Mage and Witch
General info and comments
Mage and Witch (Mini #5) was released by HiG for the second edition, known as C2 for short, in 2017, bundled as part of Big Box 6. A third edition, known as C3 for short, was released in 2021 including more detailed graphics, cities with clipped buildings and some minor wording changes. The C3 version of this expansion is only available as part of Big Box 7.
- 8 landscape tiles with magic logos
- 1 purple mage figure
- 1 orange witch figure
Shuffle the new landscape tiles with those of the basic game and stack them normally. Place the mage and witch figures (collectively called "magic figures") within easy reach of all players.
If playing with other expansions, please take the following notes into consideration:
For Icons explanation and licensing please visit Icons page.
- This means that if you complete a city or road with a tile featuring the magic symbol, you cannot place a magic figure on that city or road, since it is no longer incomplete. The tile placement completed the feature before a magic figure could be placed on it.
- The magic figures can be placed on any tile in the playing area, including the tile just placed, as long as the restrictions in the rules are met.
- If the mage or witch is already on a tile and is moved due to placement of a tile with the magic symbol, the figure must be moved to a different feature. (5/2014)
- Thus: 1) If neither figure is in play, you bring one into play. 2) If both magic figures are in play, you move one of them to a different feature. 3) If only one figure is in play, you choose one or the other to move – you may move either the figure that is already in play or the figure that began the turn off of the playing field. In all of these situations, you may choose to move either the mage or the witch. (updated 5/2014; corrected 3/2020)
- The chosen magic figure must be moved to another uncompleted road or city on any tile in the playing area (it could be the same tile where the figure was placed but on a different feature). If the movement is not possible, the magic figure will be put aside for later use.
- This last sentence was removed in Big Box 7. Its wording may lead to the misunderstanding of the turn sequence. Some readers may interpret that the movement of one magic figure when both of them end up on the same feature may be delayed until right before 3. Scoring a feature. This action should also take place in 1. Placing a tile.
- This additional rules clarification is from the Big Box 4 and Big Box 7 (Big Box v3.0) editions of the rules. It was included in the main text in the Big Box 6 edition of the rules.