The Peasant Revolts

From Wikicarpedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Other languages:

Main Page  > Carcassonne  > The Peasant Revolts


Promotional image of The Peasant Revolts as published in 11/2020

General info and comments

Punchout
Expansion symbol

The Peasant Revolts was released by Hans im Glück in 2020.

In this mini-expansion you have to decide, whether you want to protect yourself against insurgent peasants (and hence direct their anger against your fellow players) or rather take things as they come.

This expansion has cities with clipped buildings.

This expansion has been developed for the Carcassonne basic game. All the basic game rules still apply in addition to the expansion rules below. You can combine it with other expansions - but at your own risk – that is, there will be no official rules for these combinations.

Contents

  • 12 new land tiles for peasant revolts with symbols for the respective features.


Peasant Revolts tile
5x cities
4x roads
3x monasteries

Rules

Preparation

Shuffle the 12 land tiles of this mini-expansion. Put 3 of them back into the box (without looking at them). Those tiles will not be used in this game. Shuffle the remaining 9 tiles and the other land tiles together.

Gameplay

1. Placing a tile

The peasants revolt

As soon as you draw a peasant revolt tile, a revolt takes place. Place the tile in front of you. [1] Now check, if one or more of your meeples are standing on features shown on the diamond-shaped symbol of the tile (city, road or monastery), and if those meeples are "unprotected" or "protected".

Peasant Revolts C2 Unprotected Meeple.png
All of your unprotected meeples on the respective features, must be returned into your supply immediately.
Peasant Revolts C2 Protected Meeple.png
Every protected meeple on the respective features scores 2 points. Protected meeples remain protected after the revolt.
 

(How you can protect your meeples, will be explained in 2. Placing a meeple.)

Note: If you had to return at least one meeple, the revolt is over and you continue with your normal turn.

Example 1: You draw a land tile with the peasant revolt symbol for roads (symbol enlarged in this example).
Your unprotected meeple is standing on a road on the left. Put the meeple back into your supply. Your protected meeple on the right stays on the tile and scores 2 points.
The revolt is over. The blue meeple has not been affected. Now, place the land tile according to the usual rules and continue your turn.

The peasant revolt moves on to the next player

If you do not have to return a meeple to your supply, because none of your meeples are standing on affected features or because all of your meeples, on affected features, are protected, the peasant revolt moves on and hits the player to your left. They also check, in the same way as described before, whether or not the revolt affects them and if they score points for protected meeples. If they, also are not affected by the peasant revolt, it moves on to the next player.

This continues until a player has to return at least 1 meeple to their supply, or none of the players have been affected. Now, place the land tile according to the usual rules and continue your turn.

Note! Only players, who have to check their meeples during the peasant revolt, score points for their protected meeples. Players who are not hit by the peasant revolt cannot score any points for protected meeples.

Example 2: You draw a land tile with the peasant revolt symbol for cities (symbol enlarged in this example). All of your meeples in cities are protected and you score 4 points.
The peasant revolt moves on to Blue. Blue is sitting to your left, and continues to check, if and how the peasant revolt affects them. Blue has 1 protected meeple in the city on the left, which scores 2 points. The unprotected meeples have to be returned into Blue’s supply. That is how the revolt ends and you place the land tile according to the usual rules and continue your turn.

2. Placing a meeple

Protecting a meeple from a peasant revolt

If you place a meeple on the tile just placed, you may also protect this very meeple, for the cost of 4 points. To do so, move your meeple on the score board back by 4 spaces. It is possible to score negative points. Next, “lay down” this meeple. This meeple has now joined the farmers. [2]

Example: Protecting a meeple

Each time you do not place a meeple on the tile you just have placed, [3] you may protect one of your meeples standing on tiles for the cost of 2 points.

Farmers cannot be protected. They are never affected by peasant revolts.

A meeple “lying down” is protected from a peasant revolt. In case the revolt affects you, you score 2 points for each protected meeple in an affected feature (see 1. Placing a tile).

3. Scoring a feature

When scoring a feature, a protected meeple is treated like a normal meeple. It is returned into your supply after the feature has been scored. After that, it loses its protection from peasant revolts. This means, that if you place that meeple again, it is unprotected once again.

Example: The city has been completed. You have the majority of meeples (2 in this case) and score 10 points.
Blue does not score any points. Return all meeples from the city back into your supplies and place them upright. They are now unprotected once more.
Final scoring

Final scoring is performed according to use usual rules. When scoring a feature, a protected meeple is treated like a normal meeple.

Other expansions

>> General considerations:

  • The active player may protect meeples on any feature even if not affected by peasant revolts.
    • Meeples may be protected when placed on or moved to any feature for 4 points in any phase:
    • Meeples placed on any feature may be protected for 2 points in phase 2. Placing a meeple.


>> Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon:

Interpretation from the Community Meeples placed with a magic portal can also be protected for 4 points.


>> Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor:

Interpretation from the Community A wagon stays protected until it return's to its owner's supply, even if it is placed on or moved to a feature that it is not affected by peasant revolts.

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: When does a meeple lose its protection against peasant revolts? a) When the feature is scored (the meeple is still on the board) b) When the meeple is placed in the player's supply

Answer: A meeple loses its protection in the moment when you take the meeple back in your supply. (1/2021)

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: Should we consider a protected wagon still protected if moved to another feature after scoring?

Answer: In the special case of the wagon, you can consider that the wagon keeps the protection after moving. (1/2021)

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: The wagon should then keep its protection until it returns to the player's supply. Even it is placed on features that can't be affected by a peasant's revolt. Is this correct?

Answer: Yes, you can do so. The rules are always be made for the base game. We haven't given any thought to all of the (mini)-expansions and the special cases yet. (1/2021)

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: Since a wagon can move, would it be possible to protect a wagon when placed on a feature other than a road, city or monastery?

Answer: There is no reason to do it. (1/2021)

Interpretation from the Community Only the active player can protect a wagon moved after scoring when moving it after scoring. The active player will pay 4 points.

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: When moving an unprotected wagon, can it be protected? If so, should we pay 2 (wagon was already placed) or 4 points (new placement)? Would this be applicable to all players even if it is not their turn?

Answer: You can protect only in your turn. So if you move the wagon in a turn of other players, you can not protect it. How much it costs, is written in the rules (4 points). (1/2021)


>> Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber:

Interpretation from the Community Meeples in the city of Carcassonne are not affected by peasant revolts (it is a special area).

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: Are meeples placed in the city of Carcassonne affected by peasant revolts?

Answer: As written in the rules, there are no official rules for the combination. The meeples placed in the city of Carcassonne are not affected by the peasants revolts. (1/2021)

Interpretation from the Community You may protect a meeple redeployed from Carcassonne to a feature being scored although it makes no sense, since it will be scored and removed right away. So, no peasant revolt can affect it at that point. However, players may decide to spend 4 points in the process.

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: It makes no sense to protect meeples redeployed from the city of Carcassonne, right? I would say no as they are scored immediately.

Answer: You are free to lower your score by that method. It also makes no sense. (1/2021)


>> Exp. 7 - The Catapult:

Interpretation from the Community The active player can protect a meeple swapped with the Seduction Token for 4 points.

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: You can also protect meeples for 4 points during your turn when exchanging a meeple with a Seduction Token (the protected meeples keep their protection when swapped). Is this correct?

Answer: You can do so. There is no reason why this should not be allowed. (1/2021)


>> Mini #1 - The Flier (Flying Machines):

Interpretation from the Community Meeples placed with a flying machine can also be protected for 4 points.


>> Mini #7 - Crop Circles:

Interpretation from the Community The active player can protect a meeple placed with a crop circle for 4 points.

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: You can also protect meeples for 4 points each during your turn when placing a meeple with a crop circle. Is this correct?

Answer: You can do so. There is no reason why this should not be allowed. (1/2021)


>> Monasteries in Germany / Japanese buildings / Monasteries in Belgium & the Netherlands:

Interpretation from the Community There is no official rule about how to place a protected meeple placed as an abbot. The players will have to agree on a way to do it (placing a map chip or any unused token under the meeple is an option).

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: If protected meeples are placed "lying down," how can you tell apart a meeple placed as a monk from a meeple placed as an abbot in a German monastery?

Answer: If you play with the combination you could figure out a way to mark them. (1/2021)


>> The Markets of Leipzig:

Interpretation from the Community Meeples moved to the city of Leipzig may keep their protection status but it makes no sense. In any case, they cannot be affected by peasant revolts when placed in Leipzig (it is a special area).

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: Moving a protected meeple to the city of Leipzig would remove its protection (if any), since it cannot be applied later? Are meeples placed in Leipzig affected by peasant revolts?

Answer: As written in the rules, there are no official rules for the combination. The meeples in the city of Leipzig are not affected by the peasants revolts. (1/2021)


>> 20th Anniversary Expansion:

Interpretation from the Community You may protect meeples placed or added with an activated arrow symbol for 4 points.


>> The Gifts:

Interpretation from the Community You may protect meeples placed with a Synod gift card for 4 points.
Interpretation from the Community You may protect meeples placed on a feature with a Change Position gift card for 4 points. The protected meeple would keep its protection when moved (Note: There is no official way to indicate this if the meeple changes position to become a farmer).


>> The Phantom:

Interpretation from the Community You can protect your phantom as any other meeple.

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: You can also protect your phantom during your turn. Is this correct?

Answer: You can do so. There is no reason why this should not be allowed. (1/2021)


>> La Porxada:

Interpretation from the Community The active player can protect a meeple swapped with La Porxada for 4 points.

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: You can also protect a meeple for 4 points during your turn when exchanging a meeple with La Porxada. Is this correct?

Answer: You can do so. There is no reason why this should not be allowed. (1/2021)

Tile distribution

Total tiles: 12
Peasant Revolts C2 Tile 01.png x1
(F)
Peasant Revolts C2 Tile 02.png x1
 
Peasant Revolts C2 Tile 03.png x1
(P)
Peasant Revolts C2 Tile 04.png x1
(F)
Peasant Revolts C2 Tile 05.png x1
(G)
Peasant Revolts C2 Tile 06.png x1
 
Peasant Revolts C2 Tile 07.png x1
(W)
Peasant Revolts C2 Tile 08.png x1
 
Peasant Revolts C2 Tile 09.png x1
 
Peasant Revolts C2 Tile 10.png x1
 
Peasant Revolts C2 Tile 11.png x1
(H)
Peasant Revolts C2 Tile 12.png x1
(H)

Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:

Feature Garden C2.png
G | Garden
Feature Farmhouse C2.png
F | Farmhouse
Feature WaterTower C2.png
W | Water tower
Feature Highwayman C2.png
H | Highwaymen
Feature Pigsty C2.png
P | Pigsty

Note: The small illustrations of a cowshed, a pigsty and a donkey stable are collectively referred to as sheds or stables.

Footnotes

For Icons explanation and licensing please visit Icons page.


  1. Interpretation from the Community The actions associated to the peasant revolt will take place even if the tile cannot be placed afterwards. The rules do not include any limitations if this situation would happen. Therefore, the actions would take place, the tile would be discarded and the player would draw a new tile. If so, the player could chain several revolts in the same turn.
  2. Interpretation from the Community This sentence, misplaced in the ZMG rules, may be misleading and it has no effect in gameplay. It just stresses that your meeple has become a supporter of the peasants' cause. This would simply justify that it will not be affected by any possible revolts.
  3. Interpretation from the Community This wording is based on the German rules. The English rules read "Each time you choose not to place a meeple on the tile you just have placed" and it can be somewhat misleading. You may interpret that you need at least one meeple in your supply in order to be able to choose not to place it.
    The German rules allow you not to place a meeple just simply because you don't have any left in your supply. In this case, there is no decision involved; it is your only option.