20th Anniversary Expansion

From Wikicarpedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Other languages:
English • ‎Nederlands • ‎français • ‎română

General info and comments

Expansion symbol

The 20th Anniversary was released for the New Edition by Hans im Glück in 2021 as part of the 20th Anniversary Edition.

This is a celebratory expansion that serves as a homage to the three major expansions. It does not matter if you don't know them, the gameplay with this mini-expansion is not affected.

This expansion has cities cluttered with buildings.

This expansion has been developed for the Carcassonne basic game. All the basic game rules still apply in addition to the expansion rules below. You can combine it with other expansions - but at your own risk – that is, there will be no official rules for these combinations.

Changes to the 20th Anniversary Edition

The rules for the 20th Anniversary Edition stay the same but the roles of some meeples have been updated:

  • Highwaymen become female travelers
  • Knights do not change
  • Monks are also referred to as nuns
  • Farmers become female farmers

Publishers have followed the new roles provided in the rules by HiG, although some of these changes are not noticeable in other languages.

Note: We stick to the classic role convension for the sake of consistency with all the exisiting rules for the time being. HiG may decide to update the rules in the future to follow this new naming convention for new releases and reprints.

20th Anniversary Edition C2 Medal medium.png

Contents

  • 15 new land tiles marked with a "20" symbol. These new tiles are divided into 3 groups of 5. Each group has one of the following symbols.
Arrow symbols featured on the expansion tiles

Rules

Preparation

Shuffle the 15 new tiles with the rest of the land tiles.

Gameplay

1. Placing a tile

When you draw a 20th Anniversary Expansion land tile, you place it according to the normal rules. Depending on the direction the arrow symbol arrow is pointing, the following situations may occur:

  • If you place a tile with an arrow symbol so that the arrow doesn't point to another tile, you receive 2 points and your turn continues as usual.
Example 1a: The arrow symbol on the tile just placed does not point to an adjacent tile
  • If you place a tile with an arrow symbol so that the arrow points to another tile, you activate the arrow symbol and the appropriate action can be performed according to its type (see 2. Placing a meeple and 4. Extra turn action).
Example 1b: The arrow symbol on the tile just placed points to an adjacent tile
  • If you place any tile (no arrow symbol required) next to a tile with an arrow symbol so that the arrow points to the tile just placed, you activate the arrow symbol and the appropriate action can be performed according to its type (see 2. Placing a meeple and 4. Extra turn action).
Example 1c: The arrow symbol on a tile in the playing area points to the tile just placed

2. Placing a meeple

You may place a meeple on the tile just placed according to the normal rules. However, if you activated an arrow symbol, you have the following options depending on the symbol type:

20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Action Symbol 01.png

Instead of placing a meeple on the tile just placed, you may add it next to another of your meeples anywhere on the game board, so now there will be two meeples side by side. This means that you have one more meeple on the feature for its scoring and you may be able to secure the points (single-handedly).
Note: You may not use this action to add a third meeple to the two already placed side by side.

 

Example 2a: Red places a second knight next to their knight in a city elsewhere in the playing area.

20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Action Symbol 02.png

Instead of placing your meeple on the tile just placed, you can place it on any unoccupied incomplete feature (a road, a city, a field, a monastery, or even an abbot on a monastery or garden) anywhere in the playing area - so it doesn't have to be on the tile just placed. Please note that fields completely surrounded are not considered completed, since they are not scored until the end of the game.

 

Example 2b: Red places a meeple in a city elsewhere in the playing area.

3. Scoring a feature

If you complete a feature with 20th Anniversary Expansion tiles, it is scored according to the normal rules.

Final scoring

At the end of the game, a feature with 20th Anniversary Expansion tiles is scored according to the normal rules.

4. Extra turn action

20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Action Symbol 03.png

If you activated this symbol, you get an extra turn. First, you complete your current turn (the one in which the symbol was activated) according to the usual rules, and then you perform a complete additional turn. Caution: If you activate this symbol again, it will have no effect. You will not get a third consecutive turn without interruption. You can activate both other symbols in an additional turn. [1]

Summary

  • If you place a tile with an arrow symbol so that the symbol is not activated, you get 2 points immediately, otherwise nothing changes.
  • You activate an arrow symbol by placing the tile with the arrow pointing to an adjacent tile, or by placing a tile adjacent to another tile in the playing area featuring an arrow symbol pointing to the tile just placed.
  • A maximum of 1 symbol can be activated per turn. If you could activate more than one, you may only choose one of them.
  • If you place a symbol tile activating a symbol on another tile in the playing area, you score the usual 2 points (because you do not activate the symbol on the tile just placed).

20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Action Symbol 01.png

You are allowed to add your meeple next to another meeple in the playing area, so there will be 2 (there can be a maximum of 2 meeples at a time). [2]

20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Action Symbol 02.png

You may place your meeple on any unoccupied incomplete feature anywhere in the playing area.

20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Action Symbol 03.png

You have an extra turn (maximum of two consecutive turns).

Other expansions

General comments

Icon World Black.png You can only use the 20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Action Symbol 01.png and 20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Action Symbol 02.png arrow symbols to deploy a valid meeple to regular features, that is, those features that can be claimed and scored. Other special areas should not be allowed:

Symbol TradersBuilders C2.png Traders & Builders

Icon World Black.png Extra turn and the builder: During a double turn, if you activate a 20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Action Symbol 03.png arrow symbol and you get an extra turn, you will finish your double turn in full before executing your extra turn.

Symbol PrincessDragon C1C2.png The Princess & the Dragon

Icon World Black.png Magic portals: You should not be allowed to use a 20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Action Symbol 02.png arrow symbol to place your meeple on a magic portal. This action symbol already acts as a magic portal so the same restrictions should apply.

Symbol Flier C1C2.png The Flier (Flying Machines)

Icon World Black.png Flying Machines: You should not be allowed to use a 20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Action Symbol 02.png arrow symbol to place your meeple on a flying machine. This action symbol acts as a magic portal so the same restrictions should apply.

Symbol Monasteries C1C2.png Monasteries in Germany / Japanese Buildings / Monasteries in Belgium & the Netherlands

Icon World Black.png Placing a second meeple on a special monastery: When using a 20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Action Symbol 01.png arrow symbol to place a second meeple to a special monastery, it has to be placed in the same position as the one already on the feature: A second monk or a second abbot.[3]

Icon World Black.png Placing a meeple on a special monastery: You should be allowed to use a 20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Action Symbol 02.png arrow symbol to place a meeple as a monk or as an abbot on an unoccupied incomplete special monastery. [4]

Tile distribution

Total Tiles: 15

20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile A.png x1
 
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile B.png x1
(W)
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile C.png x1
(H)
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile D.png x1
(G)
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile E.png x1
 
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile F.png x1
(H)
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile G.png x1
(F)
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile H.png x1
(C)
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile I.png x1
 
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile J.png x1
(W)
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile K.png x1
 
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile L.png x1
 
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile M.png x1
(D)
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile N.png x1
 
20th Anniversary Expansion C2 Tile O.png x1
(F)

Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:

Feature Garden C2.png
G | Garden
Feature Farmhouse C2.png
F | Farmhouse
Feature Cows C2.png
C | Cowshed
Feature WaterTower C2.png
W | Water tower
Feature Highwayman C2.png
H | Highwaymen
Feature Donkeys C2.png
D | Donkey stable

Footnotes

For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.

  1. Icon Double Arrow Black.png This last sentence was included in the rules by MindOK.
  2. Icon World Black.png This expansion does only allow you to place more than two meeples together this way. Other expansions, such as Mini #1 - The Flier (Flying Machines) or Mini #7 - Crop Circles, do not have this limitation.
  3. Icon World Black.png The idea of this action is to pay homage to the large meeples in Exp. 1, so the new meeple is added to the feature in order to increase your majority vote for the same scoring. So you should be allowed to add a second meeple placed as a monk if the first one was placed as a monk, or a second meeple placed as an abbot if the first one was placed as an abbot. Mixing meeple positions should not be allowed since they would participate in different scorings and this would defeat the original purpose.
  4. Icon World Black.png If the special monastery is completed, you should not be allowed to place a meeple as an abbot on it since the same restrictions as for magic portals should apply.