garden
F | Farmhouse
W | Water tower
For Icons explanation and licensing please visit Icons page.
This means that if you complete a city or road with a tile featuring the magic symbol, you cannot place a magic figure on that city or road, since it is no longer incomplete. The tile placement completed the feature before a magic figure could be placed on it.
The magic figures can be placed on any tile in the playing area, including the tile just placed, as long as the restrictions in the rules are met.
If the mage or witch is already on a tile and is moved due to placement of a tile with the magic symbol, the figure must be moved to a different feature. (5/2014)
Thus: 1) If neither figure is in play, you bring one into play. 2) If both magic figures are in play, you move one of them to a different feature. 3) If only one figure is in play, you choose one or the other to move – you may move either the figure that is already in play or the figure that began the turn off of the playing field. In all of these situations, you may choose to move either the mage or the witch. (updated 5/2014; corrected 3/2020)
This additional rules clarification is from the Big Box 4 and Big Box 7 (Big Box v3.0) editions of the rules. It was included in the main text in the Big Box 6 edition of the rules.