User talk:MajFrost

From WikiCarpedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Base Game

Box BaseGame C2 ZMG.png

General info and comments

Originally released by Hans im Glück in 2014.

Carcassonne, the world-famous French city, is known for its imposing fortifications erected during Antiquity and the Middle Ages. This fortress, surrounded by magnificent walls, still stands today as one of the most unique French cities. In this game, players must develop the area around Carcassonne. They place their meeples onto roads and into cities, monasteries, and fields. Only those who make the most judicious placements will gain the points required to win the game.

Copies printed in the period 2014-2016 have the darker city backgrounds.

Info on farmers rules

Farmers are considered a part of the base game for most Carcassonne players. They are also used in every official tournament as they are commonly not considered an expansion. In the new edition of Carcassonne farmers were separated as a supplement to ease access to the game for new players and smooth learning curve. WikiCarpedia follows this streamlined approach. For the sake of other expansions and the rest of the WikiCarpedia, farmers are considered a part of the base game. You can find farmers rules here.

Components and setup

Following part will explain initial setup and introduce components of the game.

The 72 LANDSCAPE TILES show roads, cities, and monasteries, in a field.

Tile showing a city
Tile showing a road
Tile showing a monastery

The backs of all the tiles are the same, but the START TILE has a darker colored back, so you can recognize it easily. Other graphical elements such as houses, people, or animals have no impact on the game. [1]

Regular back
Dark back

Place the start tile (the one with a dark back) in the middle of the table. Shuffle the remaining tiles and set them as different facedown stacks that are easily accessible to all players. Tiles can also be placed into a sack or game box and drawn randomly.

Start tile

Then comes the scoreboard, which you set to the side of your playing surface (table, floor, etc.).

Part of the scoring track with meeples on initial positions.

Finally, we have the MEEPLES. You will find in the box 40 regular meeples, including 8 meeples in each of these colors: yellow, red, green, blue, and black. [2] In addition, there are also 5 abbots. Usage of abbots is described in The Abbot mini expansion page, including 1 in each of the same colors. Abbots are not important from base game point of view.

Figure Meeples Base.png

Start by distributing 7 meeples of the color of their choice to each player. These meeples constitute each player’s personal supply. Each player takes seven meeples of their chosen color to form their supply. Place each player's eighth meeple on the 0 space on the scoreboard. These will be used to track each player's score throughout the game. If you are not playing with The Abbot, put those unique meeples back into the box.

 Icon Open Book.png Question: Too few followers—are we playing wrong or are there really too few?

Base Game C1 Meeples Footer Note 2.jpg
This is the number intended by designers. A certain shortage of followers is entirely intentional. An important element of the game is precisely learning to be economical with one's followers.

Overview and goal of the game

In Carcassonne, players take turns placing tiles and expanding the landscape of roads, cities, monasteries and fields, one tile at a time. Players may place their meeples on the individual features of tiles as well (roads, cities, monasteries, and fields), where they will become highwaymen, knights and monks. Points are earned throughout the game, and the player with the highest score at the end is the winner!


A game of Carcassonne is played in clockwise order. Starting with the youngest player, [3] [4] the current player does the following actions in the order listed below, after which it is the next player's turn, and so on and so forth. First, we'll give you a brief description of the actions you have to do during one of your turns. These actions will be detailed as we present the roads, the cities, and finally the monasteries. So what are these actions?

1. Placing a tile

The player must draw exactly one land tile from a stack and place it faceup adjacent to any tile already on the board to continue the landscape. [5]
Base Game C2 Gameplay Place Land Tile.png

2. Placing a meeple

The player may place a meeple from their supply onto the tile just placed.

Figure Meeple red.png

3. Scoring a feature

The player must score any feature completed by tile placement. Base Game C2 Gameplay Score Points.png

The roads

1. Placing a tile

You draw the depicted tile with three road segments starting from a village. You must place it in such a way that it continues the existing landscape (the tiles already in play). In the rare case that a tile cannot legally be placed anywhere, and all players agree, it is removed from the game, and the player draws another. [6]

Example 1a: You place the tile here. The road and fields continue the existing landscape.

2. Placing a meeple as highwayman

After placing the tile, you may place a meeple as a highwayman on one of that tile’s road segments, but only if the road is unoccupied by another highwayman.

In our example, since the road is not yet completed, no scoring occurs (see action 3) and play moves on to the next player.

The next player draws a tile that he/she places to continue the landscape. They may not place a meeple on the road to the right since your highwayman is already present on that road. Instead, they choose to place their meeple as a knight in the city segment of that tile.

Example 1b: You use your meeple as a highwayman on this road. This is possible because no other meeple is present on it.
Example 1c: Since the road to the right is occupied, the blue player decides to put his meeple in the city.

3. Scoring a road

When both ends of a road are closed, that road is completed and scored. The end of a road is closed when it meets a village, [7] a city, a monastery, or it loops onto itself by meeting the other end. [8]

Example 1d: The road completed has 3 tiles.

 Icon Open Book.png Question: Can a road end in nothing?

PnP Demo C2 Clarification 02.png
No, like all the usual land tiles, a road segment must continue to another road segment on all edges.

Even though it is your opponent that placed the tile, this still completes your road. How many points do you score? When scoring a road, each tile of that road grants you 1 point. Here, since you scored a road that is made out of 3 tiles, you score 3 points.

It is now time to note your score. You keep track of your score with the meeple you placed on the scoreboard before starting the game. Continuing our example, you move it forward 3 spaces to show that you’ve scored 3 points. Note: if your score passes 50 points, lay down your scoring meeple to show your 50+ points.

Example 1e: You keep track of the 3 points you earned on the scoreboard.

After scoring, return any meeples that occupy the road that was just scored to their owners' supply.

Example 1f: You return to your supply the highwayman that earned you 3 points. The blue meeple stays in place since it was not part of a scored feature.

We’ve already seen the most important parts of the game. Now, we will further expand on those actions by showing you how they apply to the other features, namely the cities and the monasteries:

The cities

1. Placing a tile

As usual, you draw a tile that you use to continue the landscape. Of course, the illustration must be continued as well. For example, a city segment must be connected to an open city.

Example: A tile showing a city.

2. Placing a meeple as a knight

Then, you see if there is already a meeple as a knight in the city. Here, there isn’t, so you can place one of your meeples as a knight in this city.

Example 2a: You placed this tile and it expands the city by one tile. Since the city is unoccupied, you place a meeple there.

 Icon Open Book.png Question: We have difficulty deciding when a placed tile represents a new city or belongs to one already being built.

PnP Demo C2 Clarification 01.png
'Corner to corner' is not a connection. Segments can only be connected on the edges. In the example shown there are two cities at the moment.

3. Scoring a city

Let’s continue our example and assume that a few turns have passed. You now draw this tile that you place to continue your city. Since the tile you’ve placed completes a feature (here, the city), it must now be scored. A city is completed when it is surrounded by walls and there are no gaps inside the city. Since you have a meeple in the completed city, you are the player to score it.

Each tile in a completed city is worth 2 points. In addition, each coat of arms is worth 2 more points. [9] For this city, you score 8 points! As usual, the meeple that was in the scored feature returns to your supply.

Example 2b: Completed city scoring.

The monasteries

1. Placing a tile

Once more, you draw a tile to continue the landscape. Monasteries are always depicted in the center of a tile. [10] When placing such a tile, you must, as usual, make sure that it continues the illustration. [11]

Example: Tile showing a monastery

2. Placing a meeple as a monk

You can place a meeple on a monastery as a monk. Of course, that meeple must come from your supply.

Example 3a: A monastery is always in the middle of a tile. You may place this tile here because the monastery on it is surrounded by fields.

3. Scoring a monastery

A monastery is completed when it is surrounded by tiles. During scoring, the monastery is worth 1 point per tile that completes it (including the monastery itself).

By placing this tile, you complete your monastery. It earns you 9 points and allows you to take your meeple back.

Example 3b: Completed monastery scoring.

We have already seen most of the rules for Carcassonne. There are only a few points left to see, but first, here is a summary of what we’ve seen so far:


1. Placing a tile

  • You must place your drawn tile in such a way that it continues the landscape and the illustration.
  • In some very rare cases, it may be impossible to place the tile. In those cases, simply return the tile to the box and draw a new one.

2. Placing a meeple

  • You may place a meeple on the tile you’ve just placed.
  • You may not place a meeple in a feature where there already is at least one other meeple, including one of yours.

3. Scoring a feature

  • A road is completed when both ends lead to a village, a city, a monastery, or the road forms a loop. Each tile in a completed road is worth 1 point.
  • A city is completed when it is surrounded by walls and there are no holes inside the city. Each tile in the completed city is worth 2 points. Each coat of arms in the completed city is worth an extra 2 points.
  • A monastery is completed when it is surrounded by 8 tiles. Each of the monastery’s tiles (the 8 surrounding tiles and the one with the monastery itself) is worth 1 point.
  • Scoring always occurs at the end of a player’s turn. At that moment, each player with a meeple in a scored feature earns points. [12]
  • After each scoring, return the scored meeples to their owners' supply.
  • If there are multiple meeples in a single scored feature, the player with the most meeples is awarded full points and all other players receive nothing. When more than one player have the most meeples in a scored feature, the tied players all score full points.

Game end and final scoring

The game ends immediately after the turn of the player who placed the last tile. Then, players proceed to a final scoring, after which the winner will be known.

Once the game is over, all meeples still in play are scored:

  • Each incomplete road is worth 1 point per tile, just like during the game.
  • Each incomplete city is worth 1 point per tile and 1 point per coat of arms, which is only half the points.
  • Each incomplete monastery is worth 1 point plus 1 point per adjacent tile, just like during the game.
Example of final scoring:
  • Left city: Green is the only one to score 8 points (5 tiles and 3 coat of arms). Black does not score any points since Green has the most meeples in this city.
  • Monastery: Yellow scores 4 points for this incomplete monastery (3 points for the adjacent tiles and 1 point for the monastery itself).
  • Right city: Blue scores 3 points for this incomplete city (2 tiles and 1 coat of arms).
  • Road: Red scores 3 points for this incomplete roads (3 tiles).

Once the final score is known, the winner is the player with the most points.[13]

Special cases

Many meeples on the same road

Example 4a: The tile you’ve just drawn could continue the road. However, there already is a highwayman on that road, which means that you may not place yours. You decide to place your tile, and a highwayman, so that it is not connected.
Example 4b: During a following turn, you draw this tile and decide to continue the road with it. Both roads, each with a highwayman, are now connected. Since this completes the road, it is now scored and both you and the other player score 4 points. Then, you both take your meeple back.

Many meeples in the same city

Example 5a: You wish to take control of the city away from yellow and place your tile as pictured with a knight on it. you are allowed to place a knight there because the city segment is not connected to another city segment with a knight on it. If you succeed in linking your two city segments, your two knights will allow you to take the city from yellow.
Example 5b: That is exactly the tile you needed to connect the city segments. Since you now have the most knights in the city, only you get to score the 10 points awarded for completing that city. Then, both you and the other player take back your meeples.

Use a meeple, score a feature, and get the meeple back

You can place a meeple in a feature you just completed, immediately score it, and then return the meeple to your supply.

To do so, follow these steps: [14]

__ 1. Place a tile, completing a feature (such as a road, city, or monastery).

__ 2. Place a meeple as a highwayman, knight, or monk on the feature you just completed.

__ 3. Score the completed road, city, or monastery and return the meeple to your supply.

Example - Sequence taking place:
1. You place a tile.
2. You place your meeple on the road.
3. You score 3 points for the road. Return your meeple to your supply.

 Icon Open Book.png Question: There is a situation that puzzles us. If a player draws a tile with two city segments and completes a small city, earning 4 points, can he or she then deploy a meeple to a new city segment in the same turn?

PnP Demo C2 Clarification 03.png
A player may only deploy one meeple per turn, and that meeple may be deployed only once, and it must be before any scoring. If the player already occupies the small, now-completed city, he or she may deploy a second meeple to the other city segment immediately after placing the tile. The small city will then be scored and the meeple involved returned to the player. If the player does not yet occupy this city, he or she can decide which of the two city segments to deploy a meeple to. If the meeple is deployed to the small city (1), it will be returned immediately (2) and the player will earn four points, but the meeple cannot be redeployed (3).

House rules

  • The players decide who starts the game by any method they choose—such as by rolling three meeples. The first player to ‘roll’ a standing meeple decides who plays first. (Thanks to Joff.)
  • To determine the first player; each player draws a tile from the bag, the player that drew the tile with the most roads (0 to 4) plays first, if there is a tie for most roads, a draw-off takes place. This is repeated until someone wins. (Thanks to michael.)
  • Take your next tile at the end of your turn, to give you time to think about placement and avoid analysis paralysis.
  • Play with a three-tile hand. The abbey counts as part of your hand. Play your turn, including the builder, and then draw back up to three tiles. These tiles could be visible to all or hidden to the other players (Thanks to DavidP and youtch.)
  • When playing with a bag for the tiles, the original starting tile may be put into the bag, and unplayable tiles can be put back into the bag rather than set to one side. (Thanks to dwhitworth.)
  • Trees (bushes) on roads do not end the road—only houses do (when the road forks). This makes road building a lot more dynamic. (Thanks to Tobias.)
  • When a tile is the only tile which can currently complete a structure, other players can offer to ‘buy’ it by offering points, trades counter, abbey, and so on. (Thanks to Deatheux.)
  • If you place a tile that fills a hole in the playing field by touching something on all four adjacent sides, you get another turn. This helps motivate people to finish the board even if they do not get an advantage from the placement. (Does not apply to the abbey tile). (Thanks to viberunner.)
  • Incomplete features at the end of the game do not score points at the end of the game. (Thanks to metoth.)
  • The edge of the table limits the playing area. Thus, a player may not place a tile past the edge of the table or move the playing area to place a tile that would have been past the edge of the table. (Thanks to metoth for prompting this one, and to SkullOne for pointing out that this is an official rule from Hunters and Gatherers.)
  • Table borders COMPLETE features as an abbey would. (Thanks to PreGy.)
  • Use colored dice instead of meeples on the scoring track. Start out with the 6 showing on top. When the marker completes one lap, turn it to the number 1 to indicate it has completed one lap. This shows at a glance which player is on what lap and who's ahead. On the 100 space track it’s even easier to determine someone’s score at a glance. (Thanks to Carcking.)

Use of a table

A number of questions have been asked about rules related to the play area itself, including what happens when the edge of the area is reached, or if a table has to be used for play. The following clarifications are from Georg Wild from HiG (5/2013):

  • The edge of the table is the limit for the game if, as stated in the rules, a table is used.
  • The rules state that the starting tile is placed in the middle of the table. If all of the tiles are shifted to allow more room, the starting tile would no longer be in the middle. So in principle, total shifting of the tiles is not allowed. Additionally, with a manual shift of all of the tiles, the tiles and figures on the field can slip, which could lead to incorrect positioning of tiles or figures.
  • Addition of a second table is possible if one of an appropriate height is added to the first table. If a table is extended (as with an additional panel), make sure that the tiles and figures on the playing field do not slip.
  • Playing on the floor: The rules technically do not allow this, because the rules state that the first tile is placed in the middle of the table. Playing on the floor is not forbidden, however, if use of a table is not feasible. If the floor is used, tiles must be placed so all tiles are visible to all players. Tiles cannot be placed under the sofa, cabinet/shelf, etc.
  • It is important generally, that all the players in the round agree how to play:
    • Table - Standard
    • Table - with "total shifting" of tiles
    • Table - with extension
    • Floor
  • Continue to play fairly and not intentionally unfair to other players.

Tile reference

Total Tiles: 72

Base Game C2 Tile A.jpg x2
Base Game C2 Tile B.jpg x4
Base Game C2 Tile C.jpg x1
Base Game C2 Tile D.jpg x4
(F;P) + (S)
Base Game C2 Tile E.jpg x5
Base Game C2 Tile F.jpg x2
Base Game C2 Tile G.jpg x1
Base Game C2 Tile H.jpg x3
Base Game C2 Tile I.jpg x2
Base Game C2 Tile J.jpg x3
Base Game C2 Tile K.jpg x3
Base Game C2 Tile L.jpg x3
Base Game C2 Tile M.jpg x2
Base Game C2 Tile N.jpg x3
Base Game C2 Tile O.jpg x2
Base Game C2 Tile P.jpg x3
Base Game C2 Tile Q.jpg x1
Base Game C2 Tile R.jpg x3
Base Game C2 Tile S.jpg x2
Base Game C2 Tile T.jpg x1
Base Game C2 Tile U.jpg x8
Base Game C2 Tile V.jpg x9
Base Game C2 Tile W.jpg x4
Base Game C2 Tile X.jpg x1

One of the tiles marked with "(S)" -tile number four- is the starting tile (with a dark back).

Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:

Feature Garden C2.png
G | Garden
Feature Farmhouse C2.png
F | Farmhouse
Feature Cows C2.png
C | Cowshed
Feature WaterTower C2.png
W | Water tower
Feature Highwayman C2.png
H | Highwaymen
Feature Pigsty C2.png
P | Pigsty
Feature Donkeys C2.png
D | Donkey stable

Note: The small illustrations of a cowshed, a pigsty and a donkey stable are collectively referred to as sheds or stables.

The Farmers

General info and comments

Originally released by Hans im Glück in 2014.

Farmers are considered a part of the base game for most Carcassonne players. They are also used in every official tournament as they are not considered an expansion. In the new edition of Carcassonne farmers were separated as a supplement to ease approach to the game for new players. WikiCarpedia follows this streamlined approach. For the sake of other expansions and the rest of the WikiCarpedia, farmers are considered a part of the base game.

What would life be without agriculture? We try to answer part of this question by introducing the hard-working farmers who spend long hours in the fields of Carcassonne. As we did for the roads, cities, and monasteries, the farmers will be presented using the actions of a game turn.


  • None. Only contents of base game are used.



1. Placing a tile

You draw the tile shown, and must place it in such a way that the edges of the tile match the edges of the tiles already in play. Fields always refer to the green spaces found in the landscape of Carcassonne. [15]

Example: On the tile shown above, there are three field segments.

2. Placing a meeple as a farmer

A farmer is a meeple that you place “laying down” in a field segment. Unlike highwaymen, knights, and monks that are all placed standing up, farmers are laid down on a tile because they are only scored at the end of the game. Consequently, they are not returned to your supply after scoring [16]. Laying farmers down ensures that you remember to leave them on the board. As always, you can only place your farmer if there are no other farmers in the field. The fields of Carcassonne are divided by roads and cities. Pictured below are three separate fields.

Example: The field in which you are placing a farmer goes from the tile you just placed to the city with your knight. The yellow farmer has no impact since he occupies another field.

 Icon Open Book.png Question: On monastery tiles, are we allowed to deploy a follower on the surrounding field segment?

Farmers C2 Clarification 01.png
Yes! The same rules are valid for a field surrounding a monastery as for any other field. You can also deploy a farmer next to a monastery. In this case the monastery is left unoccupied.

3. Scoring fields

As mentioned previously, farmers are not scored during the game and, consequently, they do not return to your supply. So place your farmers wisely. Now, let’s assume the game is over and that we are conducting the final scoring. Unlike other features, it is not the field tiles that are counted, but the number of completed cities that border a field. Each completed city that touches a field adds 3 points to the value of that field. All fields touched by a city will see their value increased by 3 points.

Example: Three completed cities touch the large field occupied by a red farmer and a blue farmer. Both players will score a total of 9 points for the three completed cities: A, B, and C. Neither of them scores any points for city D since that city is incomplete.
Both the yellow and black players have farmers in the same field, but Yellow has control, so the yellow player will be the only one scoring the field's 12 points for completed cities 1 - 4.
The black player in the small field scores 3 points per completed city ( A and B ), for a total of 6 points.

 Icon Open Book.png Question: It is unclear whether incomplete fields earn points during the final scoring.

Farmers C2 Clarification 02.png
It is almost impossible to close off or complete most of the fields. The most important thing when scoring the fields are the cities, which do indeed have to be complete. So: completed cities count on incomplete fields as well.

 Icon Open Book.png Question: At the end of the game, do we score fields which are completely closed off by roads, but which don't have any adjacent cities? If so, how?

Farmers C2 Clarification 03.png
Strictly speaking, they should be scored exactly like every other field, with 3 points for every completed city. In this case, that makes a total of zero points. And the farmer is nevertheless unable to leave the field.


A brief summary the most important details about farmers:

  • Farmers are placed “laying down” on the board.
  • Farmers are only scored during the final scoring, not during the game.
  • Each completed city adjacent to a field you occupy gives you 3 points.
  • Each completed city can be worth points for any number of different fields.
  • Similar to roads and cities, if there is more than one farmer in the same field, only the player with the most farmers in that field scores its points. In the case of a tie, each tied player scores full points.

The Abbot

General info and comments

The Abbot symbol

The Abbot was originally released by Hans im Glück in 2014.

It introduces the abbot meeple and garden features. [17]

A garden

Along with The River, The Abbot is considered part of the basic game that can be used as desired. [18] It implements a mechanic that is unique to the new edition of Carcassonne, diverging in this aspect from the 1st edition.

With its introduction in 2014, tiles featuring gardens became available in the new design Base Game which included The River. Later, they appeared on tiles in the major expansions as they were re-released in the new artwork, and in Big Box 6 when it was released in 2017. [19] Bear in mind that The Abbot provides a new mechanic involving the abbot meeple, but the tiles it affects are not part of the expansion itself. Garden tiles that have been included in the base game and in expansions are listed for information in the tile distribution below.

Finally, it must be noted that the (new) abbot in this expansion is not the same as the (old) abbot used on German, Dutch and Belgian Monasteries, and Japanese Buildings. The new abbot is a specialized meeple for monasteries and gardens whereas the old abbots were normal meeples placed on specialized monasteries. Just in case things weren’t confusing enough already.


  • 5 abbots, one in each player color.[20]
Figure Abbots Base.png



Each player adds the abbot of their color to their supply. With the exception of the new rules used with this mini-expansion, all basic Carcassonne rules remain unchanged.


1. Placing a Tile

When placing a tile with a garden, you must place it so that it its edges match the edges of tiles already in play.

2. Placing a Meeple

When placing a tile with a monastery [21] [22] or garden, you may place your abbot onto the monastery or onto the garden. [23] [24] [25] You may, of course, place a regular meeple onto the monastery, or other features, such as roads, etc. You may not place a regular meeple onto the garden.

3. Scoring with the Abbot

When the monastery or garden occupied by your abbot is surrounded by eight tiles, you score 9 points (just like a regular monastery scoring).

On your turn, if you do not place a meeple during the 2. Placing a meeple phase, [26] [27] [28] you may instead return your already-placed abbot to your supply. If you do so, you score immediately as many points as the garden or monastery your abbot occupied is worth at that time, [29] [30] [31] exactly like how monasteries are scored during the final scoring. [32]

You place this tile, but choose to not place a meeple. Instead, you return your abbot to your supply, which you placed on a previous turn. You score 6 points (1 for the garden, and 5 for the tiles surrounding it).

Final scoring

During final scoring, incomplete monasteries or gardens occupied by abbots are scored the same way as those occupied by monks.

Tile distribution

The following tile distribution includes all the tiles featuring a garden that can be found in the Base Game and the expansions released until now (11/2020) for the new edition.

Base Game

Total tiles: 8

Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile E Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile H Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile I Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile M Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile N Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile R Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile U Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Base Game C2 Tile V Garden.jpg x1

River I

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-River I C2 Tile J Garden.jpg x1

Inns and Cathedrals

Total tiles: 2

Abbot-Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile B Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Inns And Cathedrals C2 Tile H Garden.jpg x1

Traders and Builders

Total tiles: 2

Abbot-Traders And Builders C2 Tile K Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Traders And Builders C2 Tile U Garden.jpg x1

The Princess and the Dragon

Total tiles: 2

Abbot-Princess And Dragon C2 Tile B Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Princess And Dragon C2 Tile J Garden.jpg x1

The Tower

Total tiles: 2

Abbot-Tower C2 Tile E Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Tower C2 Tile I Garden.jpg x1

Abbey and the Mayor

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Abbey And Mayor C2 Tile H Garden.jpg x1

Count, King and Robber

Total tiles: 2

Abbot-Count King And Robber C2 Tile B Garden.jpg x1 (King and Robber)
Abbot-River II C2 Tile B Garden.jpg x1 (River II)

Bridges, Castles and Bazaars

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Bridges Castles Bazaars C2 Tile I Garden.jpg x1

Hills & Sheep

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Hills And Sheep C2 Tile E Garden.jpg x1

Under the Big Top

Total tiles: 2

Abbot-Under Big Top C2 Tile A Garden.jpg x1
Abbot-Under Big Top C2 Tile G Garden.jpg x1

Flier, The (Flying Machines)

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Flying Machines C2 Tile H Garden.jpg x1

Mage and Witch

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Mage And Witch C2 Tile E Garden.jpg x1

Robbers, The

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Robbers C2 Tile D Garden.jpg x1

Spiel Doch 02/2018

Total tiles: 1

Abbot-Spiel Doch C2 Tile 02 Garden.jpg x1

The Peasant Revolts

Total tiles: 1

Peasant Revolts C2 Tile 05.png x1

CutCassonne (Cut & Play)

Total tiles: 1

CutCassonne C2 Tile 07.png x1

The Fortune Teller (Print & Play)

Total tiles: 1

FortuneTeller C2 Tile 05.png x1

The River

General info and comments

Expansion symbol for The River I (Big Box 6 version)
Expansion symbol for The River II

The River was originally released for the New Edition by Hans im Glück in 2014. The 1st. Edition of River was release in 2001.

The River II was released for the New Edition by Hans im Glück in 2017 as part of Count, King and Robber. The River II was originally released for the 1st. Edition in 2005, and later bundled in the major expansion Count, King and Robber in 2008.

The river expansions modify the beginning of the game by having players place a set of specific river tiles before the normal tiles.

Copies of The River printed in the period 2014-2016 have the darker city backgrounds.


  • The River: 12 river tiles, each with with a dark back and no symbol (original version) or a stream symbol (Big Box 6 version)
  • The River II: 12 river tiles, each with with a dark back and a crown symbol



The River and The River II replace the start tile. Select the river expansion you want and discard the other. Set aside the source and lake tiles. Shuffle the remaining river tiles and stack them facedown. Add the lake tile to the bottom of the stack, and place the source tile faceup as the starting tile.

The setup of The River requires to set aside the source (1), and the lake (2).

Preparation of The River II

The river expansion added to Count, King and Robber includes a river fork tile. It should be set aside along with the source and lake tiles. The fork tile is to be placed first (after the source tile) by the first player.

The setup of The River II requires to set aside the source (1), the fork (2), and the lake (3).

Combining The River and The River II

You can combine The River with The River II from base game to make a very long river. Keep only one source and one lake.

Do not use both The River II and The Count of Carcassonne. Combining the two can lead to situations where the river cannot be completed.


1. Placing a tile

You must draw tiles from the River stack before drawing normal tiles. Place your river tile at the end of the river. As always, tiles must be placed so that their edges match the edges of tiles already in play. You cannot make a river turn twice in a row in the same direction (a U-turn), as this risks that the following tile will be impossible to place. Players must draw and place all river tiles before they can draw normal tiles.

When playing with The River II, you may have up to two river branches to choose from when creating the river. You cannot connect both river branches together.

Forbidden placement

 Icon Open Book.png Question: With the U-turn rule when making rivers, does that mean no U-turn ever, or just no immediate U-turns because it will complicate the placement of subsequent river tiles?

Answer: Only immediate U-turns are explicitly forbidden. Naturally, there can also be problems if a straight river tile lies between. Turning river the same way three times should also be considered prohibited.

2. Placing a meeple

Like any other tile, you may place a meeple on other features of a river tile you just placed. [33] Meeples cannot be placed on the river itself.

When playing with The River II, if you place the last river tile (the lake with the volcano), you cannot place a meeple on that tile. Immediately after placing it, [34] take another turn by drawing a normal tile.

Lake with volcano from The River II

3. Scoring

The river feature itself cannot be scored. All other features on river tiles are scored as usual.

Example: Completed rivers from expansions The River (A) and The River II (B)

The River II special features

Pig-herd in River II

The inn and the volcano on the river follow the rules from their expansions (Inns and Cathedrals and The Princess and the Dragon, respectively). The pig-herd [35] has the same effect as a pig in a field (from Traders and Builders). If you are playing without these expansions, simply ignore these features.

Clarifications for new landscape tiles

The following tiles do not split fields - there is one field on each tile

River I C2 Tile A.jpg
River I

River II C2 Tile A.jpg
River II

River I C2 Tile L.jpg
River I

River II C2 Tile L.jpg
River II

Fields do not go under small bridges - there are 4 separate fields here

River I C2 Tile B.jpg
River I

River I C2 Tile K.jpg
River I

River II C2 Tile D.jpg
River II

River II C2 Tile H.jpg
River II

and three fields here, one north and two south.

River I C2 Tile H.jpg
River I

This large bridge does not separate fields. There are two fields here - one eastward and one westward.

River II C2 Tile E.jpg
River II

The houses by this bridge do not end the road.

River I C2 Tile K.jpg
River I

Other expansions

For the River II there are some clarifications when using it with other expansions:

  • Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders: The pig-herd increases the value of its field by 1 point per completed city. This bonus is in addition to the points given by the pig.
  • Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor: The pig-herd only affects field scoring for farmers during the game (due to the barn) and after the game. Barns do not score additional points from the pig-herd after the game.

House rules

House rules for The River

  • You are not permitted to lay down any meeples until the entire river is down. (Thanks to metoth)
  • Once the river is complete, it may be moved to the center of the playing area. (Thanks to Joff)
  • Instead of starting with the spring and setting aside the lake, put all of the river pieces into the bag. In this way the river can be any size and there is usually more then one option for placing a river tile. (Thanks to DavidP)
  • Mix the original starting tile (without a river) in with the river tiles. If it is drawn then it acts like a 'bonus' tile that can be placed anywhere. (Thanks to RationalLemming)
  • Lay the river in reverse order, from lake to spring. No real advantage, but might be more desirable, when playing the Count of Carcassonne expansion, to have the lake near the City of Carcassonne for purely aesthetic reasons. (Thanks to Scott)

House rules for The River II

  • Play the fork of the river first, and lay the spring last. The lakes are mixed in with the other river tiles. (Thanks to Joff)
  • Pig-herd tiles do not score a bonus. (Thanks to Joff)
  • Play both rivers backwards starting with the city/lake. This is more realistic because you then get two springs producing rivers that join and flow ‘down’ to a lake. Discard two lakes—the plain one from River I and the volcano. To set up, place the lake tile, put one spring tile aside as a final ending tile, and then split the balance of the river tiles into two stacks. The junction tile is shuffled into stack 1 and the other spring into stack 2. Then the stack 1 is placed on stack 2—so that the junction will be drawn sometime before the spring. If playing with the Count of Carcassonne, place the city/lake so that it completes one of the small cities around Carcassonne. (Thanks to dwhitworth)
  • Select only one lake tile and use two spring tiles. Lay the river in reverse order. The fork can be placed randomly, or at some predetermined point. The end result is two rivers flowing into one which then flows into a lake. (Thanks to Scott)
  • Start from the fork, playing tiles on all three branches. Play the spring and lake tiles at the end, or mix two of the three with the rest of the river before play to have two of the three branches end randomly. (Thanks to Scott)

Tile distribution

The River

Total tiles: 12

River I C2 Tile A.jpg x1
River I C2 Tile B.jpg x1
River I C2 Tile C.jpg x1
River I C2 Tile D.jpg x1
River I C2 Tile E.jpg x1
River I C2 Tile F.jpg x1
River I C2 Tile G.jpg x1
River I C2 Tile H.jpg x1
River I C2 Tile I.jpg x1
River I C2 Tile J.jpg x1
River I C2 Tile K.jpg x1
River I C2 Tile L.jpg x1

Some of the tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:

Feature Garden C2.png
G | Garden
Feature Farmhouse C2.png
F | Farmhouse
Feature WaterTower C2.png
W | Water Tower
Feature Highwayman C2.png
H | Highwaymen
Feature Donkeys C2.png
D | Donkeys

Additionally, some tiles present additional features indicated in bold (source, and lake).

The River I (Big Box 6 version)

Total tiles: 12

River III C2 Tile A.png x1
River III C2 Tile B.png x1
River III C2 Tile C.png x1
River III C2 Tile D.png x1
River III C2 Tile E.png x1
River III C2 Tile F.png x1
River III C2 Tile G.png x1
River III C2 Tile H.png x1
River III C2 Tile I.png x1
River III C2 Tile J.png x1
River III C2 Tile K.png x1
River III C2 Tile L.png x1

Some of the tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:

Feature Garden C2.png
G | Garden
Feature Farmhouse C2.png
F | Farmhouse
Feature WaterTower C2.png
W | Water Tower
Feature Highwayman C2.png
H | Highwaymen
Feature Donkeys C2.png
D | Donkeys

Additionally, some tiles present additional features indicated in bold (source, and lake).

The River II

Total tiles: 12

River II C2 Tile A.jpg x1
River II C2 Tile B.jpg x1
River II C2 Tile C.jpg x1
River II C2 Tile D.jpg x1
River II C2 Tile E.jpg x1
River II C2 Tile F.jpg x1
River II C2 Tile G.jpg x1
River II C2 Tile H.jpg x1
River II C2 Tile I.jpg x1
(F) - Fork
River II C2 Tile J.jpg x1
River II C2 Tile K.jpg x1
River II C2 Tile L.jpg x1
Lake + Volcano

Some of the tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:

Feature Garden C2.png
G | Garden
Feature Farmhouse C2.png
F | Farmhouse
Feature Highwayman C2.png
H | Highwaymen

Moreover, some tiles present additional features indicated in bold, some proper of River II (source, fork, and lake), some others serving as tie-in with other expansions (inn, pig-herd, and volcano).

  1. Icon World Black.png They have no impact considering the base rules. Some of them are used in some expansions, such as The Markets of Leipzig or The Tollkeepers.
  2. Icon Double Arrow Black.png The Big Box 6 includes the sixth player, in pink color, as part of the base game and not at Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals. This makes the rules clearer.
  3. Icon Double Arrow Black.png The ZMG rules of the base game mention the "first player" without explaining how it is decided. However, the Big Box 6 rules are re-aligned with the HiG rules and indicate the first player is the youngest one.
  4. Icon House Black.png It is common practice to choose starting player at random. More on this in house rules section.
  5. Icon Open Book.png A newly placed land tile must fit the adjacent terrain on all edges! During placement it is not enough to look for only one side that fits.
  6. Icon House Black.png If drawing tiles out of a bag, a tile that cannot be placed could be returned to the bag for later use.
  7. Icon World Black.png Village is a little set of red roofed buildings surrounding the crossroad.
  8. Icon World Black.png This list is valid in general terms and should be considered open ended. Some expansions incorporate additional features that may end a road, such as groups of trees and bushes, cottages, lakes, various types of ecclesiastical buildings, castles, etc.
  9. Icon World Black.png Note that a coat of arms only affects the city segment it is in, not the whole tile (if there is more than one segment on a single tile).
  10. Icon World Black.png This may be true for the base game but some expansions include tiles with monasteries in various configurations not always complying with this statement. Monasteries tend to be in the center of a tile unless other features sharing the tile compete for the same space. Likewise, monasteries tend to be surrounded by fields but, in a few cases, we can find monasteries within cities.
  11. Icon Open Book.png Monasteries can be placed directly next to each other, or corner to corner. It is not necessary for there to be eight other (non-monastery) tiles neighbouring a monastery. A monastery stands in the middle of a field segment and other segments can be placed next to it. In contrast to roads, cities, and fields, it is not possible to connect to a monastery.
  12. Icon Open Book.png When two meeples of one color are occupying the same road, city, or field, you do not score double in these cases. The number of meeples (or in Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals the size of the meeples) has no effect on the points that a player earns from a road, city, monastery, or field. Two knights do not double the points. The number of meeples is only important in establishing who has the majority.
  13. Icon World Black.png Rules do not include tiebreakers. That is rules explaining situation when few players share the same score.
  14. Icon Open Book.png Note that features are considered to be complete as soon as the tile is placed, although meeple placement and scoring only occur afterwards. This is important when playing with magic portals (Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon) or flying machines (Mini #1 - The Flier (Flying Machines)).
  15. Icon Open Book.png In determining field size, fields can be limited by all kinds of barriers, for example, roads, cities, or rivers which cannot be circumvented, or the edge of the playing field. It can certainly happen that a field covers almost the entire playing field, and there will likely be fields that remain open for the entire game.
  16. Icon Open Book.png In reality, some special mechanics in some expansions (the Festival, the Dragon, etc.) do allow return of farmers to their owners. (12/2014)
  17. Icon Open Book.png Gardens do not count as monasteries in relation to their interaction with other expansions, such as Message 3 (Smallest monastery) from The Messages (Dispatches). (10/2018)
    Clarification by Christof Tisch (HiG) on BGG:

    Icon World Black.png This clarification can be generalized to other expansions providing bonus affecting monasteries (monastic buildings) but not gardens:
    • Hills & Sheep: Vineyards
    • The Wheel of Fortune: The Inquisition sector
    • Mini #2 - Messages (Dispatches): Message 3 (Smallest Monastery)
    • Markets of Leipzig: Bookbinders quarter bonus
    • The Watchtowers: bonus for monasteries (monastic buildings)
  18. Icon Open Book.png As stated in the rules of Big Box 6.
  19. Icon World Black.png The expansions included in Big Box 6 that contained garden tiles are Inns and Cathedrals, Traders and Builders, The Flier (Flying Machines), Mage and Witch and The Robbers.
  20. Icon World Black.png As far as the Big Box 6 is concerned, the sixth set of (pink) meeples is a part of the basic game, not Inns and Cathedrals. The same happens in Big Box 6 with the sixth abbot meeple. Prior to Big Box 6, the Base Game included five abbots, with the sixth included with the sixth set of meeples in Inns and Cathedrals.
  21. Icon Open Book.png An abbot could be placed onto an abbey or a shrine/cult place, as they are considered monasteries (albeit the latter heretic). The abbot can be involved in a challenge between a monastery/abbey and a shrine/cult place. The abbot's special ability would allow him to quit the challenge, even if his monastery/abbey or shrine/cult place was not complete, and would score the incomplete feature (monastery, abbey or shrine/cult place). See Abbey and Mayor and Count, King and Robber for more details.
  22. Icon World Black.png An abbot could be placed onto other features considered monasteries: German monasteries, Dutch & Belgian monasteries, Japanese buildings and Darmstadt churches. The same rules mentioned in the previous note would apply. See Monasteries in Germany / Japanese Buildings, Monasteries in the Netherlands & Belgium, and Darmstadt Promo for more details.
  23. Icon Open Book.png The abbot is considered a meeple, but he has limitations as described in this sentence. Therefore the abbot can use a magic portal and can be used as a flier. However, the abbot can only end up on an unfinished monastery or garden, and the monastery or garden must be unclaimed if using the magic portal. (3/2015)
  24. Icon World Black.png In contrast with the previous clarification from 3/2015, the Order of Play included in Big Box 6 omits the abbot from the list of figures that can be a flier. This omission is due to a mistake by HiG, as confirmed by one of the German proofreaders (Kettlefish) in this post from 5/2018 on Carcassonne Central:

    The same omission is still present in rules translated into other languages. (01/2019)
  25. Icon Open Book.png The abbot cannot be placed on a tower. See The Tower for more information.
  26. Icon World Black.png You do not place a meeple because you have decided not to, or you don't have any left in your supply.
  27. Icon World Black.png The wording of the ZMG rules speak about "the player deciding to not place a meeple." This can be misleading. It may be interpreted as if the player needs at least one meeple in their supply in order to decide not to place it. This is not the intent in the original rules by HiG.
  28. Icon World Black.png The actual C II rules refer to not placing a "meeple," but they are also referring to special figures not considered as meeples such as the builder, the pig or the barn, as can be implied according to the figure classification provided in Big Box 6 and making it extensive to all the expansions. Therefore this stipulation actually refers to not performing any other 2. Placing a meeple action at all but this is not explicitly stated. In other words, the publisher was keeping the rules as simple as possible at the moment when not all the new edition expansions had been released. (12/2014, updated 3/2015, updated 9/2018)
  29. Icon Open Book.png This scoring occurs immediately during the 2. Placing a meeple phase when the abbot is removed. This effectively protects the abbot from the dragon and produces a scoring round for Messages. Afterwards, the normal scoring phase occurs. (3/2015)
  30. Icon World Black.png The wording of the rules assumes the scoring of an incomplete monastery or garden. However, there is no explicit limitation in the rules to prevent the active player from removing their abbot from a feature just completed.
  31. Icon Locked Red.png Abbots placed as abbots on special monasteries (German monasteries, Dutch & Belgian monasteries or Japanese buildings) could be also removed as per the interpretation of the rules. The Abbot rules don't contain any limitation to prevent players from doing so. An official clarification would be necessary.
  32. Icon World Black.png If playing with The Flier (Flying Machines), several meeples may occupy the same feature. As a consequence, multiple abbots may occupy a monastery or a garden. If so, each abbot could be removed and scored separately before the feature is completed. This means, the monastery or garden could be partially scored several times before it is completed. When scored during or after the game, a monastery or garden with several meeples will take into account the majority on the feature.
  33. Icon Open Book.png Note that river segments separate fields. (08/2014)
  34. Icon World Black.png This is not standard procedure for placing a volcano tile, according to the rules for The Princess and the Dragon. Under those rules placing a volcano tile does not allow the player to draw a second tile; instead, the player may only perform actions not connected with meeple deployment.
  35. Icon World Black.png The English rules called this feature "pigsty." We use pig-herd for consistency with Carcassonne I and also in order to avoid the confusion with the pigsty feature introduced in Carcassonne II, scored by some expansions such as The Markets of Leipzig to The Tollkeepers.
    Pigsty feature