The Fruit-Bearing Trees

From Wikicarpedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search


With this expansion, Carcassonne will be surrounded by various fruit-bearing trees. The larger the variety of fruits you offer is, the higher your income will be.

FruitTrees05.png You are reading the rules for this tile design. Fruit-Bearing Trees C3 Tile 03.png
If your tiles have a different design, then choose a game from Spin-offs.Rule selection by design Spin-offs.png


With this expansion, Carcassonne will be surrounded by various fruit-bearing trees. The larger the variety of fruits you offer is, the higher your income will be.

General info and comments

Expansion symbol

The Fruit-Bearing Trees was released in C2 (the 2nd edition) in March 2018 by HiG. A C3 (the third edition) version was released in April 2024, which has cities with clipped buildings. This expansion was never officially released for C1 (the 1st edition).

C3 envelope
Punchout in C3
Punchout in C2

Contents

  • 6 new land tiles with 6 types of fruit-bearing trees (quince, apple, apricot, cherry, plum and elder)
Tile with fruit-bearing tree
  • 24 fruit tokens (4 per fruit with the values 5, 4, 3, and 2 on the back)
Fruit tokens fronts
Fruit tokens backs

Rules

Preparation

Shuffle the 6 Land tiles with fruit-bearing trees together with the Land tiles of the basic game. Arrange the 24 fruit tokens according to their colour/type. Then, shuffle each colour/type stack separately (the values face down). Place the 6 stacks next to the scoring track.

Gameplay

Scoring C2 Fruit-Bearing Trees.png
1. Placing a tile
Fruit-Bearing Trees C2 Example 01.png

When you draw a Land tile with a fruit-bearing tree (Tree tile), you place it according to the normal rules. Then, you place a stack with 4 fruit tokens (of the same fruit type) on top of the Tree tile with the values still face down. You can choose the related type of fruit, however, it does not matter which type of fruit you put there, in terms of the game. Thus, any tree and any type of fruit may be combined!

2. Placing a meeple

You may place one of your meeples on the Tree tile according to the normal rules. Note that you are not allowed to place a meeple on the tree itself.

Performing a "fruit action"

If you have deployed a meeple, you may now perform either one of the following two fruit actions explained below: Harvesting or Selling.

If you place a land tile next to the tree tile in another turn (vertically, horizontally or diagonally) and place a meeple on this land tile, you may carry out one of the fruit actions as well. [1] [2] [3]

  • Harvesting
  • Selling

Special case: If there are several fruit trees next to the meeple you have just placed, you can still only perform one action. However, you are free to choose which tree you want to harvest from. [4]

Harvesting

Take the top-most fruit token from the tree tile (if available). Then, immediately score points according to the fruit token's value. The fruit token is then placed in front of you.

Selling

Instead of taking a new fruit token, you can choose to sell fruit tokens you have previously harvested. You may sell 1 to 4 tokens, but the more you sell, the more points you score. If you want to sell more than one token, they must (all) be of different types of fruit. You may only sell one set at a time. The value on the back does not matter when selling fruits. Sold fruit tokens are set aside and removed from the game.

Points for fruit selling
Fruit-Bearing Trees C2 Selling 01.png 1 token = 3 points
Fruit-Bearing Trees C2 Selling 02.png 2 tokens = 6 points
Fruit-Bearing Trees C2 Selling 03.png 3 tokens = 10 points
Fruit-Bearing Trees C2 Selling 04.png 4 tokens = 15 points

The following examples show harvesting and selling actions:

Example: Harvesting
You place a tile next to the apple tree and you place a meeple. You decide to harvest. Therefore, you take the top-most apple token and look at its value. You get 3 points and place the token in front of you, next to the other tokens.
Example: Selling
Later you place a tile next to the apple tree again and you place a meeple. Now, you want to sell. Up to now, you have harvested 2 apple tokens, 1 apricot and 1 cherry token. You sell three different tokens for 10 points. As you are only allowed to sell one set at a time you keep one apple token.
3. Scoring a feature

When you complete one or more areas (e.g. a monastery, a road etc.) by placing a Tree tile, you score them according to the normal rules.

Final Scoring

At the end of the game, each fruit token is worth 1 point.

Tile distribution

C3 edition

Total tiles: 6
Fruit-Bearing Trees C3 Tile 02.png ×1
Fruit-Bearing Trees C3 Tile 01.png ×1
(H)*
Fruit-Bearing Trees C3 Tile 06.png ×1
Fruit-Bearing Trees C3 Tile 04.png ×1
(F)
Fruit-Bearing Trees C3 Tile 03.png ×1
Fruit-Bearing Trees C3 Tile 05.png ×1
Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:
Feature Farmhouse C3.png
Feature Highwaymen C3.png

This edition altered the position of the highwaymen in the tile marked with *. The highwaymen expected behind the little tree and the bushes (bottom left) walked away to the fruit-bearing tree.

Total tokens: 24
Token FruitBearingTree C3 plum.png ×4

For each fruit type, there are four tokens with different values (2, 3, 4 and 5) on the back.

C2 edition

Total tiles: 6
FruitTrees01.png ×1
FruitTrees02.png ×1
(H)
FruitTrees03.png ×1
FruitTrees04.png ×1
(F)
FruitTrees05.png ×1
FruitTrees06.png ×1
Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:
Feature Farmhouse C2.png
Feature Highwayman C2.png
Total tokens: 24
Token FruitBearingTree plum.png ×4

For each fruit type, there are four tokens with different values (2, 3, 4 and 5) on the back.

Footnotes

For Icons explanation and licensing please visit Icons page.

  1. Interpretation from the Community A fruit action may happen when:
    • A tree tile is placed with a meeple (in the same turn); or
    • A new tile with a meeple is placed adjacent to a tree tile (in a later turn). It does not matter who placed the tree tile.
    Note that:
    • The rules require the placement of a meeple: The meeple placement can happen as first or second figure (the phantom). The placement of a special figure or a neutral figure or a token does not count.
    • The fruit action is optional: A player may comply with the given requirements but decides not to perform a fruit action.
  2. Interpretation from the Community The rules to trigger a fruit action require the direct placement of a meeple during phase 2. Placing a meeple on the tile just placed. This will rule out other meeple placement mechanics: However, the placement on tower tile (adjacent to a tree tile) with a tower floor and a phantom as second figure on top would comply with the requirements to trigger a fruit action. See Exp. 4 - The Tower Exp. 4 - The Tower and The Phantom The Phantom.
  3. Interpretation from the Community Note that fruit actions take place during phase 2. Placing a meeple. Therefore, these actions will happen as usual even if later actions in the turn sequence may remove the meeple from the tile, for example, being eaten by the dragon (Exp. 3 - The Princess & the Dragon Exp. 3 - The Princess & the Dragon).
  4. Notorious rule difference among editions or publishers This paragraph was added in C3. This special case wasn't included in the original C2 rules by HiG.
    Without this limitation, the interpretation of the original C2 rules suggested that a player could execute one fruit action per tree present on the newly placed tile or any adjacent ones and each meeple placed on this turn part (up to two if placing a any meeple plus a phantom).
    Example 1: Red places a tree tile with a normal meeple and a phantom. Both meeples have access to 3 trees so Red can perform 2 fruit actions per tree, that is, 6 actions in total.
Synod
Paloi Sciurala | Posted on Oct 11, 2021 at 7:03 pm

The Fruit-Bearing Treesː Also "synod" from The Gifts.

Meepledrone | Posted on Oct 11, 2021 at 10:24 pm

Done!

Included comments about two gift cards: Synod and Change Position.

Paloi Sciurala | Posted on Dec 4, 2021 at 10:19 am

The Fruit-Bearing Treesː Synod is not a placement on the just placed tile, as it happens in 1B.

Meepledrone | Posted on Dec 4, 2021 at 7:19 pm

Oops! My bad... Corrected.

"May"
Paloi Sciurala | Posted on May 30, 2020 at 8:39 pm

"he may likewise perform one of the following two actions." "May"?

Meepledrone | Posted on Jun 1, 2020 at 8:14 pm | Last edited on Jun 15, 2020 at 7:00 pm

"May" here is a used in a polite way instead of "must". There are only two options to choose from so you must choose one of them. There is no third option to avoid choosing any of them.

Sorry for the wrong answer. "may likewise perform" = "may also perform." So if you place your meeple, the fruit action is an optional addition, it is not mandatory.

Updated wording and extended clarification in this regard.

Paloi Sciurala | Posted on Jun 14, 2020 at 9:18 am | Last edited on Jun 14, 2020 at 9:19 am

That means that if there are 0 fruit tokens on a fruit-bearing tree, and if you place a meeple on one of the 8 space, you are obligated to sell? What happens if you have 0 tokens? Also, it is not mentioned if you must harvest or sell if you fly, use a portal etc on one of the 8 space.

Meepledrone | Posted on Jun 14, 2020 at 11:26 am | Last edited on Jun 15, 2020 at 7:01 pm

1) That means that if there are 0 fruit tokens on a fruit-bearing tree, and if you place a meeple on one of the 8 space, you are obligated to sell? What happens if you have 0 tokens?

You choose between harvesting (even if there are no fruit tokens left) or selling. So you are not forced to sell if there are no fruit tokens left. You just may harvest nothing.

Remember that the harvesting rules state: Take the top-most fruit token from the tree tile (if available).

Edit: Actually, you are not forced to harvest or to sell.


2) Also, it is not mentioned if you must harvest or sell if you fly, use a portal etc on one of the 8 space.

If you check the rules and/or footnote #1, you'll see that the requirements for performing a fruit action are:

  • A tree tile is placed with a meeple (in the same turn); or
  • A new tile with a meeple is placed adjacent to a tree tile (in a later turn.) It does not matter who placed the tree tile.

This means, the meeple has to be placed on the tile just placed (the fruit tree tile or an adjacent one) in phase 2. Placing a meeple. This rules out:

  • Meeples deployed to another tile using a magic portal or a flying machine: The meeple is not placed on the tile just placed as required
  • Meeples deployed from the City of Carcassonne or using a crop circle: The meeple may be placed on the tile just placed but not during the right phase.
  • A wagon moved to the tile just placed: Again, the placement does not happen in the right phase.

Added a couple of clarifications.

Paloi Sciurala | Posted on Jun 14, 2020 at 12:23 pm | Last edited on Jun 14, 2020 at 12:23 pm

"However, the placement on tower tile (adjacent to a tree tile) with a tower floor and a phantom as second figure would comply with the requirements to trigger a fruit action." "If you have deployed a meeple"- a tower floor is not a meeple.

Meepledrone | Posted on Jun 14, 2020 at 12:33 pm | Last edited on Jun 15, 2020 at 6:23 pm

3) "However, the placement on tower tile (adjacent to a tree tile) with a tower floor and a phantom as second figure would comply with the requirements to trigger a fruit action." "If you have deployed a meeple"- a tower floor is not a meeple.

The phantom is the meeple... It can be on top of the tower or on any feature on the tile.

I was interested in the case where you place a tower with a meeple (a phantom) on top. It is not direct placement but it may be valid for the given rules.

Paloi Sciurala | Posted on Jun 14, 2020 at 12:43 pm

It is not mentioned what happens if you place a special figure instead of a meeple.

Meepledrone | Posted on Jun 14, 2020 at 1:12 pm | Last edited on Jun 15, 2020 at 6:23 pm

4) It is not mentioned what happens if you place a special figure instead of a meeple.

The rules require a meeple. So anything else doesn't count.

Remember the rules were written with the base game in mind.

Paloi Sciurala | Posted on Jun 14, 2020 at 1:36 pm

"The rules require a meeple. So anything else doesn't count." It can be mentioned.

Paloi Sciurala | Posted on Jun 15, 2020 at 3:23 pm | Last edited on Jun 15, 2020 at 3:37 pm

Can you choose to sell if you have 0 fruit tokens?

You have 1 cherry token, 1 apple token and 1 elder token. Can you sell only 1 cherry token and 1 apple token?

Meepledrone | Posted on Jun 15, 2020 at 6:19 pm | Last edited on Jun 15, 2020 at 6:44 pm

5) "The rules require a meeple. So anything else doesn't count." It can be mentioned.

I added a clarification.


6) Can you choose to sell if you have 0 fruit tokens?

No,. you can sell from 1 to 4 fruit tokens according to the rules.


7) You have 1 cherry token, 1 apple token and 1 elder token. Can you sell only 1 cherry token and 1 apple token?

Yes, you can sell only two tokens. Just note that selling 2 fruit tokens and 1 fruit token later in another turn will give you less points than selling the 3 fruit tokens together.

You may see that the only requirement is that you have to sell a set of 1 to 4 different fruit tokens.

  • If you have 6 different fruit tokens, you are only allowed to sell a set of 4.
  • If you have 2 fruit tokens of the same type, you will only be allowed to sell 1 fruit token.

You can revisit the Selling example above: you have 4 fruit tokens (2 apple tokens, 1 apricot token and 1 cherry token) but you only (can) sell 3 of them since you have 2 apple tokens. So you keep 1 apple token and sell the rest.


Note: I just updated my first answer at the top and the wording of the related sentence.... I just paid attention to "may" missed the "likewise" (now "also" after the change), so my answer was wrong.

Paloi Sciurala | Posted on Jun 15, 2020 at 6:46 pm | Last edited on Jun 21, 2020 at 2:09 pm

But the "sheep action" is still mandatory?

Meepledrone | Posted on Aug 23, 2020 at 11:11 pm | Last edited on Aug 23, 2020 at 11:15 pm

Yes, according to the wording.

  • The Hills & Sheep rules indicates you may choose between two options, that is, you ("politely") must choose between two given options. There is no possibility to skip this selection.
Translation from German: "Whenever you expand the field where your shepherd stands by placing a landscape tile, you may choose between two actions [...]"
  • The Fruit-Bearing Trees rules tell you that you may choose one option out of two candidates. So the rules are not forcing you to pick one.
Translation from German: "If you have placed a Meeple, you may now perform one of the two actions below. [...]"