From Wikicarpedia
Revision as of 13:28, 18 May 2024 by FuzzyBot (talk | contribs) (Updating to match new version of source page)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Festival C3 Tile 04.png You are reading the rules for this tile design. Festival15-05.png
Festival10 C1-10.pngRead the following rules if your tiles look like this.
Festiwal Festiwal
If your tiles have a different design, then choose a game from Spin-offs.Rule selection by design Spin-offs.png

General info and comments

Expansion symbol

Originally released by CundCo in 2016 to mark the 15th Anniversary of the first publication of Carcassonne. A C3 version was released in 2022, which has cities with clipped buildings.

C3 Punchout
C2 Punchout

This expansion was originally released for the 1st Edition, known as C1 for short, in 2011.

This expansion has been developed for the Carcassonne basic game. All the basic game rules still apply in addition to the expansion rules below. You can combine it with other expansions - but at your own risk – i.e. there will be no official rules for these combinations.


  • 10 new Land tiles with a Festival place and a "15" expansion symbol set amongst some coloured starbursts
Festival place
  • 2 special tiles with the rules in German and English, not used as land tiles.



Shuffle the 10 Festival tiles together with the Land tiles of the basic game.


Festival symbol.png
1. Placing a tile

When you draw a Land tile with the festival place, you place it according to the normal rules.

2. Placing a meeple

You may then choose either:

  • deploy one of your own figures [1] to the tile in the usual way; or
  • return one of your own figures [2] [3] [4] being already on the tiles of the playing area [5] to your supply.[6] [7]

The player can also choose to do neither of the above. Note that you are not allowed to place a meeple on the Festival itself.

Captured meeples (from Wieża expansion) cannot be returned to the player's supply in this way.

3. Scoring a feature

When you complete one or more areas (e.g. a monastery, a road etc.) by placing a Festival tile, you score them according to the normal rules.

Punktacja końcowa

There is no additional scoring at the end of the game with the Festival tiles.

Tile distribution

C3 Edition

Całkowita liczba płytek: 10
Festival C3 Tile 01.png ×1
Festival C3 Tile 02.png ×1
Festival C3 Tile 03.png ×1
Festival C3 Tile 04.png ×1
Festival C3 Tile 05.png ×1
Festival C3 Tile 09.png ×1
Festival C3 Tile 10.png ×1
Całkowita liczba specjalnych płytek: 2
Festival C3 Tile 11 Front.png
Festival C3 Tile 11 Back.png ×1
German rules (front and back)
Festival C3 Tile 12 Front.png
Festival C3 Tile 12 Back.png ×1
English rules (front and back)

C2 Edition

Całkowita liczba płytek: 10
Festival15-01.png ×1
Festival15-02.png ×1
Festival15-03.png ×1
Festival15-04.png ×1
Festival15-05.png ×1
Festival15-09.png ×1
Festival15-10.png ×1
Całkowita liczba specjalnych płytek: 2
Festival15-11 Front.png
Festival15-11 Back.png ×1
German rules (front and back)
Festival15-12 Front.png
Festival15-12 Back.png ×1
English rules (front and back)


W celu zapoznania się z objeśnieniami ikon oraz licencjami odwiedź: Ikony.

  1. Notoryczne różnice w zasadach między wydaniami lub wydawcami The rules provided by CundCo used the word "meeple" but the rules intended by HiG referred to "figures". We follow the HiG ruling here and modified the wording accordingly.
  2. Oficjalne wyjaśnienia od wydawcy All of your own figures are meant here, including normal and large meeples, wagon, mayor, builder, pig, barn, shepherd, phantom, abbot meeple, ringmaster, and guard meeple. (5/2015; updated 12/2018; updated 2/2023)
  3. Interpretacja społeczności No scoring would be applicable to any meeple or special figure, including the abbot and the shepherd. Note that:
    • It would be odd to use this expansion to remove an abbot meeple, as it has its own retrieval mechanism that involves scoring.
    • If a shepherd is removed, no Guide flock to stable action is invoked and no flock scoring would take place. There is no official clarification about what happens in this case to the shepherd's flock. Two options may happen:
      • The flock is returned to the bag without scoring as soon as their shepherd is removed from the board.
      • The flock remains on the game board. If it is shared with one or more shepherds, they would not be affected; otherwise, the flock could be claimed by a new shepherd and it would be an analogous case to the sheep found on some tiles in minor expansions such as Rzeka III Rzeka III from the first edition or Połówki Połówki.
    Players should agree on which option is chosen at the beginning of a game.
  4. Oficjalne wyjaśnienia od wydawcy A player cannot return another player's figure to them. Also, a player cannot return a neutral figure (such as the fairy or the dragon).
  5. Oficjalne wyjaśnienia od wydawcy As the City of Carcassonne from Rozszerzenie 6. - Hrabia, Król i Rzeka Rozszerzenie 6. - Hrabia, Król i Rzeka is also part of the playing area, this allows removal of a meeple from there (even if the Count is in the same space). This would also apply to the City of Leipzig from Targi w Lipsku Targi w Lipsku, the bathhouses from Felczerzy Felczerzy, and the 1st edition Koło Fortuny Koło Fortuny crown spaces. (updated 12/2018)
  6. Oficjalne wyjaśnienia od wydawcy If the Festival is used to remove a meeple, the fairy cannot be moved, as an action was still taken in phase 2. Placing a meeple. (5/2014)
  7. Oficjalne wyjaśnienia od wydawcy If the Festival is used to remove a meeple, the Phantom can still be placed on that turn. (11/2013)