The Festival

From Wikicarpedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Other languages:
Deutsch • ‎English • ‎Nederlands • ‎français • ‎italiano • ‎română • ‎čeština • ‎български

General info and comments

Expansion symbol

Originally released by CundCo in 2016 to mark the 15th Anniversary of the first publication of Carcassonne.

This expansion has been developed for the Carcassonne basic game. All the basic game rules still apply in addition to the expansion rules below. You can combine it with other expansions - but at your own risk – i.e. there will be no official rules for these combinations.


  • 10 new Land tiles with a Festival place and a "15" expansion symbol set amongst some coloured starbursts
Festival place
  • 2 special tiles with the rules in German and English, not used as land tiles.



Shuffle the 10 Festival tiles together with the Land tiles of the basic game.


1. Placing a tile

When you draw a Land tile with the festival place, you place it according to the normal rules.

2. Placing a meeple

You may then choose either:

  • deploy one of your own figures [1] to the tile in the usual way; or
  • return one of your own figures [2] [3] [4] being already on the tiles of the playing area [5] to your supply.[6] [7]

The player can also choose to do neither of the above. Note that you are not allowed to place a meeple on the Festival itself.

Captured meeples (from The Tower expansion) cannot be returned to the player's supply in this way.

3. Scoring a feature

When you complete one or more areas (e.g. a monastery, a road etc.) by placing a Festival tile, you score them according to the normal rules.

Final scoring

There is no additional scoring at the end of the game with the Festival tiles.

Tile distribution

Total Tiles: 10

Festival15-01.png x1
Festival15-02.png x1
Festival15-03.png x1
Festival15-04.png x1
Festival15-05.png x1
Festival15-06.png x1
Festival15-07.png x1
Festival15-08.png x1
Festival15-09.png x1
Festival15-10.png x1

Rules Tiles: 2

Festival15-11 Front.pngFestival15-11 Back.png x1
 German rules (front and back)
Festival15-12 Front.pngFestival15-12 Back.png x1
 English rules (front and back)


For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.

  1. Icon Double Arrow Black.png The rules provided by CundCo used the word "meeple" but the rules intended by HiG referred to "figures." We follow the HiG ruling here and modified the wording accordingly.
  2. Icon Open Book.png All of your own figures are meant here, including normal and large meeples, wagon, mayor, builder, pig, barn, shepherd, phantom, abbot meeple, and ringmaster. (5/2015; updated 12/2018)
  3. Icon World Black.png No scoring would be applicable to any meeple or special figure, including the abbot and the shepherd. Note that:
    • It would be odd to use this expansion to remove an abbot meeple, as it has its own retrieval mechanism that involves scoring.
    • If a shepherd is removed, no Guide flock to stable action is invoked and no flock scoring would take place. There is no official clarification about what happens in this case to the shepherd's flock, but it is reasonable to leave it as is on the game board. If it is shared with one or more shepherds, they would not be affected; otherwise, the flock could be claimed by a new shepherd and it would be an analogous case to the sheep found on some tiles in minor expansions such as The River III or Halflings.
  4. Icon Open Book.png A player cannot return another player's meeple to them. Also, a player cannot return a neutral figure (such as the fairy or the dragon).
  5. Icon Open Book.png As the City of Carcassonne from Count, King and Robber is also part of the playing area, this allows removal of a meeple from there (even if the Count is in the same space). This would also apply to the City of Leipzig from The Markets of Leipzig, the bathhouses from The Barber-Surgeons, and the 1st edition Wheel of Fortune crown spaces. (updated 12/2018)
  6. Icon Open Book.png If the Festival is used to remove a meeple, the fairy cannot be moved, as an action was still taken in phase 2. Placing a meeple. (5/2014)
  7. Icon Open Book.png If the Festival is used to remove a meeple, the Phantom can still be placed on that turn. (11/2013)