Il festival (1° edizione)

This page is a translated version of the page The Festival (1st edition) and the translation is 45% complete.
Outdated translations are marked like this.
Festival10 C1-10.png You are reading the rules for this tile design.
Festival C3 Tile 04.pngRead the following rules if your tiles look like this.
The Festival The Festival
If your tiles have a different design, then choose a game from Spin-offs.Rule selection by design Spin-offs.png

Informazioni generali e commenti

Logo del 15esimo anniversario

Originally released by Hans im Glück in 2011 to mark the 10th Anniversary of Carcassonne. [1]

This expansion has been developed for the Carcassonne basic game. All the basic game rules still apply in addition to the expansion rules below.


  • 10 nuove tessere paesaggio (ognuna con il simbolo del festival dei 10 anni)

The standalone version also includes:

  • 2 special tiles with the rules in German and English, not used as land tiles.



Mischia le 10 tessere Festival con le tessere Paesaggio del gioco base.

Posizionare una tessera

When a player draws a tile with a festival symbol on it, he or she should place the tile according to the usual rules.

Schierare un seguace

Il giocatore deve poi scegliere tra:

  • deploy one of one’s own figures to the tile in the usual way; or
  • return one of one’s own figures [2] [3] [4] from the entire playing area [5] to his or her supply. [6] [7] [8]

Il giocatore può anche scegliere di non fare nulla di quanto sopra.

Captured followers (from   The Tower expansion) cannot be returned to the player's supply in this way.


When you complete one or more areas (e.g. a monastery, a road etc.) by placing a Festival tile, you score them according to the normal rules.

Punteggio finale

Non è previsto nessun punteggio aggiuntivo alla fine del gioco con le tessere Festival.

La distribuzione

Total tiles: 10
Total special tiles: 2 (standalone version only) 
German rules (front and back)
English rules (front and back)


Per la licenza e informazioni riguardo le icone visitare Icone.

  1.   This “expansion” is really a part of HiG and RGG’s Jubilee Edition of Carcassonne, which essentially consists of a deluxe version of the basic game and this mini-expansion.
  2.   All of one’s own figures are meant here, including normal and big followers, wagon, mayor, builder, pig, barn, shepherd, phantom, C2 abbot, C2 ringmaster, and C3 guard followers. (5/2015; updated 12/2018; updated 2/2023)
  3.   No scoring would be applicable to any follower or special figure, including the C2 abbot and the shepherd. Note that:
    • It would be odd to use this expansion to remove an C2 abbot, as it has its own retrieval mechanism that involves scoring.
    • If a shepherd is removed, no Guide flock to stable action is invoked and no flock scoring would take place. There is no official clarification about what happens in this case to the shepherd's flock. Two options may happen:
      • The flock is returned to the bag without scoring as soon as their shepherd is removed from the board.
      • The flock remains on the game board. If it is shared with one or more shepherds, they would not be affected; otherwise, the flock could be claimed by a new shepherd and it would be an analogous case to the sheep found on some tiles in minor expansions such as   River III or   Halflings II.
    Players should agree on which option is chosen at the beginning of a game.
  4.   A player cannot return a figure from another player. Also, a player cannot return a neutral figure (such as the fairy or the dragon).
  5.   By specifying “entire playing area,” this allows removal of followers from the City of Carcassonne (even if the Count is in the same space) from   The Count of Carcassonne, the   The Wheel of Fortune crown spaces, the City of Leipzig from   The Markets of Leipzig and therefore a bathhouse from   The Barber-Surgeons. (updated 12/2018)
  6.   The RGG 10-year anniversary edition rules actually use the term “followers” for both bullet points. The new version of the Festival tiles sold separately through publisher CundCo also uses the term “followers”. However, the official HiG reading remains “figures”. (updated 5/2014)
  7.   If the Festival is used to remove a follower, the Phantom can still be placed on that turn. (11/2013)
  8.   If the Festival is used to remove a follower, the Fairy cannot be moved, as an action was still taken in the “Move Wood” phase. (5/2014)