General info and comments
This is the fourth major expansion for Carcassonne and introduces a new aspect to the game. With this expansion you can build high towers from which you can capture opposing players' meeples, and hold them for ransom or wait for a one-for-one exchange.
New features are:
A Carcassonne expansion is not really a Carcassonne expansion when there are no new tiles, so in the box you also find 18 tiles that represent city segments, road segments and cloisters in new configurations plus the addition of tower foundations which will help create much more than a beautiful landscape.
- 18 Land tiles with a tower foundation
- 30 Tower floors (in one neutral color)
- 1 Tile Tower as tile dispenser
Do not disassemble the Tile Tower when storing the game. During the game, you may take your tiles from the top or the bottom of the tower. However, in order to avoid causing the tower and the tiles to fall, we recommend taking them from the top, especially when there are only a few tiles left in the tower.
New land tiles
The new Land tiles are played just like any other tile. Tower foundations are the only new element introduced on these tiles. There is also a special case, shown below.
|Special case: The bridge on this tile continues the road, but does not split the city. There are 4 fields as well.
Shuffle the new Land tiles with the others, and put them all face down in the Tile Tower. You can put the tiles in the left side, the right side, or both: this has no impact on gameplay. Place the Tile Tower within easy reach of all players.
Then, depending on the number of players, give each player the corresponding number of tower floors:
- two players: 10 floors
- three players: 9 floors
- four players: 7 floors
- five players: 6 floors
- six players: 5 floors
Players place these in their supply (with their meeples). Return any unused tower floors to the box.
Many figures now exist within the world of Carcassonne, and some questions may arise when you play with The Tower expansion. Here is a list of the various figures and the actions you may and may not do with them.
- Figures you may place on a tower:
- Figures you may NOT place on a tower:
- Figures you may capture from the board (including your own):
- Normal meeple, the standard option (Base game)
- Abbot (Base game - The Abbot)
- Large meeple (Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals)
- Meeple on a tower (Exp. 4 - The Tower)
- Wagon (Exp. 5 - Abbey and Mayor)
- Mayor (Exp. 5 - Abbey and Mayor)
- Meeple on bridge (Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles and Bazaars)
- Ringmaster (Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top)
- Phantom (The Phantom)
- Buying back captured figures always costs 3 points, regardless of which type of figure is being bought back.
- Figures you may NOT capture from the board:
- Pig (Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders)
- Builder (Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders)
- Barn (Exp. 5 - Abbey and Mayor)
- Meeple in the city of Carcassonne (Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber)
- Meeple in a castle (Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles and Bazaars)
- Shepherd (Exp. 9 - Hills & Sheep)
- Meeple on a crown space of the Wheel of Fortune (The Wheel of Fortune)
- Meeple in the city of Leipzig, due to its similarity to the city of Carcassonne (The Markets of Leipzig)
- All neutral figures and tokens
- Fairy (Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon)
- Dragon (Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon)
- Count (Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber)
- King marker (Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber)
- Robber Baron marker (Exp. 6 - Count, King and Robber)
- Bridge (Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles and Bazaars)
- Castle (Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles and Bazaars)
- Sheep (Exp. 9 - Hills & Sheep)
- Big top (Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top)
- Animal tokens (Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top)
- Big pig on the Wheel of Fortune (The Wheel of Fortune)
- Ferries (Mini #3 - The Ferries)
- Gold ingots (Mini #4 - The Goldmines)
- Mage (Mini #5 - Mage and Witch)
- Witch (Mini #5 - Mage and Witch)
- Fruit tokens (The Fruit-Bearing Trees)
- Tollhouse tokens (The Tollkeepers)
- Little Buildings (Little Buildings)
- Outbreak tokens (Plague, The)
- Flea tokens (Plague, The)
- Teacher (The School)
- Tunnel tokens (The Tunnel)
- Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders: Prisoner buy-back only happens once in a turn, even if it a double-turn.
- Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon:
- The fairy does not protect a meeple from capture by a tower.
- The fairy can be assigned to a meeple placed on top of a tower. The fairy would stand by the tower.
- The dragon CAN eat a meeple on a tower.
- A meeple on a tower cannot be seduced by a princess, as the tower is not a part of the city; they are two separate areas.
- Exp. 8 - Bridges, Castles and Bazaars: A bridge and a tower may occupy the same tile (if necessary, move the tower slightly to make room).
- The Festival: Removal of the follower on the tower by other mechanics, such as the use of a Festival tile, is also possible. (12/2014)
- The Phantom:
- You may place your phantom on any open tower.
- You may place a valid meeple as first figure on an open tower and your phantom as second figure on a second open tower in the same turn.
- In the same turn, you may place a tower, place a tower floor (as first figure) on it, capture a meeple on an adjacent orthogonal tile (that is, range 1), and place your phantom (as second figure) on the tower tile just placed. This sequence would allow you to:
- Claim a city with your phantom after capturing the only knight in it; or
- Claim a road with your phantom after capturing the only highwayman on it.
- The following examples illustrate this sequence:
- Towers cannot capture over empty tiles. (Thanks to viberunner)
- A captured meeple cannot be returned by payment of a ransom (the “Eye for an Eye” rule). (Thanks to keyofnight)
- A single-storey tower can only capture a meeple on its own tile. Each additional storey adds an additional tile of range in each direction – the rate of increasing range is the same as the normal rules, but the starting point is less powerful (the “No Surprises” rule). (Thanks to keyofnight)
- A tower can also capture meeples on tiles diagonal to the tower tile. The distance to the capture tile is considered to be the smallest number of horizontal and vertical moves needed to get there, so a diagonal adjacent to the tower tile is considered to be 2 tiles away. (Thanks to Yi Niu)
Total Tiles: 18
Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:
For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.
Some printed ZMG rulebooks contain a different version of this sentence, including an additional restriction by mistake:
"After placing a tile with a tower foundation, you may perform one of the four following actions:[...]"
The original rules by HiG do not mention that these actions require a tile with a tower foundation.
This error was corrected in the PDF version of the rules.
- A meeple cannot be placed on a tower foundation to prevent a tower being built. Only tower floors can be placed on tower foundations. The tower can only be blocked when it already exists.
- In other words, the range of tiles in each direction away from the tower (not counting the tower tile itself) is equal to the number of tower pieces in the tower.
Tower foundations and towers built on top are separate features from roads, cities and fields. Towers are not part of any of the features they stand on or "touch" (they are not part of a city or field touching them), so there is no interaction between them:
- A meeple placed on a tower does not affect majority of the features touching the tower (roads, cities or fields), and therefore the meeple does not participate in their scoring.
- A meeple placed on a tower is not affected by actions involving the features touching the tower, such as, a princess symbol.
- This is only true as long as the meeple remains on the tower – it is the meeple's presence on the tower that halts tower growth, not the act of placement. If the meeple is removed by the dragon or another tower, tower pieces can once again be added to the now-vacated tower. (11/2013)
- No negotiation is necessary or allowed. The exchange is automatic! - as clarified in the RGG edition of the Big Box.