Crop Circles (1st edition)

From Wikicarpedia
Revision as of 19:59, 16 May 2024 by FuzzyBot (talk | contribs) (Updating to match new version of source page)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Crop C1 2 04.png You are reading the rules for this tile design.
Crop Circles C3 Tile B.pngRead the following rules if your tiles look like this.
Crop Circles Crop Circles
Crop Circles C2 Tile B.jpg
If your tiles have a different design, then choose a game from Spin-offs.Rule selection by design Spin-offs.png

Curious circles are appearing in the fields of Carcassonne. They hold mysterious powers over knights, thieves and farmers.

General info and comments

Punchout Crop Circles I
Expansion symbol

Crop Circles I was originally released by Hans im Glück in 2010 as an independently packaged expansion included in a limited edition of the German base game of Carcassonne. It was later made available as a standalone expansion the same year.

Crop Circles II (Mini #7) was originally released by Hans im Glück in 2012. The Crop Circles II “expansion” is considered #7 of the mini-expansions released in 2012, but it does not exist as an independent set. Rather, one tile was packed with each of the preceding 6 mini expansions.

The rules for Crop Circles I and Crop Circles II are functionally identical. The version of the rules specific to Crop Circles II can be found on the HiG website, as it is not packaged with the tiles themselves.




The Crop Circle tiles should be mixed with the rest of the tiles.

Playing the Game

A player who draws a tile with a crop circle places it according to the usual rules and carries out a normal turn. After that, he or she decides whether all players, starting with the player to his or her left:

  • A) may [1] take one of their own followers from their supply and deploy it next to another of their followers already on a landscape tile, or
  • B) must remove one of their own followers from a landscape tile and return it to their supply.

It is important to observe that:

  • The active player must choose action A or B.
  • The type of follower affected is decided by the tile drawn, as follows:
Crop C1 fork.png
‘Pitchfork’ crop circle - this affects farmers (on a farm segment).
Crop C1 club.png
‘Club’ crop circle - this affects thieves (on a road segment).
Crop C1 shield.png
‘Shield’ crop circle - this affects knights (on a city segment).
  • When a player performs action A, he or she must deploy the follower to a feature which already contains a follower of the same type (farmer to a farmer, thief to a thief, knight to a knight). [2]
  • If a player is unable to perform the action, due to not having a follower of the required type in play, then he or she will be passed over and the next player to the left should continue.
  • The active player performs the action last, and then the next player should take their turn as usual. [3]
Example of option A)
  1. RED places a tile with a ‘shield’ crop circle and deploys a follower to it. RED chooses option A). Every player may deploy a knight (because of the ‘Shield’ symbol) next to a knight already in play.
  2. GREEN deploys a second knight next to the one already in play.
  3. BLUE does not have a knight and so cannot deploy one.
  4. RED deploys a second knight next to the one just deployed to the tile which was placed. She may not deploy a follower to the other city segment on the same tile because there is no knight on it. She could also have deployed her follower beside the knight on the top left tile.
Example of option B)
  1. GREEN places a tile with a ‘pitchfork’ crop circle and deploys a follower to it. The city is scored: GREEN received 6 points and removes his follower. Then he chooses option B). Every player must remove a farmer (because of the ‘pitchfork’ symbol).
  2. BLUE removes his farmer.
  3. RED removes her farmer.
  4. GREEN does not have a farmer, and so cannot remove one.

Tile distribution

Crop Circles I

Total tiles: 6

Crop Circles II [5]

Total tiles: 6[6]


For Icons explanation and licensing please visit Icons page.

  1. Interpretation from the Community Note that the rules for action A clearly state that players may decide whether to deploy a second follower next to one already in play. In other words, the active player decides what effect the crop circle has: A) deployment or B) removal. If deployment, the players may choose to deploy or not to deploy a second follower, but if a player has no followers in the supply, he or she is forced to choose "not to deploy" a second follower. If removal, all players must remove one follower of the appropriate type.
  2. Official clarification from the publisher Any follower that can be put in a city, is considered to be a knight.
  3. Official clarification from the publisher After the crop circle action, the active player should continue with any actions pending as part of their turn, such as removing a knight from a sieged city through a cloister (see Besiegers - Cathars - Siege Besiegers - Cathars - Siege) or performing the second part of a double turn (see Exp. 2 - Traders & Builders Exp. 2 - Traders & Builders). After all pending actions are performed, the next player's turn can proceed.
  4. Official clarification from the publisher The three road segments on this tile end at the junction, even though there are no obstacles pictured in the road. All junctions and crossings are treated the same, regardless of the artwork. This is not a continuous road with three branches. (5/2014)
  5. Official clarification from the publisher Crop fields (the yellow areas) are distinct features and thus separate road segments and field segments. (1/2013)
  6. Interpretation from the Community Note that these tiles are also counted in Mini Expansions # 1-6.