The Markets of Leipzig

From Wikicarpedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Main Page  > Carcassonne  > The Markets of Leipzig

General info and comments

Markets of Leipzig symbol
Limited Edition

Originally released by Hans im Glück in 2017 on occasion of Leipzig's fair "model-hobby-spiel" 2017, with two double tiles for Amazonas.

This expansion was first released as a limited edition of total 600 examples: the first 300 at the "modell hobby spiel" in Leipzig from 29th September to 1st October 2017, and the second 300 at the Spiel'17 in Essen from 26th to 29th of October 2017. This limited version was signed by Klaus-Jürgen Wrede and the CEO of Leipzig's trade fair center (Messe Leipzig) and contained 13 Followers/Meeples.

During the Middle Ages the town of Leipzig (lat. Lipsia) was the crossing point of the trading roads Via Regia and Via Imperii, which caused the emergence of numerous markets in this region. In the year of 1507 Leipzig became a staple town. Thus, all merchants passing through the town had to place their goods on the staple place and offer them for sale.

The Leipzig trade fair, which provides its logo as the symbol for this expansion, has its origins in the Middle Ages.

This expansion has been developed for the Carcassonne basic game. All the basic game rules still apply in addition to the expansion rules below. You can combine it with other expansions - but at your own risk – that is, there will be no official rules for these combinations.


  • 4 double Land tiles with the city of Leipzig, to be used as an alternative Start Tile
  • 13 additional meeples in different colors in some versions [1]



Place the Land tiles in a way that the four quarters lie next to each other and form the town of Leipzig (lat. Lipsia). Rightly, the signpost for Francofortum points to the west, the one for Stettinum to the north, Vratislavia to the east and Roma to the south. For the game, however, it is insignificant in which order the tiles are placed. [2] This setup replaces the start tile.

If possible give an extra meeple to each player as meeples might run low easily in this variant.

Markets of Leipzig starting placement


1. Placing a tile

The rules stay the same.

2. Placing a meeple

The rules stay the same.

3. Scoring a feature and sending a meeple to Leipzig

Each of Leipzig's quarters has one road which starts at its gate. All roads which are connected to these roads offer the possibility of sending one of your meeples to Leipzig. This counts as well for roads which are not directly connected to Leipzig, but are connected through villages. [3] [4]

If you complete a road which leads to Leipzig, and you have the majority, you can choose to:

  • Score the road and you get the points
  • Send your meeple from the road to Leipzig and score 0 points for the road
  • You end the road with your meeple. Since the road is connected to Leipzig (through a village in this case), you can send your meeple to Leipzig.
  • You decide to put him in the tanner district

Take note:

  • If you have more than one meeple on the road you are allowed to send one of them to Leipzig. With the other(s) you can, however, score the points for the road. [5] If you send a meeple into the Wainwrights quarter you will get the bonus points (see below) immediately. [6] [7]
  • If more than one player has the majority, each one can decide on his own whether he wants to send the meeple to Leipzig or if he takes the points.
  • The road on the double Land tiles counts merely as one road in a road scoring.

You move the meeple to any one of Leipzig's quarters (it does not have to be the one where the road ends) and the meeple will remain there until the game ends. You may only have one of your meeples in each quarter of Leipzig. Meeples of more than one player are allowed in each quarter - the meeples are simply stacked.

3. Scoring a feature with meeples in the Markets of Leipzig

When you have a meeple in a quarter of Leipzig it will score you bonus points in specific scoring phases - either during the game, or at the end. [8]

Scoring during the game
Markets Of Leipzig C2 Leipzing Quarter 01.png
Wainwrights quarter: Each road that is scored with your majority, you get 1 bonus point for each tile. [9]
Markets Of Leipzig C2 Leipzing Quarter 02.png
Coiners quarter: Each city that is scored, in which you have a knight (even if you do not have the majority), you get 3 points for each coat of arms.
Markets Of Leipzig C2 Leipzing Quarter 03.png
Bookbinders quarter: For each scoring of a completed monastery [10] (as well for monasteries of other players) you get 4 bonus points. [11]

The bonus points for these three scorings count only for completed roads, cities and monasteries. In the final scoring at the end of the game you get no bonus points in these cases.

Final Scoring
Markets Of Leipzig C2 Leipzing Quarter 04.png
Tanners quarter: When scoring fields at the end of the game [12] [13], in addition to the usual points for cities, you get 2 points for each shed (cowshed, pigsty or donkey stable) and each farmhouse in the field if you have the majority there. [14] [15] [16]
Donkey stable

Note: The city of Leipzig counts as a completed city when scoring the fields.

Other expansions

The shape of the double-sized Leipzig tiles has some particular implications in the interactions with the base game and other expansions. The clarifications provided for double-sized tiles, such as German castles, also apply in this case (see the clarifications in full here). They cover various topics:

Some additional clarifications involving Leipzig tiles were also provided. [17]

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: The road on a City of Leipzig tile has to be counted as 2 points instead of 1 because road is on two "spaces"? The rules mention it is scored as one road segment... Does this still apply? Or should it be scored as two "spaces"?

Answer: The rule does apply, therefore you still score only 1 point.
But for every other scoring, it is considered as 2 tiles (German monasteries, dragons etc.) (1/2021)

 Official clarification from the publisher Question: So the dragon for example affects the whole tile (except the interior of the Leipzig in this case) but considers each space individually when moving.
The same would happen to a tower range.

Answer: Exactly. (1/2021)

We will include some remarks about the implications of these clarifications next.

>> Base game - Road and Cities

In general terms, roads and cities are scored taking into consideration the square spaces occupied by the tiles conforming the feature. Double-sized tiles occupy two spaces but they pose no issue for cities due to their current configurations (they only present one semicircular city segment at most).

However, the Leipzig tiles present a special case for roads. The road segments on them occupy two spaces but they are scored as one road segment (one space) as indicated in the rules of this expansion.

Edge case example: The road segment on any Leipzig tile occupies two square spaces but it is counted as one road segment tile for scoring purposes.

>> Base game - Monasteries and abbots

When scoring a monastery adjacent to one or more double-sized tiles, the monastery will consider the occupied square spaces (areas) adjacent to it. An double-sized tile adjacent to a monastery may then occupy 1 or 2 spaces. As a result a completed monastery will always score 9 points and an incomplete monastery will score 1 point for space occupied the monastery and 1 point per adjacent occupied space.

Note: The same considerations should be applied when removing and scoring an abbot, and the scoring of all other monastic buildings: abbeys, shrines, German monasteries / Japanese Buildings / Dutch & Belgian monasteries with monks, Darmstadt churches.

>> Exp. 3 - The Princess & the Dragon - The fairy and Moving the dragon

A fairy cannot be assigned to a meeple placed in the city of Leipzig. It does not make sense as the city of Leipzig is a special area and cannot be affected by the dragon.

The dragon may be placed on a Leipzig tile but it won't affect any meeples placed inside the city, since it is a special area (the same as the City of Carcassonne in Exp. 6 - Count, King & Robber).

>> Exp. 4 - The Tower - Capturing meeples in Leipzig

A tower may not capture meeples in Leipzig, since the quarters of the city are considered a special area, as clarified for the dragon.

Tile distribution

Total tiles: 4
Leipzig01.png ×1
Leipzig02.png ×1
Leipzig03.png ×1
Leipzig04.png ×1
Several tiles have a small illustration on them. The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:


For Icons explanation and licensing please visit Icons page.

  1. Interpretation from the Community The expansion was first released as a limited edition of total 600 examples: the 1st 300 examples at the "modell hobby spiel" in Leipzig from the 29th of September to the 1st of October 2017, and the 2nd 300 examples at the Spiel'17 in Essen from 26th to 29th of October 2017. This limited version was signed by Klaus-Jürgen Wrede and the CEO of Leipzig's trade fair center (Messe Leipzig) and contain 13 Followers/Meeples. A more general version is also available which only contains the four tiles.
  2. Interpretation from the Community This suggested setup places the tiles according to the geographical location of Leipzig in relation to the other cities mentioned. The tiles can be placed in any order, since the position of the quarters does not imply any restrictions for the game. The only difference will be the location of the farmhouses in two of the four fields these tiles define as the initial setup.
  3. Official clarification from the publisher The English rules state "a village" but it should be "villages". The German rules are more precise (6/2021).
    Example: Red can send this meeple to Leipzig because the road is connected to Leipzig through two villages.
  4. Interpretation from the Community This means this expansion only considers villages, which serve as a crossroads where 2, 3, or 4 roads end. The same features are also used in The Tollkeepers for the placement of tollhouses.
    As a result, this would rule out junctions with trees and small cottages, such as the ones present on some tiles in Exp. 9 - Hills & Sheep.
    Note that Markets of Leipzig is designed to be used with the Carcassonne II base game alone, where all roads end at cities, monasteries or at villages. No trees are present in any junctions in the Carcassonne II base game, although they may appear in some expansions later. On the other hand, the Carcassonne I base game presents crossroads with villages and trees. There is not a consistent one-to-one correspondence regarding the use of villages or trees in crossroads between both editions.
  5. Interpretation from the Community The majority in a road connected to Leipzig is initially calculated before deciding whether to send a meeple to Leipzig. After sending any meeples to Leipzig, the majority in the feature will have to be re-evaluated before scoring. This is why a player needs at least two meeples on a road to be able to score for it after sending one of the meeples to Leipzig. This, however, does not ensure the player will be able to score, since the player may have lost the majority in the feature with one less meeple.
  6. Interpretation from the Community Note that meeples are sent to Leipzig right before the scoring round takes place (in Step 3A), so they may grant their bonuses on the same turn during scoring (in Step 3B). The rules explicitly mention the case involving meeples sent to the Wainwrights quarter, but this may also happen with meeples sent to the Coiners quarter or the Bookbinders quarter.
  7. Interpretation from the Community This means that other bonuses associated to meeples sent to Leipzig will not be granted: However, other bonuses associated to the scoring of the road would be applicable even if the player does not points for the feature. This would be the case for:
  8. Interpretation from the Community In general terms, the rules indicate that Markets of Leipzig provides bonus points for all the features affected, so they are not part of the core feature scoring in any case.
  9. Interpretation from the Community The additional point per tile would be applied as a bonus after all other modifiers to the core feature scoring. That is, it is applied after Inns (see Exp. 1 - Inns and Cathedrals), German Cathedrals (see Cathedrals in Germany) and Mage and Witch scoring modifiers (see Mini #5 - Mage and Witch.)
    So it will be applied along with other bonus points affecting the road such as Little Buildings (see Little Buildings.)
  10. Interpretation from the Community By extension, this bonus would affect not only monasteries but all other monastic buildings scored during the game. Monastic buildings are: monasteries, abbeys, shrines, German monasteries, Dutch & Belgian monasteries, Japanese buildings, Darmstadt churches. German Cathedrals and gardens are not considered.
  11. Interpretation from the Community Players do not get the bonus points when an abbot is removed/scored before the monastery is completed. These bonus points can only be received when an occupied monastic building is scored by a player after completion. A castle scoring points for an unoccupied monastic building will not trigger this bonus either.
  12. Question without official clarification The rules are clear about the Tanners quarter when playing with the basic game, where fields are only evaluated at the end of the game. However, as there are expansions that may score fields during the game, it is an open question if the Tanners quarter should be applied in such cases. If applied, this bonus would affect the early evaluation of fields in expansions such as Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor and Mini #2 - The Messages (Dispatches). No clarification is currently available.
  13. Common house rule or variant The Tanners quarter bonus also affects the early evaluation of fields in expansions such as Exp. 5 - Abbey and the Mayor and Mini #2 - The Messages (Dispatches).
  14. Question without official clarification This scoring bonus for fields is especially designed for Carcassonne II. There is no official clarification about how fields are scored for tiles with Carcassonne I artwork.
  15. Common house rule or variant Carcassonne I fields may be scored taking into consideration the little farmhouses present on them.
    Example: Little farmhouses in Carcassonne I fields.
  16. Interpretation from the Community The wording indicates that this bonus only applies to field scoring. Therefore barns do not get this bonus when scored, no matter their owners have a meeple in the Tanners quarter.
  17. Interpretation from the Community These clarifications can be found on Carcassonne Central here: