Hunters and Gatherers Scout

From Wikicarpedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
This page contains changes which are not marked for translation.
Other languages:

Main Page  > Hunters and Gatherers  > Hunters and Gatherers Scout


General info and comments

Box
Back of the tiles

The Scout was originally released by Hans im Glück in 2003 (as part of King and Scout, which also featured 7 tiles for Carcassonne).

Contents

  • 4 new land tiles [1]
  • 1 Shaman tile

Overview

With the arrival of the shaman, there also came some new hunters into the forests.

Addition Rules

All the rules from the Base Game will remain.

Preparation

Shuffle the 5 tiles face-down. Each player draws a tile and places it face-up in front of themselves. For a 2 player game, draw 2 tiles each. Remove the remaining tiles from the game.

Tile Scout 05.png

Shaman: Each turn, [2] the player may return to his or her supply one of their tribe members from an unfinished river, forest, or meadow [3].


Place a Tile

The 4 other tiles are placed during the game: The player declines drawing from the stack and places his or her Scout tile. Then he or she must place a tribe member (or a hut with Agriculture [4]) on the tile. Otherwise, he or she may not place the tile. The figure remains there for the duration of the game.

Tile Scout 01.png

Scout: Each turn, [5] the player may reject the first tile he or she draws (including bonus tiles). He places the rejected tile under the stack and draws a new tile, which he must place.

When placing: There can be no other gatherers in the forest. When the forest is completed, the scout is considered a gatherer, but is not returned to the player's supply after scoring.


Tile Scout 02.png

Hunter on Bridge: The hunter counts in the scoring of the meadows on both sides of the bridge. The bridge does not connect the meadows.

When placing: there may not be any hunters in either meadow. The bear is worth for 2 points.


Tile Scout 04.png

Dug-out: Every time a river in this river system is completed (regardless by which player), the owner of the dug-out scores as many points as the largest lake has fish. [6]

When placing: there may not be any fisherman on the river. When the river is completed, the dug-out counts as a fisherman, but is not returned to the player's supply after scoring.


Tile Scout 03.png

Agriculture: At the end of the game, the player scores 1 point for each meadow tile, regardless of the usual hunter scoring. [7]

When placing: There may not be any hunters in the meadow. [8] No hunters may be placed in the meadow. [9]


Tile Distribution

Total Special Tiles: 4

Tile Scout 01.png  x1
Tile Scout 02.png  x1
Tile Scout 03.png  x1
Tile Scout 04.png  x1

1 Shaman tile:

Tile Scout 05.png  x1

Footnotes

For Icons explanation and licensing please visit Icons page.

  1. The Scout tiles can be distinguished from the normal Hunters & Gatherers tiles by the Shaman image on the reverse side.
  2. Official clarification from the publisher Question: If I have the Shaman do I return a tribe member to my supply at the beginning or the end of my turn? That is, can I remove a man and play him on the same turn? Answer: Yes. The rules don't prevent it, so you may take a tribe member back at any time in your turn. If you take it back at the beginning of your turn you can play it on the same turn.
  3. Notorious rule difference among editions or publishers The RGG edition does not include the word “meadow” here.
  4. Official clarification from the publisher Question: Can I choose whether I play a hut or a hunter on the Agriculture tile? Answer: No. You must play a hut.
  5. Notorious rule difference among editions or publishers The RGG edition precedes this phrase with “once in play”.
  6. Official clarification from the publisher Question: The English translation says "as many points as the largest lake on this river has fish". The original German just seems to say "as many points as the largest lake has fish". Is it the largest lake on the river or the largest lake on the river-system? Answer: The intention was that it should be the largest lake on the river-system.
  7. Official clarification from the publisher Question: If I place a hut on the Agriculture tile, does the hut get me points for the animals in the meadow? Answer: No. Only hunters score for animals.
  8. Official clarification from the publisher Question: Can I place a hut on the Agriculture tile if there is already a hunter in the meadow. Answer: No. The placement of the hut on the Agriculture tile is governed by the rules for hunter placement. You must place the Agriculture tile in an empty meadow.
  9. Official clarification from the publisher Question: Once I have placed the hut on the Agriculture tile, can anyone place a hunter in that meadow? Answer: No. But of course you may connect two (or more) meadows later in the game, as usual. Then you could have a hut getting points for the size of the meadow and a hunter scoring for the animals.