The Festival (1st edition)
Main Page ✎ > Carcassonne ✎ > The Festival (1st edition)
General info and comments
Originally released by Hans im Glück in 2011 to mark the 10th Anniversary of Carcassonne. 
This expansion has been developed for the Carcassonne basic game. All the basic game rules still apply in addition to the expansion rules below.
- 10 new landscape tiles
The standalone version also includes:
- 2 special tiles with the rules in German and English, not used as land tiles.
Shuffle the 10 Festival tiles together with the Land tiles of the basic game.
Placing a tile
When a player draws a tile with a festival symbol on it, he or she should place the tile according to the usual rules.
Deploying a follower
The player must then choose either:
- deploy one of one’s own figures to the tile in the usual way; or
- return one of one’s own figures    from the entire playing area  to his or her supply.   
The player can also choose to do neither of the above.
Captured followers (from The Tower expansion) cannot be returned to the player's supply in this way.
When you complete one or more areas (e.g. a monastery, a road etc.) by placing a Festival tile, you score them according to the normal rules.
There is no additional scoring at the end of the game with the Festival tiles.
Rules Tiles: 2 (standalone version only)
For Icons explanation and licensing please visit Icons page.
- ↑ This “expansion” is really a part of HiG and RGG’s Jubilee Edition of Carcassonne, which essentially consists of a deluxe version of the basic game and this mini-expansion.
- ↑ All of one’s own figures are meant here, including normal and big followers, wagon, mayor, builder, pig, barn, shepherd, phantom, C2 abbot, C2 ringmaster, and C3 guard followers. (5/2015; updated 12/2018; updated 2/2023)
No scoring would be applicable to any follower or special figure, including the C2 abbot and the shepherd. Note that:
- It would be odd to use this expansion to remove an C2 abbot, as it has its own retrieval mechanism that involves scoring.
- If a shepherd is removed, no Guide flock to stable action is invoked and no flock scoring would take place. There is no official clarification about what happens in this case to the shepherd's flock. Two options may happen:
- The flock is returned to the bag without scoring as soon as their shepherd is removed from the board.
- The flock remains on the game board. If it is shared with one or more shepherds, they would not be affected; otherwise, the flock could be claimed by a new shepherd and it would be an analogous case to the sheep found on some tiles in minor expansions such as The River III or Halflings II.
- Players should agree on which option is chosen at the beginning of a game.
- ↑ A player cannot return a figure from another player. Also, a player cannot return a neutral figure (such as the fairy or the dragon).
- ↑ By specifying “entire playing area,” this allows removal of followers from the City of Carcassonne (even if the Count is in the same space) from The Count of Carcassonne, the Wheel of Fortune crown spaces, the City of Leipzig from The Markets of Leipzig and therefore a bathhouse from The Barber-Surgeons. (updated 12/2018)
- ↑ The RGG 10-year anniversary edition rules actually use the term “followers” for both bullet points. The new version of the Festival tiles sold separately through publisher CundCo also uses the term “followers.” However, the official HiG reading remains “figures.” (updated 5/2014)
- ↑ If the Festival is used to remove a follower, the Phantom can still be placed on that turn. (11/2013)
- ↑ If the Festival is used to remove a follower, the Fairy cannot be moved, as an action was still taken in the “Move Wood” phase. (5/2014)