Poduri, cetăți și bazaruri
General info and comments
This is the eighth major expansion for Carcassonne and introduces some new aspects to the game. Travelling traders arrive in the land and organize bazaars, in which haggling is considered an art. At the same time, engineers are expanding the road network with modern bridges, and small castles are being built everywhere to defend the region.
New features/things are:
A Carcassonne expansion is not really a Carcassonne expansion when there are no new tiles, so in the box you also find 18 tiles that represent city segments, road segments and cloisters in new configurations plus the addition of bazaars which will help create much more than a beautiful landscape.
- 12 new land tiles including 8 with a bazaar
- 12 castle token
- 12 wooden bridges
Shuffle the new land tiles with those of the base game and stack them facedown as a general supply within easy reach of all players.
Then, give each player a number of bridges and castles:
- When playing with 2, 3, or 4 players, give each player 3 bridges and 3 castles.
- When playing with 5 or 6 players, give each player 2 bridges and 2 castles.
The twelve new land tiles should be mixed with those of the basic game. Over the course of play they will be drawn and placed according to the usual rules.
When you draw a tile with a bazaar on it, do the steps: 1. Place a tile, 2. Place a meeple and 3. Score a feature normally. You cannot place a meeple on the bazaar. 
This section contains additional information about the interactions with other Carcassonne expansions.
- You can place the following figures on a bridge:
- Scoring modifiers, scoring bonuses and actions affecting a road network will also affect a bridge connected to it:
- Inns (Exp. 1 - Inns & Cathedrals)
- Mage (Mini #5 - Mage and Witch)
- Witch (Mini #5 - Mage and Witch)
- Solovei Razboynik actions (Russian Promos)
- German castles (Castles in Germany)
- German cathedrals (Cathedrals in Germany)
- Bathhouses (The Barber-Surgeons)
- Labyrinth bonus (The Labyrinths)
- Wainwrights quarter bonus (The Markets of Leipzig)
- Scoring bonuses and actions affecting a tile will also affect a bridge placed on that tile:
- Exp. 1 - Inns & Cathedrals: Inns on a tile will not affect a bridge placed on the tile. The inn only affects the printed road segment(s) next to it. However, the bridge will profit from an inn, the same as any other printed road segment, if they are part of the same road network.
- Exp. 4 - The Tower: You can place a bridge and a tower on the same tile. If necessary, adjust the tower's position to make room for the bridge.
- Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top: You can place a bridge over the campground. You can only place a bridge on the acrobat tile if there is no acrobat on that tile.
- Little Buildings: A little building on a tile will affect a bridge placed on that tile.
- The Watchtowers: A watchtower scoring for neighboring tiles with road segments will also consider tiles with a bridge.
- You can place the following figures in a castle:
- Normal meeple, the standard option (Base game)
- Large meeple (Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals)
- Wagon (Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor)
- Mayor, however, since the castle doesn't have a coat of arms, the mayor cannot score points (Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor)
- Ringmaster (Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top)
- Phantom (The Phantom)
- When scoring a castle, you still score bonus points for:
- Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders: When scoring fields with a pig, the castle is worth 5 points.
- Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon: The dragon cannot eat meeples in the castle. You can place the fairy with a meeple in the castle and score the usual fairy points. 
- Exp. 4 - The Tower: A tower cannot capture any meeples in the castle.
- Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor: When scoring a field, whether for farmers or barns, a castle is worth 1 point more than a completed city.
- Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber:
- King and Robber: A castle does not score as a completed city for the king.
- Count of Carcassonne: Meeples from the City of Carcassonne cannot move to a castle.
- River II: The pigsty (or pig-herd) tile provides one more point for castles in the field.
- Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top: When scoring a circus, your meeple in the castle scores points if part of the castle lies within the circus' surroundings. For the purpose of scoring the castle, acrobat pyramids do not count as completed features.
- Monasteries in Germany (New Edition) / Japanese Buildings or Monasteries in Germany (1st Edition) / Monasteries in The Netherlands & Belgium: Because an abbot scores only at the end of the game, and this monastery is never considered completed, a monastery with an abbot will not score points for a meeple in a castle.
- Besiegers - Cathars - Siege: A city under siege (or under attack from Cathars) can be converted to a castle, and it is handled as a normal castle. The siege or Cathar attack is ignored after conversion to a castle.
- The Wheel of Fortune: Castles do count for scoring of the Famine sector of the Wheel of Fortune, as this is effectively a scoring of farms.
- The Plague: Meeples in castles are safe from the plague, as it affects the tile directly, and castles are not present on a specific tile.
- Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders: If you place a bazaar tile and it expands   a road or city containing your builder, complete the bazaar auction before beginning your double turn.
- Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon: If you place a dragon tile during a bazaar auction, the dragon moves immediately before continuing the bazaar auction.
Total Tiles: 12
Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:
Moreover, two tiles present an additional feature indicated in bold, an inn, that serves as a tie-in with Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals.
Total castle tokens: 12
For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.
- Note the use of the word "may" in the statement. A player is not required to use a bridge to place a tile, even if that tile would otherwise have to be discarded. The player has the choice to use the bridge to place the tile or just discard the tile. (10/2014)
- As with normal roads, each end of the bridge must continue a road segment (or bridge) already in play or must be adjacent to an empty place for a tile. (12/2014)
- One tile cannot have 2 bridges running perpendicular to each other. The rules state that the bridge must lie on a field, and if bridges are stacked, one end of the top bridge will not touch the field.
- As the bridge is counted just like a printed road segment, any completed road that includes a bridge and a printed road segment on the same tile still only scores 1 point for the tile. (2/2014)
The HiG rules state that a small city consisting of "two semi-circular city segments" would qualify for castle placement, which would not allow you to use, for example, a triangular city segment. The castle token has to cover the small city completely in order to replace it visually on the board. (7/2010)
This point was confirmed by Christof Tisch (HiG) on BGG:
This means the following tiles cannot be part of a small city converted into a castle, since the castle token would reveal some city "ruins" from the small city underneath: parts of city walls, city bridges, or even partial city segments:
- The ZMG rules define small city as "a city consisting of only 2 tiles." This lack of constraints would allow small cities to combine tiles different than regular semi-circular segments, such as witch-hat city segment. The only hint otherwise is provided by the examples.
- When converting to a castle, it does not matter whether the small city was already occupied by a meeple in the first half of the city, or by the active player deploying a meeple to the second half during his or her turn.
When placing a castle on these tiles from The Tower, you may need to move a tower on them a bit aside.
- The castle is considered incomplete at this point.
- The HiG rules specify that castles score when features are completed in their fief in a subsequent turn: "You won't get any points when you build the castle. You get points for your castle if the first feature (monastery, city or road) in the vicinity of your castle is completed in a later turn." This detail is not mentioned explicitly in the ZMG rules.
This reference to "a later turn" should be interpreted as a later round of scoring, that is, you cannot create a castle and score it right away. So at least one tile placement has to happen before the castle can be scored. With this in mind, during a double turn (technically one turn with two parts), you would be able to create a castle in the first part of your turn and score it as soon as the second part of the same turn. There is no provision in the rules for ignoring completed features after the castle is created, only during the same round of scoring the castle is created. Check the following example:
- You place a tile that extends a city with your builder and completes a small city that you turn into a castle (claimed by you, of course). The builder grants you a double turn.
- During the second part of your double turn, you complete another feature in the castle fief and you score the feature and the castle created in the first part of the turn.
- You place a tile that completes a small city and another feature. You turn the small city into a castle and score the other feature. After scoring your scoring meeple lands on a dark space and you receive Message 4.
- You draw a new tile that completes another feature in the fief of the castle just created on this turn. The Message is dispatched on the very same turn but it creates a new round of scoring. As a result, you score the completed feature and the castle.
- The castle is considered completed at this point.
- This is after any bonuses or penalties (such as the Cathedral or Witch) are accounted for. (4/2014)
- Note that this statement essentially indicates that points are tallied for all completed features, even unoccupied ones. However, generally nobody scores (receives those points) for an unoccupied feature. (2/2015)
ZMG rules modified the meaning of this paragraph, stating that:
- "If a tile is placed that causes multiple features that are neighboring your castle to be completed at the same time, you decide what order they are scored. As always, you only score points for the first feature."
- A completed castle overlapping another castle's fief will trigger the scoring of the latter. If two castles overlap each other's fiefs, the completion of any of those castles will trigger their scoring reciprocally, so they will be scored together. Of course, this triggering may affect more than two castles.
- This paragraph has been reworded according to the German rules. The English wording by ZMG is less clear: "If a castle is scored while neighboring your castle, your castle is also scored. All castles involved in such a scoring score points from the initial completed neighboring feature."
- If the tile cannot be placed and is discarded, the bazaar will not occur. (10/2014)
- All players place their purchased tiles as in a normal turn. After placing their tile, a player may place a meeple on it and, if a road or city with their builder is extended, the player will be granted a double turn and will draw another tile and will place it as usual. Everything like a normal turn. (2/2010)
- Note that a purchased bazaar tile will not trigger an auction, but any drawn bazaar tile will trigger an auction. Nonetheless, as discussed in the Q&A clarification in the Other expansions section, the auction may not happen immediately if the drawing of the tile occurred during a builder-turn during a bazaar round.
- In the latest 1st. Edition clarifications, the fairy wasn't allowed to be placed on a castle, though it was previously allowed in the Big Box 3 rules.
- The ZMG rules use the verb "complete" but the original German HiG rules use "expand" instead, that is the intended meaning.
There is another version of this rule that states that you perform your builder-turn before the bazaar. This discrepancy (originated from the mistranslation of a clarification from 5/2013) was considered a valid alternative by HiG as it doesn't change the game much. The rationale behind the original rule is that the bazaar is an action derived from the tile placed in the first part of the double turn, so it should be resolved before the builder-turn is carried out. (08/2016)
This variant, described in the CAR and implemented by JCloisterZone as of 12/2018, may seem more intuitive to some players. It considers the events in the following order:
- Draw bazaar and perform first part of your double turn.
- ** // Start pending bazaars // **
- Draw the tiles (still face-down)
- ( Start delaying any new bazaars )
- Perform your builder-turn (second part of your double turn)
- Turn tiles face-up and perform the auction
- 1st Player with auctioned tile (if a bazaar tile, no bazaar is triggered)
- 1st player’s builder-turn, if applicable
- Next player with auctioned tile (if a bazaar tile, no bazaar is triggered)
- Next player’s builder-turn, if applicable
- Last player with auctioned tile (if a bazaar tile, no bazaar is triggered)
- Last player’s builder-turn, if applicable
- ( Stop delaying any new bazaars )
- Player who drew and placed a new bazaar in his/her builder turn (pending delayed bazaar)
- ** Back to // Start pending bazaars // until no pending delayed bazaars **