The Flier

From WikiCarpedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Other languages:
Deutsch • ‎English • ‎Nederlands • ‎français • ‎română

General info and comments

Aircraft logo
Expansion symbol

The Flier (Mini #1) was released by HiG for the new edition in 2017, bundled as part of Big Box 6.

Humanity has always been fascinated with flight. Now, your meeples can take to the skies, though you never know where they'll land.

Contents

  • 8 new landscape tiles with flying machines (identified with Symbol Flier C1C2.png to help you separate and sort your tiles)
Tile with flying machine
  • 1 flight die (sides 1, 1, 2, 2, 3, and 3)
Figure Die.png

Rules

Preparation

Shuffle the new landscape tiles with those from the basic game and stack them normally. Place the die within easy reach of all payers.

Gameplay

1. Placing a tile

When a player draws a tile with an aircraft symbol, he or she plays it according to normal rules.

2. Placing a meeple

After placing a tile with a flying machine on it, you may choose to place a meeple either normally (and then follow all normal rules of placement) or on the flying machine.

When you place a meeple on the flying machine, [1] your meeple will move in a straight line in the direction that flying machine faces. Roll the flight die and move your meeple a number of tiles equal to the number of pips on the die (one to three tiles). Your meeple may be placed on any incomplete feature [2] on that tile, even if that feature is already occupied by other meeples. However, meeples placed by a flying machine can never be placed in a field, even if that field is unoccupied. [3] [4] [5] [6] [7]

Meeples placed by a flying machine immediately become the appropriate type (highwayman, knight, or monk).

If you cannot place your meeple on the designated tile (either because there are only complete features and fields, or because there simply isn't a tile in the designated location), the meeple is returned to your supply. You do not get to place another meeple this turn. [8]

Example 1: You place a tile with a flying machine, and decide to try placing a meeple on that flying machine (which is facing up and left).

You roll a 3. You cannot place a meeple this turn, because there is no eligible tile at the designated location.

Had you rolled a 2, you would be able to place your meeple on the monastery (even though a blue meeple occupies it) or the city (even though a yellow meeple occupies it). Choosing one of these two options would be mandatory. You could not have placed on the road, because it is already completed.

Example 2: You place a tile with a flying machine (which is facing left), this time rolling a 2. You must place your meeple on the city (next to the blue meeple), since you cannot place on the field or on the already-completed road.
Additional clarifications

The following examples provide some additional clarifications on the available options to a flier. [9]

Example 3a: You just placed the tile with the red frame. You cannot place a meeple on the road, since it is occupied by Blue. You decide to use the flying machine, roll a 1, and then evaluate your options:
  • Your flier cannot land on the road on the destination tile as it was just completed.
  • Your flier can land on the unoccupied incomplete city. This is the only valid option in this case.
Example 3b: You just placed the tile with the red frame. You may place a meeple on the road by direct placement, since it is unoccupied. However, you decide to use the flying machine, roll a 1, and then evaluate your options:
  • Your flier cannot land on the road on the destination tile as it was just completed.
  • Your flier can land on the unoccupied incomplete city. This is the only valid option in this case.
Example 3c: You just placed the tile with the red frame. You cannot place a meeple on the road, since it is occupied by Blue. You decide to use the flying machine, roll a 1, and then evaluate your options:
  • Your flier can land on the road occupied by Blue, since it is incomplete. It doesn't matter it is already occupied.
  • Your flier can land on the unoccupied incomplete road on the destination tile too.
Therefore, your flier has two possible landing options in this case.

3. Scoring a feature

If the tile with the aircraft symbol completes a feature after placing the tile, the feature is scored as usual. [10]

Final scoring

At the end of the game, normal scoring for incomplete features applies. [10]

Tile Distribution

Total Tiles: 8

Flier C2 Tile A.jpg x1
 
Flier C2 Tile B.jpg x1
 
Flier C2 Tile C.jpg x1
(P)
Flier C2 Tile D.jpg x1
 
Flier C2 Tile E.jpg x1
 
Flier C2 Tile F.jpg x1
(H)
Flier C2 Tile G.jpg x1
(F)
Flier C2 Tile H.jpg x1
(G)

Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:

Feature Garden C2.png
G | Garden
Feature Farmhouse C2.png
F | Farmhouse
Feature Highwayman C2.png
H | Highwaymen
Feature Pigsty C2.png
P | Pigsty


Footnotes

For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.

  1. Icon Open Book.png Any meeple (regular meeple, large meeple, mayor, wagon, ringmaster, abbot, phantom) can be a flier, as the flying machine feature is not the final resting place for the meeple. However, the final landing point must still be a valid feature for that meeple:
    • The mayor can only land on an unfinished city. If an unfinished city is not available on the tile where the mayor lands, the mayor returns to the player’s supply. (2/2013)
    • The abbot can only land on a monastery or a garden. (Yes, gardens are allowed despite the wording of the primary rule.) If an unfinished monastery or garden is not available on the tile where the abbot lands, the abbot returns to the player’s supply. (3/2015)
    • Only a regular meeple or a phantom can land on an acrobat space or on an incomplete acrobat pyramid.
    As mentioned earlier, a phantom can be a flier too. However, if you first use a meeple as a flier then the second figure (the phantom) cannot also use the flying machine. The flying machine is a feature, so claiming the flying machine feature with the first figure prevents the phantom from also claiming it. Thus, in this situation the phantom can only be placed on a road or on the field. (5/2013)
    Icon Locked Red.png As per the rules, only normal meeples can be placed as acrobats and all the other meeples in Carcassonne II are not permitted. Phantoms work as normal meeples in Carcassonne I, so the interpretation of the rules should allow them to be placed as acrobats too. An official clarification would be required.
  2. Icon Open Book.png A player cannot place a flier on a structure that was finished by the tile that was just placed, as a feature is considered completed at the moment that a tile is placed, and the flier can only land on an unfinished feature. (2012)
  3. Icon World Black.png This means a flier can land on any incomplete claimable feature on the destination tile but a field. It is irrelevant if the feature is occupied or not. As a consequence, a flier cannot land on another flying machine.
  4. Icon Open Book.png The flier can land on features outside the City of Carcassonne (but not in the City itself) (Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber) and outside The Wheel of Fortune (but not on the Wheel itself) (The Wheel of Fortune). The flier can also be deployed to the roads on the school tiles (The School). (1/2013)
    Icon World Black.png As a consequence of this clarification, the flier could also land on features outside the City of Leipzig but not in the City itself (The Markets of Leipzig).
  5. Icon Open Book.png A flier cannot land on a magic portal. (2/2013)
  6. Icon World Black.png A flier cannot land on a castle (Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles and Bazaars), since it is not placed on a particular tile.
  7. Icon World Black.png Tower floors are not part of a feature that could be claimed and scored. As a consequence, fliers should no be allowed to land on them.
  8. Icon World Black.png This means that a meeple using a flying machine must be placed on the target tile, or return to its owner's supply if the placement is not possible.
  9. Icon World Black.png These clarifications are based on the examples provided by Kettlefish on Carcassonne Central. (6/2018)
    http://www.carcassonnecentral.com/community/index.php?topic=3972.msg58622#msg58622
  10. 10.0 10.1 Icon World Black.png Flying machines allow several meeples to share features normally occupied by only one meeple. If so, the players with the majority will score the feature. This may happen with:
    • Monasteries
    • Abbeys
    • Shrines
    • Darmstadt churches
    • German monasteries (monks and Carcassonne I abbots are scored separately)
    • Dutch & Belgian monasteries (monks and Carcassonne I abbots are scored separately)
    • Japanese Buildings (monks and Carcassonne I abbots are scored separately)
    • Gardens
    • German castles
    • German cathedrals