General info and comments
Traders & Builders symbol
Traders and Builders was released for the edition by HiG in 2015.
Copies of this expansion printed in the period 2015-2016 have the darker city backgrounds.
- 24 landscape tiles (identified with expansion symbol), including 9 with Wine, 6 with Corn, and 5 with Cloth
- 6 pigs
- 20 goods tokens (9x Wine, 6x Wheat and 5x Cloth)
Shuffle the new landscape tiles with those from the basic game and stack them normally. Place the goods tokens as a general supply within easy reach of all players. Each player adds the builder and pig of their color to their supply.
The goods tokens
The goods tokens play a role in phase 3. Scoring a feature. Phases 1. Placing a tile and 2. Placing a meeple are not affected by them.
Scoring a feature with goods symbols
Whenever you or another player completes  a city featuring goods tokens, the following occurs:
- The city is scored as normal.
- The player who completed the city (by placing the last tile) takes the depicted goods tokens from the supply.
This can be any player, and who has control of the city has no impact on this step. The player receives one goods token from the supply for each corresponding symbol in the city. It does not matter if the player who completed the city had any knights in the city, or if any knights were present in the city at all; it is always the player who placed the last tile that receives the goods tokens from that city.
Place your collected goods tokens faceup in front of you.
Example: You complete the city. The blue player scores 10 points for scoring the city. You receive 1 wine and 2 wheat tokens.
Goods tokens during final scoring
During final scoring, the player who has collected the most of each type of goods token (Wine, Grain, or Cloth)
is awarded 10 points. In the case of a tie for a type, each tied player receives 10 points.
Example - Final scoring:
You score 20 points, while the blue player scores 30 points.
Instead of placing a meeple , you may place your builder on the tile you just placed, but only on a road or city. Note that you must already have one meeple on the feature in order to place a builder there. 
Your builder is always returned to your supply if you no longer have meeples on that feature. This typically occurs after the feature has been scored, but some expansions introduce other ways in which this can happen.
Example: You may place your builder on the road tile you just placed, because you already have a highwayman on it.
Later on in the game, the builder has the following effect:
If you place a tile that continues  the road or city that your builder occupies, you may immediately draw and place another tile. You must still follow all the normal rules while placing this tile.
A) You place this tile, extending the road your builder occupies, but decide not to place a meeple.
B) Continuing the same turn, you draw and place another tile, and place a meeple on it.
More information on the builder
You may place a meeple on both the first and second tile of a double turn.  If you complete a feature that is occupied by your builder on the first turn, you may place that builder on the tile you place during the second turn (see the example).
The builder can only ever grant one double turn at a time. If you use the second tile to expand a feature occupied by your builder, you do not get to draw and place a third tile.
Turn 1: Place a highwayman.
Turn 2: Place your builder.
Turn 3a: You complete the road by placing this tile, on which you also place a knight. Then, you score the road, and return your builder and highwayman to your supply.
Turn 3b: You place your second tile and your builder.
- As long as the feature is incomplete, the builder will remain, allowing you to get a double turn the first time you expand that feature each turn.
- As long as there is one of your meeples on the feature, your builder will remain. When you have no meeples on the feature, return your builder to your supply.
- During a double turn, you may perform 1. Place a tile, 2. Place a meeple, 3. Score a feature in its first part, and then perform these 3 steps again in its second part.  See section The Double Turn for more details of actions that may happen only once during a double turn.
- Multiple builders may occupy the same feature.
- There can be any number of tiles between your builder and your highwayman or knight.
- You may place your builder onto a road or city. You may never place your builder onto a monastery or field.
- Features may be scored after the placement of each tile of a double turn. Remember that you must score any features you completed during your turn, even if you don't want to.
The builder has no impact when scoring a feature. Builders are never counted when determining who has control of a feature. Your builder and your meeples are all returned to your supply (as well as any other players' builders or meeples) when the feature they occupy is scored.
The new Land tiles are placed exactly like those in the base game.
Instead of placing a meeple, you may place your pig on the field segment of a tile you just placed. However, that field must also contain at least one of your farmer meeples.
Example: Since you have a farmer in this field, you may place your pig in it.
You may place your pig even if another player's pig is also in that field.
If your pig, due to removal of farmers (which is possible with some expansions), is left standing during the game in a field where none of your farmers are left, return it to your supply. 
The pig stays in the field until the end of the game.
Your pig allows you to increase the value of the cities in the field for your farmers. To do this, you must have the majority with your farmers in the field where your pig is. You do not consider the pig itself when calculating the majority.
If you have the majority, you receive 4 points (instead of 3 points) for each completed city touching the field with your pig. A opponent's pig does not affect your score.
Example: You have control of this field. Since your pig is in this field, you will score 4 points per bordering city. You score 8 points for two completed cities. Blue does not have control of the field, and scores no points.
Note: Your pig will still increase your score, even if you and another player are tied for control of the field with your pig.
Example:  You
, the blue
player, and the green
player are all tied for control of the field. Both you
and the blue
player have a pig on the field, so you both score 8 points each (4 points per city). The Green
player does not have a pig on the field, and will only score 6 points (3 points per completed city).
The bag 
Instead of placing the Land tiles in multiple facedown stacks, you can simply put them all in the bag. On your turn, simply draw a tile from the bag and then place it as usual.
The bag is also well suited to carry Carcassonne with you.
The double turn
A double turn is one single turn with two parts. When combining this expansion with others, some actions may happen only once during the double turn and other actions may happen in each part of the double turn.
Things that happen only ONCE
Things that may or must happen TWICE
- Draw and place a landscape tile (required)
- Resolution of special symbols on tile (required)
- Meeple, figure or token placement
- Scoring (if one or more features are completed)
- Prisoner exchange (can be more than twice) (Exp. 4 - The Tower)
- Removal of a knight from a besieged city (Besiegers - Cathars - Siege)
- Players are allowed to keep drawing additional tiles as long as they extend their city/road where their builder is deployed. (Thanks to Diminuendo)
- To bring the trade goods in line with the relative scoring of the King and Robber Baron (Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber), a player with a majority no longer scores 10 points. Instead, they receive a 10% bonus (or 10 points, whichever is higher) to their total score at the end of the game, after calculating farms and incomplete features, but before calculating any other scores such as those from the King and Robber Baron. Additionally, any player who does not win the majority may be awarded 2 points for every token they own. (Thanks to kissybooboo)
Clarifications for new landscape tiles
||The bridge does not end the roads displayed on it, nor does it combine them; one road continues from left to right, while the other continues from top to bottom. The roads split the field into four separate fields.
||The monastery splits the roads and fields into three separate roads and three separate fields.
||One road ends in the city, while the other ends at the small cottage.  The roads splits the field into three separate fields.
||This tile shows three different city segments and one field in the center.
Total Tiles: 24
Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:
G | Garden
F | Farmhouse
C | Cowshed
W | Water tower
H | Highwaymen
P | Pigsty
Total Goods Tokens: 20
For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.
- ↑ 1.0 1.1
The cloth bag is not included in Big Box 6.
A player who places an abbey tile that completes a city with trade goods receives the goods tokens for that city.
Question: If cities with trade goods are completed by placement of an abbey tile (Exp. 5 - Abbey & Mayor) , are the goods tokens awarded as usual to the player placing the abbey tile?
Answer: Yes, as the player completed the city.
The ZMG rules specified "normal meeple" (updated here) but the original HiG rules simply read "meeple." The wording by ZMG, by mistake, would rule out the placement of the builder with the large meeple or any other meeple different than the normal ones.
Note that the rules do not include any limitations regarding the presence (or not) of meeples or builders from other players. The only requirement is that there must be at least one of your meeples on the feature. This means you may place your builder on a feature no matter it is also occupied by meeples and builders from other players.
If a player completes a feature with an Abbey tile and his or her builder is on the feature, the feature does not get “extended” by the Abbey (as the Abbey is a separate feature), so the player does not get another tile.
Placing a bridge on a tile to extend a road is sufficient to trigger the builder’s double turn.
As long as the builder was present in the city/road when the tile was placed to extend it, the second part of the builder turn can occur even if the builder is no longer present by the end of the first part of the turn (such as removal by completing the city, or removal by the dragon, or removal by The Festival). (3/2015; updated 12/2018)
Important note: The "double turn" is really a single turn with two parts. Both parts of the double-turn are identical, but actions that only occur once per turn (such as fairy bonus point and prisoner buy-back) still only happen once. See section The Double Turn for more details when interacting with other expansions. (modified 6/2013)
We are using here a translation based on the German wording, that seems clearer. The wording by ZMG can be misleading:
- Exp. 2 rulebook: "During a double turn, you may do the following on each turn: 1. Place a tile, 2. Place a meeple, and 3. Score a feature."
- Big Box 6 rulebook: "During a double turn, you may: 1. Place a tile, 2. Place a meeple, and 3. Score a feature."
This sentence was included in the Big Box 6 rules. However ZMG simplified it as follows, losing its original meaning: "If your pig is removed from the field, return it to your supply."
This example was added in the Big Box 6 rules.
Note that a small cottage is not a farmhouse.