The Phantom (1st edition)

From WikiCarpedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Other languages:
Deutsch • ‎English • ‎Nederlands • ‎français • ‎italiano


General info and comments

Originally released by Hans im Glück in 2011. [1]

The Phantom is the only expansion to date that is completely edition independent, in that it can be used with both First Edition and Second Edition Carcassonne.

This expansion has been developed for the Carcassonne basic game. All the basic game rules still apply in addition to the expansion rules below.

Contents

Phantom figure.png
  • 6 new translucent followers in six colors [2]
Figure Phantoms C1.png

Rules

Preparation

Every player receives the phantom of his or her color - the purple phantom belongs to the grey player (First Edition), or the pink player (Second Edition).

Placing a tile

There are no tiles supplied with this expansion.

Placing a meeple

After placing a tile, the player may deploy the phantom to it as a second follower (on a second feature). [3] Thus, in one turn the player may deploy two followers to two different features of the tile he or she just placed. When the phantom follower is returned to the player's supply, it may be deployed again in the same way in a later turn.

Phantoms with box.png

As with a normal follower, the phantom can also be deployed as the only follower on a turn, and the phantom follower always counts as a normal follower.

Scoring a feature

The phantom follower is scored as if it were a normal meeple.

Final scoring

The phantom follower is scored as if it were a normal meeple.

Other expansions

 Icon Open Book.png Question: Does the phantom have to be second to a wooden follower, or can it be placed in addition to a non-follower piece?

Answer: The phantom may also be placed as a second piece in addition to the builder, pig, or any other "Move Wood" piece such as movement of the fairy or placement of a tower piece.

  • Exp. 2 - Traders and Builders (1st Edition) / Traders and Builders (2nd Edition):
    • Icon Open Book.png The phantom cannot be placed, then followed by a builder or pig on the same feature on the same turn. The builder [or pig] must be placed as the second figure in a feature [i.e. placed after a follower], but the phantom is always the last piece placed on a turn. If the phantom is the first piece placed on a turn, another figure cannot then be placed. Thus, if a phantom is placed [as the primary follower] on a feature, the builder could at the earliest be placed on the next turn.
    • Icon Open Book.png The phantom can be placed as second figure to special figures such as the pig and the builder.
  • Exp. 3 - The Princess and the Dragon (1st Edition) / The Princess and the Dragon (2nd Edition):
    • Icon Open Book.png The phantom can be placed as second figure to neutral figure such as the fairy.
    • Icon Open Book.png The placement of a princess tile with removal of a knight from the city cannot be used as a first "follower move" and be followed by placement of the phantom (e.g. into the now-vacated city). As per the rules for the princess, "if a knight is removed from the city, the player may not deploy or move any other figure." [This combo would be too powerful in allowing city stealing – ed.]
    • Icon Open Book.png A phantom can use a magic portal. However, both a wooden follower AND the phantom cannot go through the magic portal – you must choose one or the other. This is because the magic portal is treated as a feature and the phantom is effectively a normal follower. If the first follower is placed on the magic portal, it is claiming that portal (then is moved to a feature on another tile). The phantom cannot be placed on that portal because it is a claimed feature. (1/2013)
    • Icon World Black.png A follower and a phantom can be deployed to different tiles if one of them uses a magic portal.

 Icon Open Book.png Question: When a tile with a magic portal is played, can the first follower go to the tile itself and the phantom go through the magic portal (or vice versa)? In other words, can figures be deployed to 2 separate features (one to a portal and one to a primary feature) and end up on different tiles?

Answer: Yes. You have a second separate placement phase, independent from the first placement phase, immediately after the first placement phase. You can do whatever you can do with a follower. You can choose a different target/action, of course.

  • Exp. 4 - The Tower (1st Edition) / The Tower (2nd Edition):
    • Icon Open Book.png The phantom can be placed as second figure to neutral figure such as a tower piece.
    • Icon Open Book.png A phantom can also be played to areas such as a tower – the phantom is not restricted to placement on the tile that was just placed. (11/2013)
    • Icon Open Book.png You can place a follower at an open tower to close it, and then place the phantom into an area which is safe now because the tower is closed.
  • Exp. 10 - Under the Big Top (2nd Edition):
    • Icon Locked Red.png Since phantoms work as normal followers (with different placement rules), the interpretation of the rules would allow you to place them as acrobats.
Due to the particular characteristics of acrobat pyramids, they can be occupied by multiple followers at the same time, becoming complete when occupied by three. This means that, unless completed, an acrobat pyramid may be occupied by multiple followers in a non-exclusive manner, no matter if they belong to the same or to different players. This relaxation of the usual occupancy rules would allow players to add both a normal follower and a phantom to an acrobat pyramid on the same turn. Note that the phantom would be placed as a second figure to the same feature. This may seem odd since, by default, phantoms may be placed as a second figure to a second feature due to the usual occupancy rules for features.
An official clarification would be required.
  • The Wheel of Fortune (1st Edition):
    • Icon Open Book.png A phantom can be played to areas such as The Wheel of Fortune – the Phantom is not restricted to placement on the tile that was just placed. (11/2013)
  • Mini #1 - The Flier (Flying Machines) (1st Edition) / The Flier (Flying Machines) (2nd Edition):
    • Icon Open Book.png A phantom can be a flier. However, if you first use a normal follower as a flier then the second figure (the phantom) cannot use the flying machine. The flying machine is a feature, so claiming the flying machine feature with the first figure prevents the phantom from also claiming it. Thus, in this situation the phantom can only be placed on a road or on the field.

Footnotes

For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page.

  1. The original translation of the German for this expansion was The Entourage.
  2. The 6 phantom meeples are shipped together in a large, translucent, meeple-shaped, plastic box, of which there are also six colours available.
  3. Icon Open Book.png Just like a normal follower, the Phantom can only be deployed to an unoccupied feature.